We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #267 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was small but that is to be expected. It was very clean and in great condition. The location is convenient to the subway and wonderful restaurants. The street had construction going on which caused some noise but the fan of the air conditioner covered up most of it. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Diana5101,
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and your room to be clean and pleasant. We are continuing to improve and enhance the hotel, and we hope that you will return soon. Please subscribe to our website and follow us through social media so that we can keep you informed.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    616
    183
    72
    52
See reviews for
208
383
119
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The staff at the hotel are fabulous. Rooms are very small, which is okay, yet there was one thing I did not like and had to switch rooms. My first room had the A/C unit level with the bed so the fan would have been blowing directly on me. (Room 503) Room 227 was bigger and had very tall ceilings - the A/C unit was high as in I couldn't reach it but there was a remote. As mentioned, the bathrooms are small. The room was clean. The bed and pillows were okay. As for the location, you are downtown.....walking distance to the 9/11 memorial. There is a very good restaurant across the street called Eccol. Back to the hotel...the elevators were slow. Overall it was a good experience once I changed rooms. I was on a work trip and there were many of us who did change rooms...again, the staff was wonderful in helping us.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room or definitely ask for a room where the A/C doesn't blow on you when in be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear BellaClaire429,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. We are very glad to hear that our staff made every effort to insure that you were pleased with your room. Upgrades for the hotel are planned for the near future, and we hope you will stay with us again soon. Please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can send you our exclusive offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I just stayed for three nights at this hotel in a two-bed room. Very convenient location with the redline metro station just around the corner, Starbucks, cafes and Le Pain Quotidien all nearby. We walked everywhere and only used the metro once. The rooms are quite dated, but clean, although in our first room there was a stain on the box spring, which was not covered. Bathrooms are new. I would actually give the rooms a 3 and the staff a 5. We arrived on a Saturday and we were in a second floor room facing the street - very noisy. But they assured us right away that we could be moved the next day where we were then put in a back room on the 5th floor that was pretty quiet. The aircon is super noisy, so we opted to use the ceiling fan which in September was adequate. This is an old building, so expect a small, slow elevator and some mustiness.
The staff is excellent. They make this hotel great. Super friendly and helpful. Absolutely lovely. I would stay here again because of the staff.
One last thing - there is major construction in the front. I don't think this really matters unless you are in a front facing room, other than it looks unsightly.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Jenjen4001,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that the staff was so helpful, they work very hard to provide a high level of service. We will be upgrading all of the hotel, and hope that you will return to see the improvements and changes. Please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can keep you informed.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I loved the location of this hotel! the subway station was right on the corner and it was very convenient. i really only needed the room for a clean place to sleep & shower. the bathroom was small but clean. I could hear my neighbors come & go, but was very sheltered from outside noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear kdmc0408,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appeciate you letting us know what you enjoyed about the hotel and the location. Please stay in touch with us through our wesite and social media so we can keep you posted of our special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The rooms are clean, the bathroom is small but very well organized. The location is great just behind the WTC site, there's a Starbucks just round the corner, and the area is ok, possible to walk in the night without running risks. Air conditioning and fans are essiantial for NYC hot summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Riccardo D,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that you found our location to be very convenient. Please stay in touch through our website and social media so we can keep you posted of upcoming specials.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here as an end to a long road trip. It was such a nice place to stay. The location is excellent, right across the street from a subway station, walking distance to the World Trade Center area and Wall Street. Cute french coffee/breakfast shop next door. The rooms were unique - we got the loft style. Clean, and good use of space. We had one problem with our air conditioning unit the first night, but I think it was an error on our part. The front desk was helpful and gave us a quiet room. They also held our bags during our last full day in the city before leaving that night. One warning: the walls can pick up pipe noises and loud neighbor noises. We were fortunate to not have that ruin our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. For us it was in the corner of the 2nd floor. Couldn't hear above noise, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Christyannme,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, cafe and the loft room. We hope you will return in the near future, please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can let you know about our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

At check in we were offered a choice of room-- front or a quieter room at the back. A bit of noise doesn't worry us so we took the front so had something to look out at. The room itself looked recently refurbished & the bathroom was well furnished, they were both quite small.The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were all polite & helpful.The 2 computers in the lobby were great. We enjoyed the local Starbucks, the small cafes even the barber! The WTC site was a 5 minute walk & from there you could get the hop on/hop off sightseeing buses. We found the area quite safe but there is a lot of construction work going on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear mjdvy,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, and all the conveniences that it offers. We also appreciate it that you you mentioned how polite and helpful our staff is. Please stay in touch with us through social media and our website, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel -Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street and the Financial District. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow bath products, iPod docks, room service by Kitchenette, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from standard and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.