We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Salisbury Hotel to your Saves list
Salisbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel in a good position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

They were very friendly and really good sized rooms. The staff couldn't do enough for us. I suppose the only thing that I was disappointed with was that there isn't a bar but that didn't spoil my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    1,381
    285
    82
    39
See reviews for
988
712
67
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I had read great reviews before booking, so was expecting a good hotel and I was not disappointed! I cannot fault the hotel; excellent location; big, clean rooms; brilliant service; clean facilities...

We thoroughly enjoyed our NYC trip, and would definitely book the Salisbury for next time.

Just excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here with the wife and 3 kids. Close to everything . Had a room with kitchen which was great with the kids.large room and plenty of room to move.
I would love to return next week if I could.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, Rockerfella centre, Broadway, 5th Avenue and access to subways.
The staff at the hotel were polite and helpful during our four day stay.
Rooms were clean and very spacious with a fridge and coffee maker. Decor of the hotel is dated although it has lots of character.
There is a deli three doors along from the hotel that sells just about every thing you need and does great sandwiches and panini's to grab and go.

Like many reviewers have suggested to ask for a room at the back of the hotel of 57th street and an upper floor. We were on the 8th floor and weren't bothered by street noise at all

Room Tip: Upper floor at the back of 57th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Salisbury is an older hotel, not recently renovated, but the rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff are unusually friendly and helpful, and good rates can be found for the property. The location is excellent, 1/2 block from Carnegie Hall/subway, 2 blocks from Central Park, walking distance to many sights, but be sure to ask for an off-street, ODD-numbered room when booking and/or signing in. Our family of four also found the large, lighted closets to be an asset; each family member could literally take a closet for luggage and use it as a dressing room to avoid disturbing sleeping roommates. A full breakfast buffet, not included, is available on-site for $9 per person, and the 24-hour deli across the street has excellent, reasonable offerings of everything you could possibly want/need for sustenance. A good value (especially if you are off-street, since 57th is a major crosstown thoroughfare).

Room Tip: ODD-numbered rooms are off-street, where you will sleep well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay to New York, Stayed at the Salisbury hotel, We were made to feel welcome ,right from the time we checked in.Th e hotel is well situated fro all the attractions, central park a five minute walk,5th,6th and 7th avenues right there waiting to be explored! The hotel it self was nice but a little dated, we stayed inroom 1216, which is situated at the back of the hotel,we were told it is quieter,there is constuction work going on next door so found it quiet noisy from about 6.30 in the morning, not much could be done about it. so did not complain, the room was very spacious and like the touch of the kitchenette, only wish there was a kettle to boil some water, there was only a coffee maker, but small moans, but a fantastic place to visit and a great hotel to stay in, would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Salisbury in March 2013 with our 2 teenagers. The one bedroom suite was roomy and comfortable although somewhat dated. The best part of the hotel is it's superb location within walking distance of Times Square , the theaters , Central Park , MOMA , Top of the Rock , and more. The room had a fridge and we took advantage by having breakfast in our room. There is a grocery store right across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.