We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced hotel with a bonus roof top pool!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #328 of 451 hotels in New York City
mesfilles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well priced hotel with a bonus roof top pool!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I was a little worried because it was priced so much lower than other hotels in Manhattan but my fear was proven unfounded. It is definitely an average large commercial hotel with a lot decent amenities and a great bonus: a roof top swimming pool!

The pool hours are not the best if you will be out sightseeing all day. It closes at 6PM. Too bad as it would have been a wonderful treat to go up there at night to cool down and see the city lights. But we took advantage of the pool all three days of our stay for an afternoon dip. There is a bar for drinks and a tiny grill with very basic food; only good if you are very thirsty or starving. The pool is well maintained, clean, and there are a few potted palm trees around. It is a nice atmosphere up there with great views. There are a lot of chaises and picnic tables under umbrellas. The crowds come and go. Sunday was packed (they sell memberships to locals) but Monday and Tuesday were pretty empty.

The hotel has a large busy lobby with a nice lounge for the evening. We went there each night of our stay for some after drinks before bed. We did not use the restaurant or the fitness center so I can not comment.

Our room, which was a renovated double deluxe room was decent and very spacious, especially by New York standards. There is definitely a need for repairs and upgrades through out the hotel which seem to be in progress at the moment. The morning we checked out every square inch of the huge lobby was over run by boxes of head boards for the room upgrades. They were unloading trucks of these out front. I guess there is no good time to do that but it was a bit uncomfortable. Our toilet in our room had difficulty flushing. The wall paper in the hallways was coming apart at some seams (not dramatic but noticeable). The over all feeling to me of the hotel is a large, clean, commercial tour group hotel with all the amenities you need to be comfortable but not luxurious.

All of the staff were friendly and very helpful.

I would definitely stay here again if the price stays the same. It is a great value for location and amenities.

Room Tip: If there is not a big difference in price opt for a renovated deluxe room. I imagine the non-renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    1,088
    642
    233
    138
See reviews for
737
515
133
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are a family of five, 2 adults & 3 kids, age 13,12 & 10. Stayed here 7th July 2014 for 6 nights. We loved the hotel! Had two rooms with interconnecting door. Great wifi in rooms. Buffet breakfast was great, free for kids under 12. Free safe at reception. Used the swimming pool once, was fab, just wished it didn't close at 6pm. Fantastic location for all the sightseeing.
If we ever come back to New York, would definitely use the same hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in the north block, floor 8, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was there with my husband for 2 nights back in october. Our stay was very pleasant and being welcomed in such an extravagant city like new york by cheerful staff was - like people say - our cherry on the top. They gave nice directions to the city and suggested nice restaurants to dine in.

Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is close to all the restaurants,and its close to Columbus Circle which is close to subway and Time Warner building.I loved this place because you got access to all different restaurants.And If you Pizza yes!! you can get a slice of pizza for 99 cents.

Room Tip: There are no preference all the rooms are good.And oh you need to bring a cooler if you have because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The pool on the roof is great! It was clean, good value for money. People very helpful. Overall great experience. Bathroom a bit cramped and shower is a bit tired, but they are doing renovations soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear KmOto

Thank you for your positive feedback. It's great to know you enjoyed the outdoor pool and your overall stay with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to return visit.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After staying at the Holiday Inn in LA I had high expectations. This hotel was nothing compared to that one. I found the staff quite rude, the lady checking us in was ok but not overly friendly however the woman booking tours was extremely rude and stand offish made to feel like we were stupid even though it was our first time in the city. The room was quite old however it was ok, no fridge which was annoying and the curtains didn't shut (not good when it over looks the lights of NYC). The wifi was excellent and the location was also excellent, I would stay here again as I found it value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Clare P

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize our property and staff did not make a memorable impression. I have shared your comments with the front desk staff and we genuinely apologize that the service provided was not rated more than just ok, we regret the impact it caused and genuinely hope to be given another opportunity in the near future to show you our improvements. Ms. Clare P, in addition, thank you for bringing it to our attention in regards to the tour desk service. I deeply apologize for the lack of service provided by the tour desk and have shared your comments with the management team. We value your feedback and really hope to see you again soon to provide an overall pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely, Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThatdudeinHouston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of the lower priced large chain hotels in Manhattan its priced right for what it is...an older hotel. Decor is dated and bathrooms could be cleaner but it what it is.

We (family - 2 adults 2 kids) stayed there five nights in July 201 and when we had issue the staff took care of it right away including changing the filter on the AC, getting more towels, etc.

The location is a real plus. Only a couple of blocks from Central Park and a major subway station. There is a Wallgreens and CVS just a few blocks away. Walk 4 or 5 blocks South and you're in Hells Kitchen with lots of reasonable places to eat.

Only complaints:

There is no laundry facility on site. There are a couple places about 4 to 6 blocks away but they don't stay open late.

The rooftop pool, which is a real plus for this place (its cool), closes at 6pm. What? Yea, 6pm. By the time you get in from site seeing. Its closed. Such a shame especially in summer when its light till 9. Come on guys keep that pool open!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.