We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is marvellous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off Rooms!
Ranked #113 of 451 hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location is marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This Hotel by far has one of the best locations for visiting NYC. Right on Times Square, one can walk to most venues or catch the subway at very little cost.
The hotel room was very spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable.
By booking well in advance we obtained a great deal for our 4 night stay.
Our room was on 28th floor and overlooked Times Square which was an additional bonus for us.
As this was our first visit to NYC, it was the perfect place to stay for us especially as it was only one block away for us to walk to "The Lion King" show.
The Doormen on the ground floor level were so nice and welcoming - thank you to all the staff for such an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear DaveandSan,

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We are so happy that you had a fun experience.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,324
    1,447
    355
    112
    60
See reviews for
2026
768
120
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a lovely time in NYC. This hotel is very well located in Times Square.
Great service and very nice and helpful staff. Great rooms and very clean.
Good value for money. Just Perfect for any occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Cats45,

We are so thrilled that you had a great experience on your visit back in NOV-2012. Also, we are so happy that all of our staff were helpful during your stay.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed with my parents for one week and we loved our stay at this hotel. A little box of chocolates and welcome note from Manuel wishing me a happy 30th birthday was a lovely touch. Our room was on the 31st floor facing 47th Street and we could see the Times Square M&Ms store from our window. My parents had the king sized bed and I had the sofa bed. I was slightly concerned that I wasn't going to sleep well but I found the sofa bed very comfortable and slept soundly. There is construction going on in Times Square at the moment but we didn't hear it, in fact we had to open the windows to hear the taxi horns honking etc. Yes the hotel is a bit pricey but the location was perfect for what we wanted to do, with the subway and hop on/off buses just up the street and a short walk to things like the Rockefeller Centre, theatres and Hell's Kitchen restaurants. Lifts were fast and we never had to wait more than a minute. The decor is getting dated and could do with an upgrade soon but it was not certainly not shabby and housekeeping were excellent. Towels were plentiful and the room cleaned thoroughly. There was an in room safe we used to store our passports, currency etc and there was a decent sized fridge which kept our milk, juice, fruit (and leftover Juniors cheesecake!) very cold. The safety latch on our door actually locked us out of our room on the last day just as we were going back to collect our luggage to check out and a member of housekeeping staff called maintenance for us. Within literally five minutes a member of maintenance arrived and sorted the problem. Doormen were helpful and one of them hailed us a taxi to take us back to the airport. I would stay again at this Doubletree.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear angela643,

Thank for a wonderful and detailed review. We are so thrilled that you have a fun trip and to celebrate. Thank you for pointing out Manuel and our other Team Members for being of service to you. Our Hotel will soon have a more modern décor in the future. Thank you for your 5 Star review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Location, cleanliness, amenities are all big pluses for this hotel. But the staff gets a 5 star rating. Friendly smiling faces a big asset to this property. Everyone we came in contact with were helpful and friendly, making our stay very enjoyable!! Spacious, clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Rod P,

We are so delighted and thrilled that you have found us to be friendly!!! We always try to keep smiles on our faces!!! Thank you for your 5 Star Review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was so pleased with our stay here. My teenage son brought his girlfriend, who had never been to NYC. Typically we Priceline a room so it is much less expensive, but we needed a large space to share and wanted her to have a really great experience. So the suite was great because it was pretty large and perfectly located so they could continue to hang out in Times Square when the old folks went to bed. The one issue we had is we did a pre-check-in and were offered a choice of queen or double room. After some discussion we chose queen and said we would need a cot. However, no one told us at the time that it would cost extra. We were only told when we actually came to go to our room later that night. They were nice enough to waive the cost, but it would have been a lot less embarrassing if we had known up front and not had to make an issue of it. It turned out we were upgraded to a Pure King on the 33rd floor, so I can't complain too much. Staff was very kind and helpful. We absolutely loved the room. It was shockingly quiet, and I am very sensitive to noise. We'd stayed in a resort in Westchester the previous night and it was absolutely awful, so, although this room was much more expensive it sure felt worth it comparatively.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear a t,

We are truly sorry for not explaining at first about the cost for the cots. However, we are so thrilled that we were able to waive the fee. Also, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay on the 33rd Floor. What a view!!! Thank you for your 5 Star review!!!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the DoubletreeTimes Square for four nights last week, visiting New York for my 40th birthday.

We found all the staff really helpful and welcoming, from getting checked in by Manny to the guys on the front door who ensure the madness of Times Square stays outside, and Michael who sorted out a late check out for us with no fuss.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on the 41st floor and really enjoyed the views, our two year old thought she was looking at toy cars when she looked out of the window!

We would certainly stay at this hotel again for its great location and staff that genuinely seem to enjoy helping their guests. We would like to thank all the staff we met for going out of their way to making us feel welcome and talking to our young daughter.

Paul Hyatt

Room Tip: Great views from the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Paul H,

We are so thrilled that you had a great experience on your last visit. Thank you for pointing out our Team Members Manny, Michael, and all of our other Team Members who made your stay memorable. Also, we are so happy that your daughter had a great time as well. Thank you for your wonderful 5 Star review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After a horrible Super Shuttle ride from JFK that took nearly four hours in average traffic (partly due to the driver's attempt to deliver us to a different Double Tree) my sister and I were grateful to be welcomed by the Doubletree's very friendly doormen and efficient front desk staff. I had stayed at this Time Square Doubletree with my husband and son a few years ago and thouroughly enjoyed the convenience and excitement of the location.

This being my sister's first visit to New York City, I thought that it would be an ideal hotel for seeing the City highlights, and we paid the extra for a view of Times Square. After checking our bags with the bellman, we headed down the street to find a Wednesday matinee offering rush tickets. Thanks to the Doubletree's excellent location in the Theater District, we secured tickets to "Matilda" within minutes, and had time to scout out additional shows within a few blocks.

Upon return to the Doubletree, we met Daniel who gave us our keys and then took the time to talk about all that New York has to offer. He suggested ways to maximize our enjoyment of the Big City, provided instructions on how to get to the pier for our upcoming cruise, and gave advice about the best shows to see. It was all good information, and talking with Daniel was a treat. Plus, we got warm chocolate chip cookies. How could we not love the Doubletree Times Square?

Room Tip: If the cost is not prohibitive, the higher floor rooms offering a view of Times Square add a lot to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Naomi C,

We are so delighted that you had fun time on your last visit with us. We are so happy that we are conveniently located in the middle of the mix! Thank you for pointing out Daniel and the rest of the Team for their services. We will be honored to inform them. Thank you for your 5 Star review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.