We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Times Square, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off Rooms!
Ranked #117 of 452 hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Doubletree Times Square, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

I've stayed here twicw with my wife. The location is perfect for shows, walking distance to attractions, etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rates
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,379
    1,484
    370
    118
    64
See reviews for
2092
783
122
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed at the Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square November 21st - 25th and loved it. The room accomodated the 5 of us perfectly, and we loved the location. Our kids were visiting New York for the first time and the Times Square location really wowed them. We liked the central location and walked most everywhere. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were suprisingly quiet. Would highly recommend staying here, we felt like it was a good value for the money.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no pull-in area for taxi pick-up or drop-off -- felt like we were blocking traffic trying to exit a taxi
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Just returned from a one night stay at the Doubletree to see a show and NYC at Christmas. We were able to check in early and given a room that overlooked the M&Ms store, my son's favorite place. We were a 15 minute walk to everything we wanted to do. Yes, the crowds are hard to navigate when you exit the hotel, especially when the theaters are starting and letting out, but that's the fun of Times Square, you just go with the flow! The lobby construction looks almost to be done, but it wasn't an inconvenience at all. The rooms are huge compared to NYC standards, separate bedroom, living room, big bathroom and wet bar in the living room. We will be staying at this hotel whenever we return, it's great for families. Also, if you are traveling with children, Mars 2112 is a really fun place to go to dinner. The food is so, so but the whole experience is "out of this world."

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

I booked this through "cheaptickets.com". What a perfect location! I was in NYC to celebrate my birthday with friends (nov 14). I booked it the day before my birthday for less than $200 including tax!
It faced the lights of Times Square which made me so happy I booked there. I really felt like I was in the middle of it all when I looked out the window. The room was HUGE for NY. Two rooms, one queen bed, one pullout couch and a bathroom which was bigger than the one I have at home!
2 TV s and a mini-bar.
Wow, what a good deal for the money.
Granted it is not a 5-star hotel, but I really considered this a "score" for the money - and it was just a couple blocks from Winter Garden theater where I saw Mama Mia! Caroline's comedy club was next to the theater so I had a really nice birthday.
Having the weather be 60 degrees was a bonus, but I can't guarantee that for you.
I can say the hotel was great - also allowed late check-out.

  • Liked — took dogs for no fee - also right in the middle of everything.
  • Disliked — had to go up 2 flights to get to lobby
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

I booked a Hilton Honors stay at the Doubletree Times Square for Dec 13-17 and was pleasantly surprised! After reading some reviews on check in and potential rude employees I was a little concerned.
No need to worry and this place is in the middle of everything you need to get to. Having never been to New York we found it very easy to navigate to our broadway shows and pick up the tour bus across the street.

Also if you are an Hilton Honors member you receive 2 breakfast copupons for each night of your stay. At $25 per breakfast that definitely helps out. If we visit New York again I wouldn't hesitate to book at this Doubletree again.

  • Liked — Location right in Times Square!!!
  • Disliked — Lobby under construction-but we knew before booking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed at the hotel from Dec 12-14 using Hilton Honors points. We arrived from Los Angeles at 7 AM and were very pleasantly surprised when they allowed us to check in early. We were given room 1202 which faced Times Square. We were very happy to get a room facing all the lights and sights of Broadway right beneath us.

There were 3 of us staying so it really came in handy to have the suite with the family room and the pull out sofa. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and I was told that the sofabed was also comfortable. We also liked having a microwave and a fridge in the room for drinks and leftovers.

We were somewhat low in the hotel on the 12th floor since I believe the hotel has 40+ floors but the noise below was manageable. We didn't have any problems sleeping. The heater in the room wasn't the type to set by degree and was tricky to find a medium between warm enough and too hot but once we did it was fine.

The location of the hotel is the main reason why we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. It is right across from the TKTS center and we used it one afternoon to get tickets. We saw a couple Brodway shows and it only took 5 minutes to walk to either of them because of the centralized location. We spent the remainder of our trip at a hotel a few blocks east and missed the location at Times Square. There is a subway entrance right beneath the hotel that we took downtown and the location is great because there is so much within walking distance including Rockefeller Center, Central Park, 5th Ave, and more.

I was worried about the hotel lobby being renovated before the trip but it was no problem at all. You need to take an elevator from the ground floor to the lobby on the 3rd floor but it was no problem at all and added an extra sense of security.

Overall we really enjoyed this hotel and location and when we come back to NYC we will stay here again. It's a great place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We are just finishing a one night stay at this hotel, which is the ultimate central location if you are visiting Times Square and the theatre distric. Hotels are booked and rates are up in this week before Christmas, but we scored a suite with two queen beds and a big pullout sofa in the living room for $332 including all taxes etc. The accomodations are much bigger, better and more comfortable than anything we have experienced in NYC in that price range. We would return here in a minute!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.