We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - Pool area- price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #326 of 453 Hotels in New York City
stavanger
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location - Pool area- price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Value for money- nice size on rooms - location was great. coffe and tea maker make me always happy .
Could agree on coments about the pool closes an hour or two too early . Close to Centra park and underground - but a nice 10 min walk to Thimes Square and Broadway .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear StavangerHanne

Thank you for your response and feedback. It's great to know you were able to enjoy the pool area and your comments regarding the pool hours will be shared. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    1,071
    652
    232
    139
See reviews for
777
531
137
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location. really friendly and helpful staff. very clean and comfortable. At first I was worried that this hotel wouldnt be in the mix of things, as i always like to be right at the heart of all the action, however I was pleasantly suprised by this hotel. It was in a nice part of the city, and really central for a walk in the park, or a visit tio Times Square. You wont be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Picnic76

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review regarding your recent stay with us. The staff is extremely happy to know you had such a pleasant stay due to the service and hotel location overall. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliua, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

OK- so I read the reviews and thought I was being strategic--I reserved our room ahead of time, asked for a renovated room, was a member of the Holiday Inn travel club, etc. etc. And yet, and yet--
Instead of writing a novel I'll keep this brief--
Driving: this is a very easy hotel to access, just off Henry Hudson. Easy in, easy out. We had a parking package which was very convenient.
The room: when we arrived it was pouring, in the middle of a heat wave...Our first room, in the South tower, did not appear to be renovated-DARK, DAMP but the AC was great. It The room also smelled like mildew and cigarette smoke. Since these are huge triggers to my allergies and asthma-- I needed to ask for a move.
All that was available at this time were rooms under the 8th floor in the North tower. Fine we took a brighter room facing the street. This was about it for amenities.
The AC never, ever got above tolerable-as in, the heat and humidity weren't terrible but we were never comfortable. The carpet near the TV, where we had our duffle parked, smelled like smelly sneakers--so moved it under the desk. The Wi-Fi only worked if we held our phones up and stood near the door. The bathroom was dark and strangely apportioned- you could not close the door unless you moved past the toilet-- but there was a strange amount of wasted space to the left of the toilet. The lighting was like something out of a bad movie-- dim and yellow. Won't even go into the rest of the details- although the toilet will remind you of a public facility.
Pros: The pool was a great highlight for our kids- and since it had been raining earlier- there was no one else there, which for the 4th weekend was pretty unusual. It is an all cash-bar, so be prepared.
All in all, the location was extremely convenient- we could walk to and fro from Lincoln Center. However, I will gladly exchange convenience for comfort and value,so next time around I will opt for the Marriott at Times Square.
I didn't even go into the elevator that we all went into--and got stuck in...and needed another hotel patron to pry open to help us get out...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear momsadreamer

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. All details wiill be shared with all our staff and Executive office to improve all necessary areas, and again I genuinely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and will take the appropriate steps to avoid a similar situation in the near future.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely

Front Services Manager, Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ok rooms small bathrooms. Ac worked well. The pool should have been open longer hours due to when we were out all day and came home at 8pm. Nice staff. We(4) stayed there in the end of july 2013. Lot of nice breakfast places round the corner. We used Morning Star actually on the north corner of 9.th avenue and 57.st

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Trondnornann,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed some of the many restaurants in our area! I apologize that you found our bathrooms to be less than satisfactory, as well as the pool hours. Though our rooftop pool does close a bit early at 6pm, I hope you were still able to enjoy it at some point during your stay. Please know we are currently undergoing renovations in all of our rooms, and hope you will stay with us again in the near future so you can enjoy our fresh and new furnishings.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family stayed here in July 2013, on the hottest week this summer in NYC! I had read reviews before arriving about the AC not working too great, and this was true; but it wasn't hot in the room, it just never got really cold ... we were on the 8th floor in the south tower. Also, while we were there NYC recorded its highest power usage in one day in history, so I wasn't surprised. The girls loved the rooftop pool, although it was VERY hot sitting up there. :)

The room was nice, and the beds comfortable. The biggest downside I would say was the bathroom which was a very strange configuration - you could barely turn around in there, but perhaps we had a room that hasn't been remodeled yet?

Still, a great location for the money - we walked to Central Park, to American Museum of Natural History, to FAO Schwarz, to Times Square, a lot of places. Best value breakfast around is at the Morning Star Diner across the street - try the pizza bagel for $3.95. Its fantastic!

We would definitely stay again if going back to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear avgm1972,
Thank you for your review and giving us the opportunity to learn from your feedback. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with our rooms. In terms of our bathrooms, some rooms do have different configurations than others, and we are always more than happy to take any requests you may have if your travels bring you back to New York City. We hope you will stay with us again, and allow us to make your stay more comfortable. Please know I have passed your comments regarding our AC units to our Engineering Chief so they can look into the situation further. Again, we thank you for your time and chosing the Holiday Inn Midtown.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a nice stay here, the staff is a bit cautious, but once they know you are a guest,
the reception steps up a bit.

Compared to spending 300 more a night, it was good, the small eating places
are everywhere, look on some side streets, and see the neighborhood places,
ask around, new york home style.

Sub way underground opening at corner, across street, you can walk
or sub way, or taxi a bit, its close enough to see the whole city from
here, and a premium spot.

Ritchie H

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Ritchie H,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive superb customer service from our staff. Please feel free to e-mail us with further details at mail@hi57.com (attention Manager). However, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our close proximity to many attractions and restaurants. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future, and take advantage of our Concierge who is on site 7 days a week to assist with any restaurant recommendations, sightseeing tours, broadway show tickets, and more.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed here for 6 nights. I had read lots of reviews and you always hope that the hotel you have finally booked will be ok. Well the hotel was clean and comfortable the staff were helpful, the hotel is in a great location. We had no problems, So I would highly recommend staying here the only thing I would say that could be changed would be the closing time for the pool. The pool closes at 6pm, as a tourist with so much to see and do in New York and the fact in summer it doesn't get dark until 9.30-10.00, this proved to be a challange to get back for a quick dip for the kids!!! As a suggestion perhaps in summer the pool closing time could be 8pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jenny K,

Thank you so much for your positive review! We really appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you received great service from our staff, and found our rooms to be comfortable and clean. Our entire staff takes great pride in our hotel and we are always thrilled when our guests can see that. Please know I will pass your comments along to all personnel, and will certainly direct your suggestion regarding the pool hours to the department head. We apologize you were not able to enjoy our rooftop pool as much as you would have liked. However, we hope you will stay with us again in the near future if your travels bring you back to New York City. Thank you again for taking the time to commend us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.