We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #334 of 458 Hotels in New York City
U.K.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When you are a tourist in New York, you really only need a comfortable room in a good location, this it, just south of Central Park, and plenty going on in easy walking distance........I have to say that I prefer Soho, with a nice village atmosphere, but this is a good hotel, lively bar can't fault it.

Room Tip: They are all comfortable, to the best of my knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    1,171
    732
    247
    154
See reviews for
853
588
155
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I've used this hotel a few times now, as its in an area I really like, not too loud, but in a prime spot not far from everything.

The rooms aren't big, but that's the nature of New York hotels. They are comfy, clean and the staff friendly.

I'd happily stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time! The bedroom was big for NYC and had 2 double beds, the shower was suffice. The reception desk staff were very friendly and offered lot's of advice on getting around the City! The Dining room staff, could not do enough for you, very friendly and courteous! Nice Bar to have a drink in! Lots of floating staff to help you in general. The location is just great! You could pay a lot more money to stay in this location, however this hotel fits the bill for your stay!!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, better views of the City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TyroneBoston,
Thank you for taking your time on posting this review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn-Midtown 57st. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us and received excellent service from all of our staff. We take great pride in giving our guest the best service possible while they stay with us and we hope you can visit us again soon the next time you are in New york City.
Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at Holiday Inn. This hotel is ideal for attending any conferences/expo happening in Javits center as it's just 5 mins by taxi. Hotel is good in terms of room and cleanliness. However, Wi-Fi is horrible here as it doesn't work most of the time. They have two Wi-Fi networks and one with midtown is good but other one is bad. Hotel Restaurant which serves Breakfast is good in food quality but very poor in service. Overall I would rate it as average

Room Tip: Take odd room as Wi-Fi is good in that wing. Insist on Stay with Breakfast as breakfast is generally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Rajivkagrawal,
Thank you for taking the time out to leave us your comments. It's always great to hear that our guest are satisfied with their stay and to know what needs improvement so that we can continue to provide excellent service. I apologize for the problems with the wifi and for the poor service you received at our restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the restaurant manager so that he can take measures in correcting the problem. I am happy to share that we updated our internet server and our wifi is now working excellent. Please visit us again so that we can provide you with a better hotel experience.
King regards,
Vanessa Vigo
Front Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I traveled for 16 hours today in a snowstorm. I get to the Holiday Inn at 57th Street, a hotel that I have stayed at in the past, but apparently in a "different" part of the hotel. It's hot as all get out in here - like 100 degrees hot. I can' find the thermostat....so I call the front desk.....I'm told that the only way to cool down the room is to "open up the window". The suicide windows that open by two inches. AND IT'S A BLIZZARD. OPEN UP THE WINDOW they say. NO A/C, NO FAN, NO THERMOSTAT. OPEN UP THE WINDOW. What, are we in a youth hostel?

NEVER EVER AGAIN. This place is ridiculous. OPEN UP A WINDOW. I'm looking forward to not sleeping tonight because I'm legitimately sweating my skin off. Thanks for nothing crappy Holiday Inn Midtown. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: A tip? Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Holly R,
I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and the experience you had while at our hotel. I am truly sorry that your experience was not satisfactory and the response you received from our staff in regards to your hot room seemed uncaring. Their response should have been to advise you to shut off the heat, not to open the window during a blizzard or to send up our Engineering to correct the problem. I will speak to my staff to ensure that they understand that was an unacceptable response. I hope you can give us another chance to provide you with the excellent customer service we are known for. If there is anyway I can rectify this situation, please email me at vigo@nyc57.com.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Vigo
Front Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location with plenty of food, pharmacies & supermarkets. We only booked the hotel for its location to the university my daughter was enrolled in. The hotel is old and there's not much to expect for a Holiday Inn chain. The room was clean but could do with an in-room safe rather than safe deposit boxes that were stacked on top of another located in a room just off the reception area. Initially I was not even asked to sign for a box eg room no, guest name etc until the next day when I wanted to access the box & the staff realized the mistake made by the previous staff member. The hotel needs to address this, I felt a little safer but not 100% safe leaving my valuables there but I was not going to walk around nyc with it. As for the high speed wifi as stated, it needs to be rephrased as snail paced-with frequent drop out instead, unless you happened to be awake at 3 am.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear mkjs66,
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and they will help us to address what needs improvement. I am pleased to hear that our location was perfect for your needs. I would like to apologize for the issue with the safe box. We are in the process of putting a in room safe box to all 600 rooms. I am happy to say that we recently updated our wifi. I hope that you will visit us again so that we can provide you with a better hotel experience.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Vigo
Front Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a week in January 2015. I in fact mistook this hotel for another during a hurried booking session. Unfortunately this turned out to be a misfortune. Were this not a Holiday Inn I doubt it would attract much custom. The room was, as others have said, in poor decorative state, wifi was intermittent, walls thin, public areas unattractive. There was a cupboard door whic hwas rusty and dangerous and insufficient hot water in the mornings. On the plus side it was not expensive, fairly well situated (especially for Lincoln Center) and the beds were very comfortable. But I would not stay here again. Oh, we found the staff perfectly pleasant if one makes allowance for the usual NY brusqueness.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, they said that Tower B is better. Essential to insist on a refurbished room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear UKandFrance,
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to know that you were satisfied with our rates, the comfort of our beds, our location and our friendly staff. I am so sorry that you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room. Most of our rooms have already been renovated and we are in the process of finishing the remaining rooms. We also updated our wifi. I hope that you would visit us again in the future so that we can provide you with a better hotel experience.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Vigo
Front Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.