We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007 (TriBeCa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #258 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Nahant, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Staff....Brian, Josh, Jenny all sooooo helpful friendly nice professional.....The Room....clean, not at all as small as i have read on so many reviews it was a two double bed room as NYC standard rooms go I could not have been happier, most all of the furniture is Ikea like small so as to leave more space in the room for getting around easier, not loud outside at all and it was a Saturday Night stay.... service out front, Subway directly downstairs and the front desk gave us a very easy to read map, Starbucks, Breakfast and cute clothing shops in very very near walking distance on the same (very safe) not run down block and beyond.....other boutique hotels in the area are cute but some are in run down areas making it not so quaint a stay as the Cosmopolitan.....I honestly will stay at this hotel again...for me and my girlfriends its a total hidden gem......went for Pizza at Arturo's walking distance Live Jazz band soooo much fun.....Love everything about this hotel and area. So Nice, Clean, Inexpensive, Friendly, Convenient...etc....etc......etc..... Thank you!!! xoxo

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear 01908,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about Josh, Jenny and Brian. They are valued employees and we are happy to hear that they provided an excellent level of service. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in the Tribeca neighborhood. We look forward to your return, please stay in touch by following us on social media and by subscribing to our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    659
    202
    73
    52
See reviews for
233
412
131
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We were very fortunate to have one particularly wonderful bellman named Kazi. He was very helpful in getting us to our room from our car then met each and every one of our needs and there were five of us in different rooms.
We will be returning here, the hotel is in a perfect area to reach many different places around Manhattan.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear leababy42,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor in regard to your stay with us this month. We appreciate your kind words about our bellman Kazi, and are very happy to hear that he provided an excellent level of service. Please stay in touch with us through our website and social media, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I agree with the reviewers that the location is good and that the rooms are clean. I can't say much more for it though. The building is old and drab and while they have renovated/redecorated it still seems a bit dingy. My very small room looked out onto a shaft of some sort. The room was also really hot and dry, an average of 80 degrees, with no way to regulate the temperature. Further it was super noisy from 3-6pm (when housekeeping were still cleaning rooms!) and from 7-10 am (when guests were opening and closing doors loudly). I'll add that my room wasn't ready until 3:30 on the day that I arrived and I was prematurely locked out of it on the day I left. While I don't regret staying here at a cheap $150/night, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Michael D,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. Our check in time is 3PM, and we sincerely apologize for the delay you experienced. Please note this year we will be upgrading the entire hotel. We are glad to hear that your room was very clean and that location was convenient for you. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is tough to find a good hotel in New York and not have to pay till you cry, but this one is a gem. Cosmopolitan is very nice for it's price, excellent location and tidy rooms. There are lots of cool restaurants and bars around and you can easily walk to Soho.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a street view. Otherwise you might get a brick wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear finnishgal,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that your room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us again, please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Cosmopolitan Hotel in Tribeca is a now frills hotel, which offers you clean and good accommodation. There's no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there are many restaurants in the area and a Starbucks right next to it.
Check in was smooth and the staff very helpful.
The rooms are very small, but I suppose that is mostly the norm for New York. I was alone so, it was OK, but I think if you are 2 people staying there, it will be too small as there's just enough space to put your suitcase.
The bathroom is so small, that the wash basin was next to the bed. Apparently not all of the rooms are like that though.
You are on the move in NY most of the time in any case, so you only sleep there and for that it's enough. The main thing is that it is clean and has comfy beds.

The area is good and there are two Metro stations only a a minute or two away, which will take you where ever you need to go in NY. The 9/11 memorial is only a short walk away as well.

Just a tip, there's an express subway, that doesn't stop at all the stations and is great if you want to go Central Park etc. Just check for the express 2 subway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel as it is much quieter then the front rooms. I colleague o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear NamXpert,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient and that you enjoyed being in Tribeca. Please note that we do have a variety of room types and layouts and we hope you will be back to experience a different one. Please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers and planned upgrades.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend. The hotel is located right next a subway station (Chambers) and in walking distance from the Hudson River and Brooklyn Bridge. Rooms are clean, small and safe.

Definitely, best value for money in this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Dir B,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and found our location to be very convenient. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed about our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here in February as part of a long weekend. Shared a deluxe double (we booked a double with a loft, but were told that we were upgraded"). The room was small, but clean! Perfect for the two of us. It was LOUD our first night. I couldn't figure out what was happening on the street below us, but it was AWFUL. The rest of our stay was pleasant though and we slept well even with a street view room on the third floor.

Loved the convenience of the Starbucks and the subway station just outside the door of the hotel. It took no time at all to get to New York attractions. Within walking distance of several great restaurants and the World Trade Center Memorial.

Would definitely return! Reminded me of several hotels I stayed in abroad…small rooms and tiny, slow elevators…all a part of the charm!

Room Tip: I liked the idea of the "loft" because I knew we could sleep in the loft and have our stuf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear smtsccs,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be very convenient to many of the sights you wanted to see, and that you enjoyed having a Starbucks and great restaurants in such close proximity. We will be upgrading the hotel this year, and hope you will be back soon. Please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can send you our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel -Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street and the Financial District. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow bath products, iPod docks, room service by Kitchenette, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from standard and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.