We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #334 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at west 57th st Holiday Inn and found it well located.2 blocks from central park 10min walk to time square.Also close to Gray line buses pick up point for Bus tours.The breakfast/dinner served in the hotel restaurant was just average.Would suggest to eat out.Service staff were very good,concierge was very helpful with show bookings etc.we had a drink at the bar most evenings and felt the bar staff were a bit slow and not so friendly.

Room Tip: If you ask for a good room you will get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Brett62_10,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our close proximity to various locations, as well as our staff and concierge. Your comments will be passed to all personnel! However we're sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience at the bar and restaurant; I will inform the Director of Food and Beverage. We thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    1,139
    708
    243
    152
See reviews for
830
575
148
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times over the years as it is the hotel selected by the opera tour company. The hotel presents itself as an aging lady, needing updating and repair. On this visit the lobby, restaurant and bar upgrades are noticeable and the staff attitudes toward their guests have warmed up, considerably.

The rooms in the North Tower are large by New York standards and have European bedding (duvets and sheets). Our room was clean and had the usual amenities. The free wi-fi was welcome.

The location of the hotel is excellent for those attending events at Lincoln Centre and there are many restaurants in the neighborhood. Close by is the Time-Warner Center with the handy Wholefoods nearby for picnics in the adjacent Central Park..

Room Tip: The inside rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Surrey,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you see our improvements, as we are always looking to improve and be our best. We truly appreciate your feedback, and hope to have you as our guest again soon in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsleynanna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

After reading some reviews on Trip Advisor, like most people, we were a little apprehensive, having read about non-working air con and non-existent wifi........ we were delighted with this hotel ! We were on the 17th floor in a room with a king size bed. Clean, comfortable, with a good comfy bed and large screen tv. Wifi worked fine, lots of hot water ... good shower, loads of complimentary shampoos and conditioners, soaps. Iron and ironing board provided. Decent hairdryer, nice lamps in the room, good blackout curtains and on our floor, the traffic didn't bother us one bit. The drinks in the Skylight lounge were pricey .. we had two bloody mary's and they cost $25 for two, which we felt was a little over the top. Didn't eat in the hotel, so couldn't comment, but prices looked pretty reasonable. Highly recommended to eat ... turn right out of the hotel and cross the road.. on the corner is Morning Star restaurant .. brilliant tasty breakfasts at very good prices. Go before 11 am for free coffee included with your meal. After 8pm mention you're a guest of Holiday Inn and you get 10% discount. For evening meal, Georgio's Country Restaurant is an absolute MUST. Right out of the hotel, top of the street, turn right onto 9th Avenue and walk down two blocks. I reviewed this restaurant and we ate there two nights on the row.. if we'd found it the first night, we would have eaten nowhere else! Brilliant food at very good prices in a very homely atmosphere, with excellent service. Would stay at this hotel again definitely !!!! Brilliant location, excellent amenities, nice friendly staff ! Beware the friendly and helpful bell boys though.. they accost you when you arrive and obviously want tips for taking luggage to your room, but all floors are easily accessible by elevator.....

Room Tip: We stayed 17th floor in the tower and could hardly hear the traffic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear barnsleynanna,

Thank you so much for your positive review on the Holiday Inn Midtown 57th street! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the fabulous places near by. We truly appreciate your feedback, and look forward to having you as our guest again soon in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, NH
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night during a business visit to New York City. The visit was short yet productive. The hotel did well to provide comfortable and accommodating lodging for my stay.

Finding the hotel is fairly easy. If you take the 57th Street exit off the Henry Hudson parkway the hotel is literally a minute from the exit. The ability to have an easy in – easy out travel to the hotel is important for those of us who are non-city dwellers.

There is a parking garage attached to the hotel. Convenient to have your car parked for your stay. The garage has reasonable rates and the service is very good.

First impression of the hotel – it is a busy and active place. There are plenty of people in the Lobby. The furnishings and décor are what you would expect for a city hotel. Clean and fresh look throughout the public spaces of the building add to the ambiance.

The rooms are not huge but quite serviceable. The bathrooms are new and well designed. Overall the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.

I visited the lobby bar for an afternoon drink. It is bright, cherry and unique with a Harley Davidson right in the middle of the bar area for a fun touch to the design. Comfortable chairs, friendly staff and reasonable prices for drinks all add to the value of the lounge.

The hotel stored our luggage the next day while we finished our meetings. Departure was easy and efficient. In seconds we were out the door, into our car and heading home.

This is a great place to stay in New York City. Located near plenty of cultural and tourist action as well as Central Park, with a convenient location, great staff and a nice fresh feel, this would be a great destination for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear vspiotti,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you had a pleasant stay with us, and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here just for the location. I had no expectations of the hotel and guess what...they were met! The rooms are dated, but the beds are comfy, the room smelled kind of funky, like people who have been there...a lot of people. The bathroom was small but functional, and the traffic noise from the street was loud. The elevators are jumpy, and one holiday inn maintenance man road the elevator with his hand on the red emergency button. Not a good sign. They did let us in our room early as I requested, which was a relief after our super early flight. The place is mediocre at best. Not the nicest holiday inn I stayed at and sort of an embarassment for the brand.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Shelley G,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, which will include brand new furnishings, carpeting, wallpaper and more. I will also be passing your comments regarding the elevators to the Chief of Engineering. Thank you for allowing us to learn from your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I use this hotel fairly often purely for its location when I am in New York for business. Hotel is affordable with friendly staff. I know much of the hotel is undergoing a re-vamp so the dated interior is changing and has changed quite a bit in the times I have stayed there. Rooms are large and spacious and always clean. Bathrooms are functional and clean. Wifi access is good but for video calls home not fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the re-decorated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear IBorner101,

Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate your patronage as a returning guest, and are pleased to hear you enjoy your time at the Holiday Inn Midtown. Thank you for sharing your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at the HI Midtown on 57th street for a week. Besides the worlds loudest plumbing and the ice machine outside our room everything was mediocre. The service from most staff was abysmal and it came across that they all hated being there! We hated the experience especially the attitude from concierge and front desk staff especially. 2 weeks later we still haven't received our deposit and after emailing the hotel we received the worlds worst response. Hated our time here. BELOW AVERAGE with awful staff!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Captivemarket,

Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate you allowing us to learn from your feedback, and truly apologize for any inconvenience. Your comments will be passed to upper management.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.