We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Marathon 2011 - Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Times Square Spring Sale!
Ranked #117 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New York Marathon 2011 - Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I took my family to New York to run the 2011 New York Marathon. We booked two rooms which were adjoining and they were large luxurious and very comfortable. The Hotel was located right in the heart of Times Square which meant we had access to lots of restaurants and shops. I was worried about noise and lights as we would be waking up at 5am to go and meet a bus to take us to the start line. The location was close to the bus pick up points and within walking distance to the finish line and near enough for family and friends to walk to the finish. My children loved being in the heart of Times Square not far from M& M World and the red steps featured on an episode of Glee. We walked to Broadway to see Wicked and walked to 5th Avenue, Tiffany's to buy some gifts and Maceys for wonderful shopping. The hop on hop off bus is right at the door and if you walk a little away from Times Square the prices of the street vendors and the restaurants are a little less than those in Times Square. Wi Fi in the foyer was popular with the 15 year old twins and the the gym was useful for the pre race lead up days for a quick easy jog. Would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,865
    1,748
    443
    136
    79
See reviews for
2,478
931
141
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here in summer of 2006.Great place to stay,staff are very helpful and efficient,security are very strick but this is a good thing you have to show your room key ever time on entering the hotel.Rooms are large,clean,ice cold air conditioning.Location is just perfect in the middle of times square.All in all a great hotel with a perfect location.

Stayed here in june 2006.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just returned from 4 nights at the Doubletree. We arrived at about 1230pm intending to drop off our luggage but were told that our room was ready so we were able to go straight to the room. We were surprised at how large the room was, there was a living room are with a sofabed, tv, desk, wet bar, fridge and microwave and safe plus a bedroom with a king sized bed plus bathroom. We were on the 36th floor and it was not at all noisy. The elevators were very fast and we did not ever have to wait for one. We booked our hop on hop off bus tickets through the concierge desk - they were very helpful during the day - we had inquired the previous night but the lady suggested we return the next day because she didn't know. There was wi-fi in the lobby on the 3rd floor which was sufficient for our needs. The tkts booth for discounted theater tickets is across the street and there is a hop-on-hop-off stop across the street also. We were able to walk to the Empire state building, Central Park, all the shopping on 5th Avenue from here. We were also able to walk to the theater. We found staff helpful, the room very comfortable and had absolutely no complaints. If I were to return to New York, I would definitely stay here again and would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a king suite on the 36th floor which was large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the hotel during a family vacation in NYC.

Hotel: Clean and well-kept with a very cool/chic lobby. It is located on the 3rd floor of the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and checking in and out was a breeze. We checked in early at around 1 p.m., and since the rooms weren't ready, we stored our luggage with the bellhop, Since we couldn't check in immediately, the front desk also arranged for us to have some medications stored at their restaurant's fridge. We were offered cookies as well.

Parking: Parking was at a different location at a garage between 7th and 6th avenues along 47th street. Doubletree has a special arrangement with the garage and there's a self park discounted rate of $35 per day (no in and out privileges). We decided to self park so before we checked in, we called the hotel for directions to the garage (which is a few steps away from the hotel), and took our vehicle to the garage. The garage would give you a stub, which you have to have the hotel validate and present back to the garage when you are ready to claim your vehicle. Parking payment is done at the garage.

Room: The suite we stayed in was huge for New York standards. There were 2 queen beds in a separate room, and a sofa bed in the living area. There were 2 flat screen televisions as well.

There's a mini kitchen with sink, coffee maker (Wolfgang Puck coffee), microwave, and a small fridge. There's a locked safe in the "Kitchen" cupboards

There are three phones, and two flat screen TVs. There is wireless internet connection available however it is for a fee of $12.95 for 24 hours.

The bathroom is huge, with soft towels and Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. A nice touch was when we checked in, there were sewing kit, shavers, shaving cream, toothbrushes, shoe mitt and shower cap placed on the washroom countertop.

The only issue we encountered was that the bathtub wasn't draining properly but when we called the front desk, they sent someone up right away to fix the issue. The repairman was very apologetic about the situation.

Amenities: They offer Starbucks products for breakfast in the lobby, and there is a restaurant, Ginger, on the 5th floor. We did not try the restaurant though.

Location: What can I say? It is in the centre of activity in Times Square which we really liked. It is at the corner of 47th and 7th, with a bank and subway entrance beside the hotel. McDonald's is just a few steps away.

We would definitely return to the hotel and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We took in a reggae show and wanted to spend the night. Great choice we made. Loved the view it was wonderful. Times square is a sight whether it is day or night. Room is very spacious we had a suite. The only thing I didn't care for was the dining area it is a buffet but you have to wait on a long line for an omelet or pancakes and I think 15 minutes is just too long. Other then that it was a nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a window towards the lights! Also higher floor levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The service in this hotel is impeccable. Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from July 3. Everyone i encountered and interacted with in this hotel is genuinely hospitable, accomodating and professional - front desk staff, exec lounge and restaurant staff, housekeeping. In particular, the manager Mr Dario Matic was very accomodating in allowing us to have breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor.

Being a HH Diamond, I was given a very nice upgrade to a 3rd floor corner room that was very roomy, with a separate sitting room and great views of the adriatic, old town and the street below. I will not forgive myself for forgetting the name of the young ( and good looking ) man at the front desk who seemed to work 24 hours. He was there when we checked in around mid afternoon and was still there early morning the following day. He always had a welcoming smile whenever we came back to our room for a quick siesta.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It is the BEST located hotel relative to the Old Town, just outside the Pile Gate of the Old Town. It was easy to take a short siesta or go back to our room to rest in between sight seeing. There is also a Sixt car rental office inside the hotel where we rented a car for 1 day for a day trip to Montenegro. It was convenient because we didnt have to look for parking or pay for parking upon our return to the hotel. We just parked the car in the hotel driveway that was designated for Sixt rental cars.

The hotel had great exec lounge offerings, very good breakfast buffet with omelette station, good wi fi connection and clean rooms and common areas. I couldnt say anything negative about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just came back from NYC with our family where we stayed at the Doubletree Times Square.
Not only is this a great location but a really good, family friendly hotel. The staff were accommodating, the rooms clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat.

My only surprise was the lack of expertise at the concierge desk. Typically a concierge should be able to recommend restaurants and areas to visit. Not these people. So my recommendation would be to come armed with things to do and have your research already done.

Besides that - we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We requested a basic room. Master with King and a living room with pull out couch. Once we got there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#94 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. Located at 1568 Broadway (47th Street & 7th Avenue), the hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.