We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrespectful, indifferent staff Experience, Shabby atmosphere. Please, book somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Boston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Disrespectful, indifferent staff Experience, Shabby atmosphere. Please, book somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really wished this hotel stay was a continuation of my positive experiences with Holiday Inn in other cities and regions along the East and West Coast.
But, I was majorly let down and often annoyed by the disrespect the staff showed over the phone call and upon entering their premise.

1. Location : mediocre, but definitely close to Central Park Corner. No pleasant amenities around other than Starbucks that are closed after 9pm.
Other than 2 lines of 57th street buses, there is no immediate access to subway stops nearby. This is one or two steps away from the major attractions if you intend to walk to Times Square it will take 20+ minutes. but, at this rate average $220 per night, I expected this inconvenience.

2. Booking agent on the phone, Tracy, was arrogant, and didn't communicate well for my inquiries prior to the reservation.

3. When we arrived in the evening, the reception desk didn't welcome us, simply chatting with the bell boys, who equally did not pay attention to us at that time or throughout the stay. For example, they shove their luggage cart into the elevators before the customers. I guess that shows what they think about the hotel guests.

4. Although the room was held for our late check-in, the mold and bacteria odor and steam strongly built in the air made us getting sick. We had to spend another hour to find another room, that matched their guarantee of the location and the cleanliness by the reservation manager, Wendy. We felt that entire booking calls in the past hours with Wendy, while driving down to NYC appeared to be a total waste of time.

5. The condition of the hotel was shabby, although they applied the new wallpapers and new coat of paints on the doors, in the updated areas, the execution was really poor, and I did not see if this update would stretch for another several years. They look really poorly done. What a waste of money. Unless the hotel staff did it amateurishly.
When I mentioned this poor decor and the worse room-keeping, the receptionist said, "this is not Holiday Inn Express, this is Holiday Inn." So, I assume we should embrace the disappointment. How about my positive experiences with other Holiday Inns before? She surely disrespected other hardworking HI workers, with a sad self-depreciating manner.

6. I have stayed in both Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express. And, still the standard of poor training and low respect of the guests of this location made us feel worse than our disappointment in the below-average decor or shabby conditions throughout the building.

7. I suggested building layouts be posted in their website to make us understand and have a choice, if can, of newer South Wing or Older 57th street, or garage roof-looking courtyard facing rooms or Street facing rooms.
8. Only after I complained all these above, the reception started to pay attention and start to listen and showed respect. The bell boys, not a tiny change in their standoff-ish attitude.

There are only a couple of staff stepping up at this moment, and even offer some free breakfast or something else, during check-out procedure. We took the free parking in their garage as a good gesture from them. But, I wished they didn't have to make up to us, by being nice and attentive from the beginning.

9. I suggest to the duty manager, Janet, the strong management, which will oversee and replace everything and everyone that is underperforming to damage their loyal customers' trust, and turn them around fast, and train staff to have autonomous leadership in their mind, or, to me, this will be a dying dinosaur, in the very competitive NYC.

10. For now, I wonder if I would book another Holiday Inn while in NYC from this experience.
Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Cheap Price, poor choice of eating out nearby. Starbucks closes before 9pm. Close to Central Park co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear asianPrince-S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review. Our sincerest apologies that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. As a hotel, we cannot improve unless we know something has gone wrong, so we truly appreciate your feedback and will be addressing the issues you efficiently listed to all the necessary personnel. We apologize that we did not create an experience for you to love our brand, and apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    1,366
    842
    268
    171
See reviews for
1,005
701
170
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strood UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived at hotel and check-in was quick and efficient. Straight away you noticed that the hotel was dated. Given a room in the north tower, floor 7. This part apparently not been renovated. Room was large with view over adjacent block. Clean, tidy, comfortable, but shabby décor. No safe deposit box in room, so had to use the ones located in reception. This means asking at reception every time you want to take something out or in. They are only very shallow , so passports and documents only. Location is 15 minutes from Times Square and 5 minutes from Central Park.
Had a good stay in New York and tried their buffet breakfast on our last morning. This was reasonable for the money, although there are better places nearby. Concierge was very helpful sorting out our transfers to Newark and gave us maps to help us around on our first day.
The Hotel was not busy, so why don't you get the best rooms available if some have been renovated?

Room Tip: Try for a refurbished one as the others are dated and ours was shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Hayzeebloke,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Please know only a few rooms have been renovated as of now and are priced slightly higher so many people specifically book and reserve them. However if they're available and a guest requests one of these rooms, we are more than happy to accomodate. Our renovations will include the addition of safety deposit boxes in each room as well; we understand this is much more convenient for guests. We apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very good hotel, extremely clean but dated, coffee machine, free wifi & hairdryer in rooms.. Close to NYC centre so a good location. Tip you get kicked out of your room at 11am but if you go to reception there is a IHG form to sign up to the hotels mailing list and if you do so you can stay in your room until 2pm for free. Downside if you need to use the baggage area the hotel charges you $3 per bag

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear kiss-me-goodnight-xx,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our rooms and amenities! Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, including brand new furnishings, wallpaper and carpeting that we believe will bring the decor up-to-date. In regards to storing luggage, it is free of charge unless after 11pm, where it is then $3 per bag. We hope you will stay with us again so you can see all of our improvements!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed here on business in August and it was a great location - walking distance to time square and central park however a bit disappointed in the hotel room. Took a few nights to figure out you could actually close the strange room blinds. the shower was also for disabled access and I had to hold the shower rose bud myself. I didn't bother changing rooms as other people staying there were having worse luck - not all rooms had safes and noise from neighbours.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear onelastfish,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please know we do have Security on site 24/7 that can assist with noisy neighbors. We also are currently in the process of renovating, which will include the addition of safes in every room. In the meantime we do have safety deposit boxes available at the front desk available to guests free of charge with 24 hour access. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just got back from 5 days in New York. stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown. The staff were so friendly and helpful. just round the block from Central Park great location really had a great time would stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: We bought a 3 day pass it was $220 each but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear LiverpoolNorma,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We're so glad you found our staff to be helpful and kind; they will be happy to see you mentioned their customer service. We hope to have you as our guest again soon, and thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was a little concerned after reading all the reviews but I was completely pleased with this hotel. The hotel staff were all very helpful, especially the bell captain. Our room was large by any standards, but especially for NYC. The location is good and our room was quiet even though we were close to the elevator. We enjoyed the lobby bar. The least appealing feature was the restaurant. While the restaurant is not particularly bad, the hotel is surrounded by good food options, so I would go elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear manshacktx,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with our property and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon, and thank you for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel may not be the ritz, but the rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. The subway, Central park and Times square were all within easy walking distance.....as were empire state, rockerfella plaza, Madison square gardens....if your willing to get your walking shoes on and go for it !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear katrinahains,

Thank you very much for your review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are very happy to hear you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and you were able to get to all the desired attractions easily! The entire staff here takes great pride in our hotel and are always thrilled to know when our guests can see that in their actions. Thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#107 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#230 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,690 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#332 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,930 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#176 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Otel, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.