We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much luxury, but charm and everything else you need!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Save Saved
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #240 of 451 hotels in New York City
Tuebingen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not much luxury, but charm and everything else you need!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While this is not the most trendy or luxurious hotel you will find, it offers very good value for the price.
We really liked the location at the tip of Manhattan in Tribeca. When we woke up the first morning, it took us about 15 minutes to walk to the tip and whish Lady Liberty good morning.
There are lots of shops and resautrants close-by, of course.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed. We have to say, though, that the furniture wasn't very modern or high-quality, but pretty simple (other than it appears on photographs). Still, it was very well kept.
The whole hotel with all the hallways etc. looked very "New York" to us. Everything is relatively narrow, including the lobby. But is has a lot of charm.
The staff in the lobby was brief but friendly. The cleaning personnel also was very friendly and did their job very well!
We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to spend time in New York. Also the price seems to be pretty good for what it offers compared to other hotels in NY.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Tobias F,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and our staff was friendly. We are also glad to hear that you found the location to be convenient to everything that you wanted to do and see. We hope you will return soon, please stay in touch with us through social media and our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    561
    164
    57
    50
See reviews for
179
343
117
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cosmo for 5 nights while visiting NYC. It was perfect for what we needed. The location is great. Right next to the subway which gets you uptown in 10 minutes.
Our room was pretty small but it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable and we didn't go to NYC to spend all our time in the room.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

There are a couple of great places nearby for breakfast and you don't have to walk too far to find bars and restaurants.

I cannot fault this hotel, it was ideal for our 5 nights

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Dterry Horsham,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable, our staff was helpful and friendly, and that our location was convenient to everything you wanted to do and see. Please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can keep you posted of our upcoming promotions. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel, we were met by a smiling staff. We asked for rooms away from the Broadway, which was not a problem. The rooms were nice, clean and inviting. There were plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc. The staff were very nice and accommodating and knowledgeable. The hotel has a great location. It is just zone minute from the underground. It takes only 10 minutes to get to Times Square and it is easy and quick to go to Newark Airport. There is a super quality supermarket in walking distance. There are many great and affordable restaurants, cafes and dinners in the area. Many galleries are just around the corner.

Book a room and you are in for a great holiday.



Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear JohnBTG,
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel and location, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Because of your great experience as well as other reviews from our guests, we received the 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. We appreciate your kind words and we hope you will return soon. Please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel. Let me get the negatives out of the way: street construction and a painfully slow elevator. The former was made bearable with earplugs and we made a point of doing the stairs to the 6th floor every day after breakfast which took care of the latter. Those 2 things aside, this hotel is located right at a subway line, has a Starbucks, and 2 cafes that have the best croissants outside of Paris and fresh, lovingly prepared food. So much to see within easy walking in any direction. The hotel staff are top notch and every staff person we encountered was professional and we got the feeling they all cared about the hotel and the clients. When we asked for an extra reading lamp, one was found and delivered within the hour ; we appreciated the effort very much. Our room was not large, but comfortable and clean. It felt like home and would gladly stay at the Cosmopolitan on our next NYC visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel. Check in was easy and the staff was always very friendly. The location is very convenient. Despite there being only one elevator for the hotel, we never had to wait long. The room and bathroom were NYC small, but comfortable and very clean. Would have liked a coffee maker in the room, but considering the price of the room and the limited space, running out for morning joe wasn't a bad tradeoff.

Our only complaint was the awful noise all night from the construction. When given our room, we were told it was an upgrade....and being somewhat used to the "usual" NYC noise & on the 6th floor we weren't especially concerned with room facing the street. We were wrong. The construction was booming all night and the windows weren't well sealed against the noise. Coming back late at night and having to leave early the next morning made switching rooms impossible for us. My guess is the construction will go on for months so keep this in mind. Otherwise, we found the hotel good value.

Room Tip: Do not stay in one of the exterior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Saya_Senang,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable, our staff helpful, and the location convenient. As we do have courtyard rooms, we hope you will stay in one of our inside rooms on a future visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again sometime soon, please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at Cosmopolitan Hotel for a week with my mother, who is a senior with some mobility restrictions. We both loved it; in fact, I never write reviews, but this hotel was so far beyond expectation that we decided to write. It was impeccably clean; the room was bigger than any room I ever stayed at in Manhattan for comparable prices. The whole hotel was non-smkoing, so the air was fresh. The beds were very comfortable.
The staff were extremely friendly, efficient and accommodating. We got a room facing the street (maybe one tip: when booking, ask for a room facing away from the street; there was a lot of roadwork at odd hours, with substantial noise, and it didn't look like it'd be over any time soon). Amazingly, they were ready to let us move rooms in the middle of our stay to get away from the noise (though in the end we decided not to do it since we loved the room we were in and didn't want the trouble of moving).
Location is great -- and it is right next to one of the subway stations that is wheelchair-accessible, so we were able to use the subway much more than I anticipated.
The hotel has an excellent cafe, with good food and pleasant atmosphere (and reasonable prices).
Free printing in the lobby and free wireless was a very nice bonus. It also seemed easy to book attractions right from the hotel's lobby.
Overall, it felt modern, comfortable, and friendly to visitors of all ages and abilities. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street. Otherwise, seems you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Julia G,
Thank you very much for giving a detailed review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, our staff to be friendly and efficient and the location excellent. We hope to see you again in the near future, please follow us on social media and on our website so we can notify you of upcoming specials and exclusive offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My lady and I took our daughter on a surprise trip to NYC for the weekend - combination birthday and graduation present. After all, good results deserve a reward! Found the Cosmopolitan online and booked through a third party website. Got three nights for under $300/night - even though Cosmopolitan website indicated no rooms available. So, what did we get for the money? A perfectly acceptable, smallish, room with two double beds and a small, clean bathroom. The staff were consistently polite and helpful. Our arrival at almost midnight was not an issue. Good recommendation for somewhere to go for late night drink that would also allow our 18 year old in. Hotel is in a great location in Tribeca - short walk to World Trade Centre Memorial, Staten Island Ferry, Wall Street, SOHO, Meat Packing District etc. Longer to Central Park of course but the number 5 bus goes straight there. All in all, clean, comfortable, friendly and good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room faced the neighbouring building so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Roger61Texas,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you found our staff to be polite and helpful, and our location to be convenient. We hope that you wil stay with us again in the near future, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,

Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel -Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street and the Financial District. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow bath products, iPod docks, room service by Kitchenette, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from standard and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.