We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off Rooms!
Ranked #112 of 451 hotels in New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked this because it was in the middle of the action in Times Square and considering this the rooms were nice and quiet, however, we looked over the roof of an adjacent building. The room was advertised as having a kitchenette - there was a frig and microwave, a coffee maker and a sink but strangely enough no cutlery and no crockery. The coffee maker had paper cups provided- not pleasant and a little tacky! Wouldn't rush to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear 181263,

We are truly sorry that we did not provide to you a 5 star stay! For any cutleries our Housekeeping Team or F&B Team would be delighted to assist you. Also, our in room coffee cups are designed for "on the go" it has the lids just as from a coffee shop. We always welcome feedback so that we can re-evaluate and make necessary changes. Thank you for your feedback on your last visit.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,415
    1,488
    365
    113
    61
See reviews for
2019
767
119
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Conveniently located, although very dark. However they debited $300 from my cash card, without telling me, as a security, which left me short of some spending money. Surprisingly for NYC, the manager was useless. I'm back home, still waiting for my money!

Room Tip: Sofa in suites was awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear client12345,

We are truly sorry that we did provide to youa 5 star review of service. We thank you for your feedback. Please contact our accounting for further assistance.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located directly across the street from TCKTS, this is an outstanding location for theatre goers. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is a delightful facility. The suite rooms consist of updated living room and bedroom along with a very modern double sinked bathroom. We travel to NYC at least yearly to see as many plays as we can in 3-4 days and usually stay in Hilton properties. This is our first time staying at this particular hotel but it will not be the last.

Room Tip: We liked room 3308 a lot. Two queen beds, microwave, safe, 3 sinks and frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Larry P,

We are so thrilled about your 5 star review! Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Over the summer we enjoyed another great stay in NYC at the Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square (July 8-12) . This place still continues to be a great location -- subway right outside our door -- easy access to Times Square activities, restaurants, theaters. Room located on the top floor provided excellent view of the City. Overall check in/check out excellent -- staff friendly, polite and willing to help out whenever/wherever needed. Room clean, spacious for family of five. We were able to put our room requests in early with the staff and even though we are Hilton Honors Diamond Members, I don't think it made a difference in how we were treated -- everyone we spoke with received the same warm, generous hospitality. The safety of the hotel is amazing -- no one gets in or out without going through security on the ground floor. Even though the City continues to grow and update and there was some construction going on around outside the hotel, we were able to get where we needed to go. Shopping on Fifth Avenue, Yankees game, Grand Central Station, Lower Manhattan, Central Park, Upper West Side, Wicked, and many other things.The Hop On/Hop Off Pass was great and the subway is easy to navigate especially with the App for the Iphone now. At the recommendation of a good friend, enjoyed a great bar in Manhattan called 230 Fifth -- open outdoors all year long -- everyone should have at least one cocktail there.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor if at all possible simply for the great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Up2nogoodCharlotte,

We are so delighted that you came back to stay with us! Your review is very detailed and amazing. Thank you for your 5 star review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My family I stayed at the Double Tree Times Square. The rooms were satisfactory, they were clean, the bathroom was well kept and large and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant, "Ginger's" was adequate. We purchased our Broadway show tickets from Brandon the Concierge, and my family and I were very unhappy. We bought tickets for 3 different shows, seating was not what we were told it would be as well as being overcharged with a brokers fee which was not told to us upon purchase of the tickets. Brandon had promised us that we would all sit together but we didn't and the children were unable to see the shows. We also took his suggestions for restaurants for dinner reservations which were over priced. He was also quite agressive with this which we did not like nor appreciate. New York is a great city and I would reccomend anyone visiting there BUT I would not reccommend working with Brandon the Concierge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Almer P,

We are truly sorry that we were not able to provide to you a 5 Star review on your last visit. We will reiterate our policies and procedures with our concierge staff to make practices better. We thank you for providing your feedback. Thank you for being our guest.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel last week. The location was excellent, close to public transport, bars and restaurants, Broadway, and Central Park was an easy walk. The room was large, with a separate lounge and bedroom. Things I liked: coffee maker in room, café in lobby for quick breakfast stuff, ice machines, excellent bar. Things I didn't like: nothing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear KiwiTraveller43,

We are excited that you found all likes at our hotel on your last visit. Thank you for your wonderful 5 Star review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent location right in time square which allows you to walk to most sites. Nice room with a view of the square. Clean room and hotel public areas. A bit pricey, nice to have security in the lobby. Park across the street in the 24 hour lot and pay at the hotel. Convenient and saves money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear nancydto,

We are so thrilled about your wonderful review. We see that we were able to provide everything that you needed on your last visit. Thank you for your 5 Star review.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.