We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, two room suites, refrigerator” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Lutherville, MD
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Location, two room suites, refrigerator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have traveled to NYC for recreation several times a year for many years. We have stayed here a couple of times. Great views from the rooms to watch Times Sq below. Convenient to any thing visitor might want to see or taxis and, particularly, subways to get you to what you want. Rooms are large by New York standards and the two room suites are great. Refrigerator in the room to store that desert you couldn't finish and drinks. The hotel has a little age on it but it is well maintained and hardly threadbear. The lobby is undergoing renovations now, the common areas could use some sprucing up. I think our room had been renovated within the last year.

We don't stay here all of the time because of price. We can almost always find a newly renovated hotel that has deals. This time we used points and thought the amount of points used was well worth it.

Room Tip: Early check in apparently doesn't exist at this hotel so don't plan on it. They will store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Annapolis2000,

We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities on your last visit! Thank you for coming back! Our new lobby should be ready very soon! Please come back again! Thank you for your 5 star rating! Happy new Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,639
    1,616
    408
    126
    70
See reviews for
2,290
853
127
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you want anything to drink or eat you cannot get it there unless you are willing to pay 6.00 for a soda or water. There are no vending machines or drink machines on site, so you must order from room service. Four deserts and four sodas was $100.00! The room service food was horrible. My husband and I wanted to have an adult drink after coming in one evening and the bar was closed by 10:00. Again, if you wanted something you had to order it from room service and pay three prices for it, so we had to go back to our room, put on coats, scarves, hats, and gloves to go out. The front desk staff was not very friendly. We stayed on the 15th. floor and the whole floor smelled as if we were staying in the back of a restaurant kitchen. It smelled the whole time we were there. The furniture was broken and unstable. There was only one remote in our room. The towels were dingy. We were three for New Years Eve and was given a letter giving us access to the area that was closed off and told to show it to authorities. We missed the ball dropping and were about three blocks away because authorities told us the letter meant nothing we could not have access to the area. I would not recommend this hotel for anything other than location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear evelyn h,

Thank you for your review! We are truly sorry that your experience was not what was expected. Please note that we always have a manager on duty to assist all of our guests with any inquires! We are so sorry about you not having access as our letters were for accessing the Hotel. Our objective was to ensure all of our guests are in and out of the hotel as promptly as possible. Should you feel the need to discuss your experience further, feel free to email me at rshafi@dtnyc.com. Also, our hotel is currently making changes to reflect a much more modern design. We do so hope that you give us another try! Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you a Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is a great location but they were in the midst of renovations so it was very unorganized. Not much help with getting a cab, luggage. Etc. not very friendly. Not a good place for a drink and snacks in the afternoon. We always like a rest before getting dressed for the evening. Very limited!!! Appetizers were not good.

Room Tip: It would be a better value for someone with kids who could sleep on the pullout sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 957pat60,

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry about your experience on your last visit! We are currently making changes that were suggested by our guests. Please note that we always have a manager on duty to assist you at anytime. We hope that you give us another try and experience our hotel differently with our new atmosphere! Should you feel to discuss your experience further please feel free to email me at rshafi@dtnyc.com Thank you for your feedback and have a Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel needs a paint brush and new carpet. The rooms were horrendous. I can not recommend this hotel until they do some serious renovation. From the front entry to the clogged bath tub and malfunctioning heat and A/C unit, nothing seemed to go right. While the door men were very nice, the staff at the front desk seemed to care less about their job and who the customer was. They were impatient to wait on you and seemed bothered to assist. We were not warned that there was no sitting area in the front lobby because of some construction so there was no place to go and people would constantly clog the walk ways trying to get out of the elevators. An overall nightmare weekend. Thank goodness that NYC is such a pretty place to visit around Christmas that it made up for the hotel fail.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Peter A,

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently making changes that were suggested by our guests. Our lobby will be soon completed and our rooms project will begin. Please note that while on property we always have a manager on duty to assist all of our guest for any inquires. Please visit us another time and give us another try! Should your wish to further discuss your experience please e-mail me at rshafi@dtnyc.com. Thank you again for your review and we wish you a Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked the double tree in May 2013 based on positive trip advisor reviews. We stayed on the 41st floor for 14 nights with our four children.

The room was well equipped and the cleaning service was spot on; clean tools, clean bed linen, clean everything which is hard to keep on top of with young children.

The staff from the doormen to reception and maintenance were extremely helpful. There were issues with the internet over our holiday and each time it was resolved within 30-45mins.

Location is prime and I'm certain this is the biggest selling point of the hotel, though be careful at New Years as you are not guaranteed a view of the ball drop from expensive room rates. We were extremely lucky and the NYPD let us slip into the pen at 10.45pm.

The only negative I could highlight is from my two experiences the food was not up to much (average).

Overall a very good hotel designed for the hustle and bustle of Times Square and Broadway with very helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear TimHorsfall,

Thank you for your detailed review on your 14 nights stay! Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of your stay. We are so sorry about food was just average. Thank you for pointing out our helpful and friendly staff! What a great picture you've posted, nice view! Thank you for your 4 star rating! Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location, great service, great food. The best dining I’ve ever experienced - from check-in to seating to service. Fresh breakfast buffet. Clean, spacious rooms and professional, courteous staff. Despite undergoing lobby renovations, it was still a smooth and excellent experience.

Room Tip: There are 43 floors. Spectacular views of Times Square from our floor (24th). I would definitely rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Nina S,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for understanding our lobby project! It just gets better! Thank you for pointing out our courteous staff! Thank you for your 5 star rating! Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have stayed at the Double Tree Times Square in NYC five times - and always feel 'at home' when I am there! Best location & accommodations to be found in NYC at a reasonable price. Great service, friendly staff and wonderful views of Times Square. I can't say enough about this fabulous hotel -- AND CAN'T WAIT TO GO AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Times Square view when you book your reservation -- worth the little extra cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Dona1952,

Thank your for your awesome review! We can not wait for your next trip!. Do let us know when you are coming back! Thank you for your 5 star rating! Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.