We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off Rooms!
Ranked #110 of 449 hotels in New York City
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Center of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

You want to be in the heart of New York? Well them stay here. You step out the doors and you are there. Want discount theater tickets? Just step across the street into Time Square and get in line. You have great shopping a block away from your hotel at Forever 21- many floors of shopping space. Juniors Restaurant is a couple of blocks away. M&M World is across the street. Broadway is your thing? Walk a couple of blocks and you are there! Starbucks? Across the street. Great place to stay but it will cost you. We paid over 300 per night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear MasterTravelers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,397
    1,477
    362
    112
    59
See reviews for
1993
765
120
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been here a number of times and have written prior reviews. This hotel is great for first timers to NY City and is very convenient and reasonably priced (for NY) if you are going to a show. The good news and bad news is that it's right in the middle of the busy Times Square area. But a quick turn off 46th or 47th street and you lose the crowds pretty quickly. It's within walking distance to major attractions like Rockefeller Center, Radio Center Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral, and the shops on 5th Ave. Security seems very good, screening at the street level elevators which just take you to the hotel lobby and then a second set of elevators go the the rooms. The lower level floors don't offer views as nice as the higher level floors, and you get more street noise at the lower level floors. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. Consistently very good here.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear MATravelerBOS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to provide a 5 star service to all of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos CA/ Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As in any of our family's trips, I try to get in touch with the hotel manager (or any hotel exec) prior to our trip. It's a way of seeing if the hotel truly cares about the needs of the guests.

I was first impressed by how Brian Choi had continually kept in touch with us prior to the trip.

I had requested for a possible early check-in since our plane arrives at 6AM....I know that this is subject to room availability....We were told that the best way to ensure this would be to book the night prior to the arrival....first time I was asked to do this. Our hotels in Orlando, Las Vegas, San Francisco, Hong Kong, Tokyo, London, Italy and other European, Asian and North American cities have NEVER suggested such a thing...They always happily obliged or if we had to wait had always given complimentary breakfast to tide us over the long wait...

I was aghast to have this suggested to me again when we actually checked-in the morning of our arrival by the 2 front desk officers on duty.

Other hotels would also give us a little something special when I mention that we are celebrating a special occasion (whenever it falls on such a time)...Crowne Plaza in Orlando even upgraded us to a Club Level Room and we received a personal letter from the manager upon our arrival, and Langham Place in Hong Kong upgraded our room to one that is bigger and with a better view. .....we didn't experience such a thing here.

The room that we got was indeed big and nice but we have had similar rooms from other hotels.

The location of the hotel can't be beat...It's right where all the action is...Step out and there you are where people are happy and there is that very happy vibe going on...It's also very near the subway...but you actually can reach everything on foot, provided that you can handle all the walking..

But I did see that apart from Doubletree, there is Crowne Plaza, Marriot, Hilton, and Edison nearby. Aside from Edison, we have tried the other hotels in other cities and all have given us better personal touches...All were more friendly...all celebrated occasions with us...So perhaps on our next NY trip, we shall try the other hotels. Specially Crowne which has always been nice to us wherever we may be.

Hotel is nice, safe, clean, in a good location, with a respectable size of a room...oh, it does have a big bathroom which was great...and is with a microwave and a ref...but we always ate out so these were of no use to us..

Overall, it's nice....but if you want to feel special...you might want to try someplace else..It has been a good stay but one that you can move on from to try something else....not one that you can feel like it's home.

If you want more suggestions, feel free to comment here and I'd be happy to help =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shibuya, Japan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've stayed here at least five times, most recently yesterday. For about the price of a room, you get two, and some of the suites are very large. Once I stayed in the Conference Suite, and I had a sunrise to sunset panoramic view of Manhattan from Times Square. The other reason to stay here is to go to the theater. The TKTS Booth is across the street from the entrance, and most theaters are in 5-10 minute walking distance. The hotel is very family friendly and very Hilton Honors friendly.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Try for a Times Square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear jtdorsey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to provide a 5 star service to all of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

first time in the city and THIS hotel made it more than special! There was not one employee who did not go out of their way to be friendly and helpful! Daniel at the desk was always so friendly and help me so many times with my computer. The concierge planned so many things for us always with a smile! We were so impressed with all the security too. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear lulu250,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

1st time stay at the Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square from April 25-29. Couldn't have been more pleased. Arrived at noon and got my room right away. Erika at the Front Desk (friendly, helpful) let me know my Hilton Honors Gold membership got me an upgraded King suite with a great Times Square view but it would be near the elevators, which is a location I normally avoid. But, it was 2 rooms down from the elevator bank and I never heard them when I was in the room. Perfect. Erika was right - the view was awesome. 23rd floor was high enough that the street noise did not prevent a good night's sleep. If you're a very light sleeper, this might not be the case.

Room was spotless, as was the rest of the property. In-room fridge was handy, bed was extremely confortable. Would have preferred an in-room safe, but wasn't a big deal. Really liked the suite design; plenty of room. Didn't use the sofa as a bed, so can't attest to its comfort. But as a sofa, it was fine.

Housekeeping made sure I returned to an immaculate room at the end of each day. Ground floor doormen did a nice job of making sure everyone had room keys before entering the elevators to the 3rd floor lobby. Subway to the N Line was right next to the hotel entrance. Great breakfast buffet each morning, manned by friendly, attentive staff. Never had to wait more than a minute for an elevator up or down.

Really enjoyed a terrific stay and look forward to my upcoming stay later this year for New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear mtf_ta,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 Nights in a room with ( x 2 ) double beds on the 23rd floor
Location Location Location !!
Subway is located on your doors step and will have you uptown or downtown within minutes.
Highly recommend this hotel with teenagers travelling with you. - Wi-Fi is located on the 3rd floor and works well , staff are very friendly and really go out of their way to make you feel at home
Would definitely use this hotel again. I recommend also the higher floors we did not hear any street or traffic noise and the beds are to die for. Very very comfy.

Room Tip: Higher the better and you get a view.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MadAussie Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to provide a 5 star service to all of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.