We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Times Square Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ball Drop VIP Package!
Ranked #108 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Shorewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Times Square Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is a quiet refuge from the hubbub of a Times Square. Perfect location for theatre goers. Our family of five had a two bedroom suite overlooking Times Square - spectacular views and plenty of space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Susan H,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so thrilled that you and your family had a Fab experience! Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,647
    1,620
    410
    126
    70
See reviews for
2,295
858
127
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I enjoy this place due to it location, but I found the staff a little less friendly than usual,maybe due to turnover this happens. We stayed there for a week ,it was nice to see the scaffold removed from the front of the building and the renovations to the check in area and new bar excellently done. Time for the rooms to be upgraded and mattress to be replaced .The restaurant staff very friendly especially Nur and his group. Very little security upon entering the hotel even though it states everyone must show their key but to who, if there is no one around. Jim ,Alex and Jason at the bar very friendly and knowledgeable . After staying here approximately 10 times I expect more for the price. Had to keep requesting water every day to be put in the room .

Room Tip: Get one facing Broadway not the side or back of another building ,mid height 15 or greater
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear eddy452,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your last visit to Manhattan! We are happy that the scaffolding is gone as well! Also, we are happy that you have enjoyed our new lobby and bar. We will be reiterating to our staff about our customer service policy! Also, thank you so much for mentioning Nur and his group in F&B. And the guys at the Bar Jim, Alex, and Justin! We hope to see you again soon! Please reach out to us at response@dtnyc.com for your next stay!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked this hotel due to the location and we were not disappointed, Times Square is mayhem and this hotel is a definite oasis from the madness outside its doors!

Checking In - front desk staff are super efficient and you are given warm chocolate chip cookies, which taste divine especially after a 6 hour flight and a mad taxi ride from JFK.
Rooms / Suites - we were situated on the 22nd floor. The room itself is really spacious and although there were three of us staying we didn't fall over each other. The only issue we had was the sofa bed could do with upgrading you had to sleep in the middle of it or you would roll in anyway! Both rooms had large flat screen TV, bathroom is very large, shower could do with upgrading as you couldn't adjust it at all. Views were good of the massive illuminated billboards on Times Square, no noise from the outside which was great considering the volume of noise coming from the street.
Location - the location is fantastic if you want to be right in the middle of NYC atmosphere, we would perhaps not stay again but only due to the fact that Times Square is exceptionally busy and we would like to pick and choose when we were in the biz! A small tip for travellers would be to plan your route before you actually leave the hotel, also walk a street behind the hotel and you will miss some of the crowds. Subway stations on very accessible from this location. This hotel definitely added to the enjoyment of our 6 night stay in NYC, we cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear anjip_3,

Thank you for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so thrilled about your experience with us! Thank you so much for sharing your tips and details about our hotel and area! Also, thank you so much for mentioning your experience with our super efficient staff! Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked the doubletree because it was downtown New York, and offered suites that could accommodate 5 people - it did the job -The fifth bed was a sofa bed.

The hotel is right on Time Square so be prepared to fight through the crowds every time you go out. The sofa bed wasn't much - only a few sheets thrown on it - no blanket/duvet and no spares in the room. There wasn't much spare room for cases etc. so pack light. Room was fine but I felt it needed a better clean.

Altogether an average hotel with above average city location and above average pricing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear dmjnr,

Thank you so much for staying with us n your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that we were able to accommodate your party of 5. Also, please note that we do have extra linens on request. Also, we have spare pillows and blankets in all of our rooms in the green chest. We are so sorry that this was not brought to our attention as e would have been more than happy to make it right during your stay! Please give us another try! Please email us at response@dtnyc.com for your next trip! Thank you so much for your review and your feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The outstanding customer service started once we walked in the door! While checking in, we were asked if we were Hilton Honors members. I registered a loooooooong time ago and didn't know my number, but said yes. The front desk clerk tried to look me up and couldn't find me, then re-registered me instantly and then upgraded our room to a TS view room.....because I was a Hilton Honors member!!! Fantastic!!!!!!

The room was AWESOME! I was there with a friend and we both had our own private areas of the suite. One of us in the bedroom, and the other in the living room area with the fold out bed, which was crazy comfortable!

Both rooms had TVs, which was perfect. Bathroom was big and VERY clean. Everything about the room was just way beyond great!

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! What more can you say when your hotel has a Broadway address and overlooks Times Square!!! Enough said!

Outstanding hotel! Outstanding customer service! Outstanding location!

Room Tip: When you check in, just ask for an upgrade or a Times Square view room. They will be more than accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear yeahitsmeagain,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are thrilled about the success of your experience! Thank you so much for sharing your 5 star review! And thank you for mentioning our outstanding customer service. Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I've stayed here a few times and the location is GREAT if you want to stay in Times Square and see a broadway show. Everything is in walking distance. The views are unbelievable! The cookies are nice, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are HUGE by NYC standards. The ONLY PROBLEM - the rooms are just a bit worn. The bathrooms are OK, but the wallpaper was peeling and the mattress was lumpy (they sent an extra pad that didn't help). I hope they renovate it soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear ugetit,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so thrilled that the view were great from your room. Also, thank you so much for mentioning our friendly staff! So sorry about your room. We have informed housekeeping to double check our rooms. Also, we are planing a rooms upgrade soon. Currently we are looking at 5 model rooms! Please join us again soon. You can email us at response@dtnyc.com to let us know when you will be back. Thank you for your review and your feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for five nights. When we arrived and and until we left everyone we dealt with were great. When we checked in on Friday night the person who checked us in was very friendly. sorry I forgot his his name but he was helpful and made us feel important. Eddy took our bags up and he was great. The hotel was in a perfect location. Very easy access to the subways. I will stay there again when we go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Epestka,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so thrilled that you and your party had a great experience with us! Our stars at the front desk shines at all times! Thank you so much for pointing out our Eddy, isn't he amazing! Thank you so much for review and we hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.