We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #337 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Bethany, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a great hotel, very reasonable price and great location. The room was very large for a new york hotel and clean. WIFI was free and a large pool awesome. The staff was extremely warm and helpful. It was too warm for me but I run hot I kept the window open and it solved the problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    1,243
    759
    256
    155
See reviews for
895
625
160
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schroon Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. the room across from ours had some sort of party going on and all were very loud. screaming and singing in the hall and doors slamming nonstop. called security and they took care of the problem immediately. do not have any complaints with this hotel. very good location. will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs u.k
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

my daughter and i stayed here for 4 nights, i had requested a room with 2 double beds which i got as requested. the room was large and clean with pristine white linen, maid service very good. the room was a bit too hot but the window was slightly open ( we couldnt close it) but we were on the 8th floor so didnt hear road noise. on the last night the heating wasnt working , possibly due to problems as steam was coming out of a vent outside the hotel and the fire brigade were in attendance, this hotel was close to times square and central park. couldnt comment on the food or bar as we ate out, lots of good local eateries close by. would happily stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Second time staying here based on value for money and location. Both times I've stayed in block a. The rooms are cleaned daily and beds are very comfortable. The heating is controlled in the room so warmth was never an issue. The rooms are dated and the patch up work to decor merely highlights the needs to re decorate. For me this is not a problem but could see how it annoys other guests. Lifts are a bit slow during peak times such as early morning. being on the 12th floor we took the stairs down if this was an issue which only took 5 minutes to get down. I would stay here again as is 5minutes walk from Central Park and 15 minutes to Times Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Room easily slept 2 adults 2 child. It was clean & comfortable. The staff were very efficient, helpful & friendly. Generally the building was clean although a little dated. Good value for money, excellent location, so close central park. I would definately bring my children & stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very close to Central Park, walking distance to broadway. We parked on the adjacent parking lot and it was extremely convenient (and good priced too). The rooms were a bit old fashioned and needed some improvements (ours had a dirty q-tip underneath one of the beds). The staff was nice, specially the Director and the PR person.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Researching my trip to NYC it's clear that there is a trade-off between number of stars, location and price. For those of us on a budget, but don't want to share bathrooms and want a clean room, benefits of a hotel with support facilities (concierge, bar, porter assistance etc), then this is a good choice. I spent five nights here with my family, we had two rooms, one with a rollaway bed (extra $25 per night). You could find a much fancier hotel than this (building is quite old) but you would pay a lot more.
We found the rooms more spacious than I was expecting, very clean with attentive room maids. The check in staff were more on the 'efficient', perhaps could have been a bit more friendly but I have no major complaints here.
During our stay We had a couple of problems - we stayed during snow storms and very cold weather and one night we returned to a cool room, the engineer was called and our heater was broken. The hotel offered to move us that night, but would be to a different floor to our kids room, so we agreed to stay put, so they brought us additional blankets and we were quite comfortable. We moved rooms on the same floor the next day. Under the circumstances we were happy with the hotel's response.
The second issue involved the power supply to the card key lock on the door failing so we couldn't get into our room. The hotel staff initially had no idea how to deal with this so we spent time waiting for them to sort it out. Once access to the room was achieved, we realised that the room hadn't been cleaned, so we had to wait for half an hour in the lobby while the room was serviced, this incident was annoying as it was over an hour of messing around. To make amends the hotel gave us some drink vouchers for the bar, which was good, but when we got to the bar the vouchers were not valid for the drinks we wanted to order, so we ended up purchasing the drinks ourselves.
The concierge was great, he organised tickets for us to see Motown on Broadway for the same night and seemed to be able to organise anything you might want to do in the city.
Would I stay here again? Yes, the price was good , the location is really good and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants and cafes nearby, the problems I outlined above did not spoil our stay, more 'annoyances' than show stoppers.
Be sure to ask for a renovated room (we were in the south tower in renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, probably higher the quieter, but the trade-off is a long wait for the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.