We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY Winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Salisbury Hotel to your Saves list
Salisbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 464 Hotels in New York City
POA, BRL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“NY Winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Cons: old fashioned, no free wi-fi (anywhere), my one bedroom suite had no diner table (which was inconvenient).
Pros: PERFECTLY LOCATED and clean, basic features for our excellent, 2 weeks, winter stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    1,467
    303
    85
    44
See reviews for
1,068
743
70
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greene, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the space of our hotel room. We (2 adults, 4 children) booked one of the suite rooms with 2 double beds and a separate living room with a pull out couch. The room was on the back side of the hotel and one of the quietest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in which was shocking considering we were in New York city. We had so much space to spread out and the living room could be closed off from the bedroom so that the kids could watch cartoons in the morning while we slept in. The location was fantastic. We saw most things by walking. Very close to Central Park but also an easy stroll right down 5th avenue. We walked to the Empire state building and Times Square from the hotel. Another nice feature of the hotel was that luggage could be stored for free before or after checkout so that you could still enjoy the city for the day and not worry about dragging the luggage around. A taxi from the hotel to Grand central was only 7 bucks which made getting there stress free. Yes, the room was outdated but was very clean, quiet and spacious. Anyway..... who cares about modern furnishings in a hotel room when you are in NYC!!!!! Will definitely stay here again, so glad we found it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing 57th street if you are looking for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location - it's also very clean - if a little tired could do with a makeover - the beds are very comfortable and clean the rooms are large and well equipped with free use of a safe and coffee making facilities - for the money this hotel is a bargain would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor it's a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My parents flew into New York City during the Thanksgiving holiday. We waited a little longer than we should to book a hotel, but thankfully found a room here. We were very pleased with our stay.
All we wanted was a clean place to sleep and some place that was close to where I worked and the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. The price was reasonable, and that was our biggest concern during a time when prices are known to skyrocket. I knew that we would be out of the hotel the majority of time, so this worked out perfectly for us. Great location, good subway access. We were happy. If you're looking for a similar New York experience and would rather put your money towards restaurants, shows, tourism etc, it's not a bad place to be.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A recent trip to NYC with two teenage sons stayed at the Salisbury for 5 nights.The location was excellent 5 minutes central park , 5th avenue and 15 minutes on foot to Times Square. Subway at the corner of 57th and 7th 2 minutes.Hotel spotless room size big we had a double double suite no problems with noise or heat(there during cold snap -10C to -15C).Staff especially Bell Staff very helpful and friendly.I will stay again when in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel ( the first in 2009). We stayed for 8 nights having Christmas Day in New York. Great location to explore NYC- close to subway. Great market place (Morton Williams) across the road for hot dinners that can be eaten upstairs or can be taken back to the room to eat(don't forget the plastic cutlery provided). Room was spacious by NYC standards and was clean, but a little tired.staff were not as friendly this time, barely raised eye-contact. Beds were firm. We went and bought a couple of air mattresses from KMart (a few metro stops away) instead of paying the $30 PER NIGHT fee for a rollaway bed for our kids, which housekeeping actually made up each morning.
We did not frequent breakfast, we bought from across the road.
Ask for a room with bedrooms to the back if you don't want to hear all the New York traffic - some people love it, we don't.
We would stay here again because of the location and the reasonable price we got on Expedia, but would also investigate further for other options

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Spacious rooms with plenty of closet space. The heat was broken and it was nice and toasty for me but too hot for the rest of the family. The radiator wouldn't shut off. The windows were old and did not lock so I was a bit afraid for anyone with children who may be accident prone. Overall the hotel was very nice. Older, but a great value and super for families. We had a suite and we will definitely return.

We have stayed all around Manhattan and really love the location of the Salisbury and its old fashioned charm. It is a convenient walk to the subway and Central Park without the touristy feel of Broadway. With the market across the street you get a real feel of how New Yorkers live.

The staff was friendly enough but we didn't require anything special. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.