We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, safe and good location...you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Save Saved
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #255 of 449 hotels in New York City
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheap, safe and good location...you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed in a small room on one of the higher floors. Was a bit noisy, but it's New York. Front desk was rude at times depending on the shift. Unhelpful all the time. Room smelled like bug spray. Bed was suspicious. Relatively clean, but the minimum a hotel should be is clean whatever the price. If you don't care about the room and you're not spending time there the it's fine. However, don't use this room while on business. Internet was bad and you couldn't feel relaxed there.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear WacoWoody,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. Please note that in the year that has passed since you were here we have upgraded the hotel and have raised our level of service significantly. We are pleased to say that we never had a bed bug issue and we have a thorough maintenance program in place. The rooms are not sprayed for bedbugs. We hope that you will return so that you can experience the improvements and changes, please contact me directly so I can make a reservation for you.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    570
    167
    58
    50
See reviews for
176
337
114
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days, 3 nights at this hotel. The rooms are TINY, but very clean and excellent value. For the price you pay, the Cosmopolitan is very good. Great location, tons of bars and restaurants nearby. The staff were very nice. The downsides have mostly been mentioned - because the rooms are so small, you hear all the noise in the hallways. The street noise didn't bother us too much. The one elevator was not too big of a bother either. A solid, inexpensive choice!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear murphy713,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your found your room to be very clean, our staff to be friendly and the location excellent. Please note that we have a variety of room types and sizes and we hope on your next stay with us you will try another layout. Please feel free to contact me directly to make a future reservation.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and loved it! Excellent location with subway, shops, restaurants and bars just around the corner. Rooms were small but with great beds and nice temperature. Nice and helpful staff. Two sets of stairs but only one elevator so if you already walked too much or get a room in a higher floor- be prepared to wait a while for the elevator. At one time we run out of hot water in the shower but a while later it was working again.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear liima,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Part of our renovation plans include installing a second elevator. We hope you will return soon, please stay in touch with us through our website and social media.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We have only great things to say about this hotel - great location, great bed, great shower; we had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The room was extremely clean. Our only issue was that we were on the second floor and there was construction going on right outside our window; no fault of the hotel, but something to pay attention to if you are sensitive to that kind of thing and looking to sleep in. We were up early both days so it didn't bother us too much. Didn't try the cafe downstairs, but Zuckers bagels is just across W Broadway on Chambers - delicious NY bagel shop! Highly recommend this extraordinarily reasonably priced hotel. Super convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear kitegoddess,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as Zuckers which has excellent food and is right across the street. Please let us know when you will be returning and we will block you a room facing away from the front as those rooms are very quiet.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I made a day of registration at the Cosmopolitan New York. The hotels around this hotel are nowhere near comparable in price. I wasn't expecting very much. What I found was a very clean very small boutique hotel with no frills. I had meetings for work in both Brooklyn and Tribeca. This location couldn't be beat. I was probably the only American staying in the hotel. This made for interesting and polite conversation in the lobbies and on the elevator. Very nice staff very very clean rooms but very very small. I literally stayed in a shoebox with a window facing into a courtyard. But it was cheap, convenient and international. Very New York City.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Gemmommy,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean, our staff friendly, and the location excellent. We hope that you will return, please check on the availability of an upgrade as we have a variety of room layouts.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am from ohio and this was my first visit to New York, I was quite afraid because I traveled alone. I got to the hotel and the staff was very friendly and warm. I loved my room. Even though the rooms are small, that was expected. I was able to walk to ground zero and other sites. I was able to go to the local neighborhood store and grab a juice at 2am. There is a Cafe that has wonderful food in the Hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel. The owner was hands on and very, very friendly. He (Craig), made me feel right at home, In fact I was so happy staying there and eating in the cafe, I really didn't want to leave for the purpose I was there for. The price of the hotel and the cafe was very resonably price. I will certainly stay there again. My only complaint is that I wish they did have better room amenities, coffee maker, etc. but there is room service.

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor and had a great view, rm 616. I don't know what side that was on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Deegee72,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that you found our location to be very convenient for all that you wanted to do and see. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed dining at our Cosmopolitan Cafe. Please follow us through social media and on our website so we can keep you informed of upcoming packages and special offers. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great experience staying here. My family and I all stayed here in 3 seperate suites.The customer service was excellent! They upgraded my room because it was my birthday and personalized it with a birthday card and a bottle of wine. Check in/out was super fast and easy, and the beds were excellent quality. The rooms were a tad warm but overall a great experience. The cafe serves excellent food as well and is very handy for an early morning breakfast.

Thanks Barbara, Jenny, and Josh!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Tania981,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you received excellent service and personalized attention. We hope you will be back in the near future to celebrate with us again. Please follow us in social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel -Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street and the Financial District. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow bath products, iPod docks, room service by Kitchenette, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from standard and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.