We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC. Perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #335 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NYC. Perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very comfortable and helpful staff. Couldn't do enough for four grannies on our first trip to the big Apple. Travel desk booked our bus hop on/off and theatre tickets etc. Bell hops called taxis. We got lots of advice as to how far we had to go and informed on occasion that we didn't need a taxi and could walk to central park in 20 mins. Times Sq walkable,also theatres. Would certainly recommend and go back.

Room Tip: We were at the front and traffic was noisy SO uneven numbers are probably quieter. It is the city th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear 865Wanderlust1978

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. It makes us really happy to know that your stay was comfortable and thank you for mentioning how helpful our staff is, we are happy your overall stay was pleasant and look forward to your return visit. Thank you for staying and for reccommending us at the Holiday Inn Midtown.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Services Manager Janette Webb-Nixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    1,133
    705
    243
    152
See reviews for
826
574
147
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Our first time staying in the city we came on rainy night didn't start off well. I needed some help called front desk and once she answered my first question she just hung up...I wish I would have got her name cause that was the worst service ever. After that cleaning lady Aida was amazing helping with directions & bell men all were great especially Said ( I think I have spelling wrong) I am sorry but these people need to be recognized. I probably wouldn't come back or give a nice review if it wasn't for them. One thing I really didn't like us that concierge was not there longer it's NYC it's always open you don't have concierge done at 8 pm. No maps at hotel unless the concierge was there...so be prepared otherwise look for these awesome people we met that made our trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Mostic,

Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies you did not have a pleasant stay with us. I will be passing your kind remarks to upper management and the proper personnel, they will be happy to see you mentioned them! Please know as well we will be sure maps are always available at the front desk. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you again for allowing us to learn from your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Having family in NYC, my sister and I try and get here as often as we can. We have stayed at a pricey Times Square hotel which was nice but not over the top, but found the confusion and crowds in Times Square crazy. It's one thing to go there if you haven't been or for theater but to stay, something quieter is nice. We found this gem of a Holiday Inn several years ago and it is our 1st and only choice when we visit NYC. Close to everything in a neighborhood type of area. Great NY deli's for breakfast and great restaurants within a 3 block radius. We have a favorite that we will be visiting again when we return in May. We are once again staying at Mid- town H.I. and couldn't be happier. For the price and location, it's the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Barb V,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy to have you as a returning customer, and truly appreciate your patronage! We look forward to having you as guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The rooms are very large and nicely appointed. Everything was new. The bed and bedding was so comfortable. What a great value for midtown! I usually stay at the Wellington but this was considerably less money. I must say I do like Wellington location better but for the difference in price, it didn't really matter. The $300 difference for 4 nights lodging paid for a lot of taxis.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and had no issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Bnbiloxi,

Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our newly renovated rooms. We hope you will stay with us again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The location couldn't have been better, ideal to walk to Central Park, 5th Avenue & Time square and close to the subway. We had a room on the 17th floor and an amazing view over the skyline at night. Just a couple of quibbles with our visit, it was a challenge to find the blackout curtains but successful on the second night, also don't bother with the hotel breakfast I have never seen such uninterested servers in my life & the buffet was uninspiring. The diners on the corner of the block offered a far better choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Clare B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. However, our sincerest apologies about the experience you had at the restaurant; please know I will be passing your comments to the Director of Food and Beverage.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dersingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Just got home after spending 4 nights, hotel staff were awesome, wanda the concierge is fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, rooms were clean, tidy and big, beds were great. Really can't say anything negative about this place, if I return to New York I would stay here again, Central Park is just a 5 min walk and 10 min to Times Square. Yes it's noisy but it's the city that never sleeps so what do you expect.
Thank you holiday inn

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear MelanieU

Thank you for your very positive review and taking the time to share your overall pleasant experience with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and a pleasant experience with the concierge services. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Midtown.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Services Manager Janette Nixon-Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern , MI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Over all it was functional. Within walking to Central Park,Times Square, and other attractions.
Check in and out smooth. Parking was very handy. Under the bed was dusty and there was a couple pills someone dropped. No air conditioning the room was so hot we had the windows open all 5 days and nights. No ice machine on 8th floor used the one on 5th and found a big black bug in a cube. I took it to the front desk and informed the manager, that ended any cold drinks in our room. Bellmen were nice as were the parking people. Coffee maker in room, nice tv. Paid more for a deluxe room thought it would be cleaner. Clean linens a plus.

Room Tip: 8th floor deluxe room no air conditioning had windows open it was tooooooo hot. also no ice machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Rosie049,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our sincerest apologies about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please know your feedback is appreciated, and will be sent to upper management and proper department heads. Unforutnately we do not have a dual air system, and therefore have not switched over to air conditioning yet, but we do have fans available upon request if needed.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.