We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay-even in a blizzard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Times Square Spring Sale!
Ranked #117 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Candler, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay-even in a blizzard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

To all the variables that would test a hotel staff, add the Blizzard of 2013. The Doubletree staff excelled. We arrived the day before the blizzard and stayed for a week. The Front Desk staff is friendly and efficient; the lobby bartender makes an excellent martini and manhattan.

The property is well-kept and the suites are incredible. I was expecting something larger than a postage stamp and was quite pleased with the accommodations. Housekeeping did their job well, especially keeping the in-room coffee service well-stocked. Normally those little coffee pots don't produce a drinkable brew, but the Wolfgang Puck set up was quite good.

Saving the best for last--the doormen, John and Jimmy were incredible. They were quick with an umbrella for leaving and arriving by taxi and very protective of guests to make sure the taxi drivers rendered the desired service. Even removed us from one taxi to another with a driver who was more knowledgeable about where we were going.

The hotel is across the street from TKTS, a great spot for buying discound theater tickets. I'd heard about this place but didn't really believe. Well, on Thursday afternoon, we got tickets for the front row of Phantom of the Opera at half-price. Unbelievable.

As other reviewers say, the hotel location is ideal. Within walking distance of Broadway, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, the Diamond District, many other places. You won't be disappointed with the staff, the service, the property or the location.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a room on a higher floor and were on 31st floor. No street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,866
    1,749
    447
    136
    79
See reviews for
2,481
931
141
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the DoubleTree Suites in Times Square over Presidents Day Weekend with our two kids 5 and 2. We selected the hotel for price and the suite setup - it was important to us to have a room for the kids to sleep. We paid about $200/night - rate was different each night. The location was great!

We drove into the city - missed the hotel the first time around as there is a scaffold setup in front of the building, limited signage and no clear place to pull the car. However, once we realized where to go the Hotel Doorman was super friendly and let us take our time unloading which was great with the kids. Check-in was easy and not a problem even though we were a bit before the three o'clock check-in time.

We had a king suite overlooking Times Square - it was a bit smaller than I was anticipating (even knowing that we were in NYC). However, the kids loved the lights - especially the M&M store display that was constantly changing. The room was comfortable, clean and had plenty of space. The kids slept on the pull out couch - which worked for them but would be uncomfortable for two average sized adults (its a pull out couch - they are not known for comfort). We asked for extra towels which were quickly delivered. Overlooking Times Square was loud - basically all night - even though we were up high - par for the course - next time I might ask for different location for a little more quiet.

The rooms have refrigerators and microwaves so we picked up a few essentials from a large Walgreens just up the street. We did order room service though for breakfast and like all Hilton properties it was expensive. However, the amount of food that arrived and the quality was amazing. The second day we ordered one meal with coffee and supplemented with some yoghurt from Walgreens - more than enough for the four of us.

All of the hotel staff that we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. Impressive for a property this size in a major city.

The only really negative experience occurred on the second night of our stay. Around midnight the room started to smell like sulfur. I am not sure what the source of the smell was but it was bad enough to disrupt sleep for my wife and I. There was work occurring in Times Square so I chalked the smell up to that.

I saved a couple of bucks on parking by picking the car up myself from the garage (across the street and a few yards up from the hotel) instead of having the valet bring it around ($70 versus $90 for two days). I appreciate that the front desk staff gave us the option. The added benefit was we were able to shoot straight down to 12th Street and on to the Henry Hudson to get out of the city quickly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our destination of choice when we visit NYC for fun. Can't beat the location in the heart of Times Square. The staff, ranging from front desk to bell captain to concierge to Ginger's staff are cutover focused, engaging, and knowledgable. No question is too minor. Rooms are contemporary, clean, and the maid service is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a circular guest room facing Times Square for a real New York memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful, courteous and kind. Every staff member we talked to or asked for help was more than willing to be of service - making our stay not only memorable, but pleasurable and stress free. If you truly want first class service Michael is your man!

Room Tip: The highest floors have the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a large hotel. But unlike others, no waiting for elevators and a helpful staff make a stay here enjoyable. I checked in here after my family joined me after a business trip. We travel to NY often and I'm a former resident so we know the city well. The Times Square location is centrally located but loaded with tourists so prepare for lots of people. That said, you can catch the Subway to any location in the city.
The rooms are all suites and well appointed. It was comfortable for our family of four. The hotel restaurant, Gingers, is a pretty depressing place. From other reviews I see it is expensive too. We were prepared to stay in but braved icy cold weather to find somewhere else to eat. All in all, the hotel delivers and I would stay there again-but fix that restaurant!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator but you could hardly hear it. Not a factor at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Our King suite was excellent and affordable luxury offering the most perfect views of the NYE Ball and all the buzz of the square below.The magnificent light show each evening proved that upgrading was the right decision. It was in walking distance to the subway, shops and a taxi was easy to catch thanks to the efficent doormen.

We were greeting with a can-do attitude from every staff member. The hot cookies on arrival were delicious. The ladies working the conscierge desk offered some of the best service we have experienced. They got us in to any restaurant we asked for and were a wealth of information and knoweldge. Their patience was incedible!

The rooms were elegant, spacious and new. The bathroom was well equipped with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries and housekeeping were very very prompt responding to any requests. Having the lounge area with a well stocked tea and coffee bar was fantastic for beginning and ending each day.(awesome for storing the huge amounts of shopping) An added extra was the fun Easter Egg competition left in each room during our stay. Guests were rewarded with free Hotel gifts such as 24hours free in-room WIFi.

I would recommened this hotel to anyone. I have stayed in their Annaheim hotel and now trust this brand to deliver a wonderful holiday experience. I have no hesitation in booking with Double Tree any where in the world. Shops, theatre, restaurants - just at the door!

Thank you!

Room Tip: Book in advance to try and get a deal. (expedia.com offered 7 nights in a king view suite for around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just checked out of our room at the Doubletree in Times Square. I travelled with my husband, two kids ages 13 & 11. We had such a wonderful time. The staff is pleasant, friendly and warm. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I slept so peacefully during my stay. The suites had 2 televisions so that we each can watch our own shows. The Internet access was also without interruption. The showers were strong. i felt at home. The hotel is walking distance to all major attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.