We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #319 of 446 hotels in New York City
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel may not be the ritz, but the rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. The subway, Central park and Times square were all within easy walking distance.....as were empire state, rockerfella plaza, Madison square gardens....if your willing to get your walking shoes on and go for it !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear katrinahains,

Thank you very much for your review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are very happy to hear you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and you were able to get to all the desired attractions easily! The entire staff here takes great pride in our hotel and are always thrilled to know when our guests can see that in their actions. Thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    1,013
    601
    222
    128
See reviews for
684
484
124
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I don't leave many negative on most things but my experience staying at Holidays Inn Midtown was too disappointing to remain quiet.

I made a last minute bookings over the phone for a 3 nights stay and was given rates including breakfast & taxes. These inclusions were confirmed numerous times over the phone bookings so I am 100% sure about this.
However, upon arrival after 1 night stay, I was advised in the following morning as I head for the breakfast that it was not the case and that breakfast are not included in the rates given. The front desk lady called for the manager to chat with me who then confirmed that breakfast was not included. By appearance & communication with them,both the front lady & the manager look unprofessional, unwilling to help & in bottom line basically do not care.

I did not hesitate to check out at that exact moment at 7am in the morning (and I have never gotten so disappointed to ever do this before) and managed to find a much more comfortable place, much better located & service somewhere else at cheaper rate too.

The room itself is very ordinary and the internet connection is very slow. For the price at Holiday Inn, you could go somewhere else better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear janeyjaneyjane,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience you experienced. Please feel free to e-mail us with further details to mail@hi57.com (attention Management).

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwoman11
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location:
This property is located on the south side of 57th between 9th and 10th. It's a bit of a walk from a subway station, but by no means an impossible walk.

We chose this property as they had double queen bed rooms and there were three of us traveling.

IHG Platinum Benefits:
- Recognized at check in.
- Provided several bottles of water.
- Breakfast (coffee, danish/croissant) vouchers
- Upon request, they provided a refrigerator in the room.

Check in:
Painless and pretty quick. They called upstairs to make sure the refrigerator arrived. No problem making sure my family could pick their room keys up later if I was out.

Room:
One of the more spacious rooms on Manhattan!

A/C worked well - great for a hot/humid weekend in the city!

Beds were comfortable.

Bathroom - the tub did not drain well, but was functional otherwise. Bar soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were provided. Ample towels, including wash cloths for three people were provided. The hair dryer did not work....no problem as one of my family members brought one.

Amenities:
Wifi worked pretty well.
Rooftop pool - was open but we did not visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors may have greater road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear rwoman11,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us; we truly value your patronage as an IHG Rewards Member! Please know I will be sending your comments regarding the bathtub and hairdryer to our Chief of Engineering for further investigation. Thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel at the end of September. I have to say reading some of the reviews I was slightly concerned but should not have worried. We had a refurbished room on the 16th floor with a lovely view of the skyline and we could see the Hudson River (we saw a cruise ship docking during the early hours of one morning which was spectacular). The only criticism of the room is the lack of wardrobe space in a room for what would be 4 people (there were 3 of us). Other than that, the room was very good, very clean and spacious and extremely comfy. Above all, the staff were excellent, everyone was friendly and went out of their way to help us, especially the concierge (Dominic you were a star). I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. There were two diners nearby, The Morning Star and The Flame, both very good indeed. Good location for Central Park just 10 minutes' walk away, near Columbus Circle and the Plaza Hotel. The biggest criticism of the hotel would be the very intermittent wi fi which caused one of my friends some problems but generally didn't inconvenience us too much, we are looking forward to coming back to this hotel and to the area generally which had everything we needed and wasn't far from any of the sights and sounds of New York. Nice touch was the fact that the hotel arranged one of thier cars to take us back to JFK as one of my friends has a phobia about taxis - it was only $60 plus gratuity, cheaper than the horrible transfer we booked from the airport to the hotel when we arrived, not recommended at all. Also, the hotel stored our luggage for us as we had to check out at 11am and we were not due to leave until 3pm. A big thank you to everyone who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room - we could see the Hudson River from the 16th floor in the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear AmbushStockport,

Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We truly appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about the inconsistent WiFi; please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms which includes an increase of routers to improve overrall connection strength. We hope you will return the next time your in NY, and thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Brilliant location. Times Square, Central Park and other great attractions are nearby.
Rooms were massive. Bathroom was a bit out-dated but okay.
Wheelchair friendly.
Staff were not good and DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT, unless you want to be charged $40-$45 for deep fried chicken strips & chips, Caesar salad and a bottle of water. Over priced and charged for things and service we didn't get.
We had to ring the reception on two occasions and ask a couple of questions, but they were not helpful at all. Very disappointed. Having never visited New York, and being in a wheelchair, it would of been nice to have a basic question answered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear HeretoHelp Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. We're glad you found our rooms and location to be satisfactory. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive superb customer service, and will be passing your comments regarding your dining experience to the Director of Food and Beverage. We apologize for any inconvenience and again, thank you for allowing us to learn from your feedback. We hope you will return the next time you're in NY so you can see our improvements.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I used this hotel during the last week of September. We were on the 5th floor in a very spacious room with a king size bed. It would've been nice to have a small fridge, but overall the room was fine. One funny thing was that for the 3 days we were there 2 dirty plates and cutlery remained sitting on the floor in the hallway. You'd think the cleaner would pick them up. We used the restaurant for breakfast and meals and found it to be adequate. It's an easy walk to Times Square from this location. We would happily recommend this hotel to the budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jenny P,

Thank you very much for your comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown! I am very glad you were happy with our rooms and found them to be spacious; please know we do have refrigerators available but on request as they are not included in the room price. I sincerely apologize about the plates outside your door; I will be sending your comments to the Food and Beverage manager so the issue is addressed and resolved. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to learn from your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel can do with a refreshment, I got early check in as a Priority Member which was great. The housekeeper found my envelope with money and left it intact on the bed for me, which was really impressive, so honesty runs deep in this establishment. The room size is more than adequate, the TV channels are plenty for the jetlagged so passing time is great. It is very central and really connect you, around the corner you can get great bagels and breakfast at the Morning Star Restaurant and great lunch at the Europa Cafe up the road, and a few walks you are in the Broadway and options options options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear liyabee,

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you had a pleasant stay with us, and truly thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards member! Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms which includes brand new furnishings, wallpaper, carpeting, and overrall decor that we believe will give our rooms a fresher feel. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon, where you can see our improvements.

SIncerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn Midtown
Holiday Inn New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Manhattan
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.