We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #319 of 446 hotels in New York City
Montoursville, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Value for a weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on March 15 and March 16, 2013. We purchased the room via Priceline and got a very reasonable rate for St. Patrick's day weekend, though our reason for visiting was to see family there on vacation from Germany.

Overall for this hotel:
Clean, spacious (for a NYC hotel room), comfy bed. Can't complain.

Parking:
We used the valet parking for the hotel
. $27 for 24 hours is a steal in NYC. Use it. This is not in and out parking; give them your car, pick it up when you leave and that's it. This hotel is so centrally located, you can walk anywhere you need to go. There are always cabs.

Checkin:
Super quick. We were prepaid due to priceline but regardless we were less than 5 min and on our way to our room.

Room:
Room 1828. Top floor facing 57th street. We had a queen sized bed (no kings available...sold out). Bed was comfortable, pillows not so much. They have firm and soft. Unfortunately, I got the firm, hubby got the soft (we switched the next night). I had a hard time sleeping but I lived. It's not the hotel's fault; I could have asked for more.

The ceiling was a little bit of a mess but it's an older hotel. Walls were ok, carpet ok. Nothing in there was enough to complain about. I've definitely seen worse. No one ever said this was a 5 star hotel. Don't expect that.

Bathroom was small, but it served it's purpose. Good water pressure, nice hot water. Shampoo etc was Bath and Body Works. Good stuff.

Room was a little warm when we got in there so we opened both windows and went to dinner. Was fine when we got back.

Elevators:
Super small. I did not like that, but no reason to give it reduced marks for that. It is what it is.

Location:
Location, Location, Location. 15 min walk to Times Square, another 15 to Empire State Building, 5 to Central Park, 10 to Carnegie Deli. How could you complain?

All in all, a great weekend, nice hotel for the price. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor was nice, room 1828. Was right off the elevator, we worried it would be loud but it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear pamzanski

Thank you for your positive review and we are happy to know that your stay at the Holiday Inn Midtown was such a great value for the weekend. We are happy to hear that your check-in was efficient and your stay was comfortable. If ever in need of more soft pillows in the room please never hesitate to call houskeeping or front desk, we will be more than glad to assist.

We are happy to know that you will stay again and look forward to seeing you again when staying in NYC.

Sincerely, Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    1,010
    599
    222
    128
See reviews for
683
482
124
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed here on a trip with family for a few nights.

Front Desk / Check-in staff are rude and ill-attentive. I'm a IHG Priority club member and at every other IHG hotel (staybridge, holiday inn, intercontinental etc), they give you a welcome pack, wether it just be a bottle of water, or some fruit or snacks, here, they didn't acknowledge it at all.

Anyway, thats just a small part of the problems.

The rooms are old. Heating was horrible. Even with the heater off, the room got too hot at nights (while its snowing out side!). The rooms are dirty and warn. The hotel desperately needs a refit.

The hotel is close walking distance to the subway station (2 blocks) and easily accessible to the park and all of midtown. Lots of good choices for restaurants nearby.

My parents made an international call on the in-room phone. I didn't know in advance, as I usually know its very expensive, but the bill came out to $112 for a 30 minute call. The price seems overly excessive, given the company that the hotel uses charges it at $0.06/minute.

Unlikely to stay again, without the hotel having a major refit and change in staff / management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tom P

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Midtown. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to service and accommodation provided. The front desk will be addressed and Mr. Tom P, thank you for being a priority club member, I sincerely apologize you were not given a drink/or continental breakfast coupon along with a bottle of water for local extra and most importantly the acknowledgement , again I genuinely apologize on behalf of the staff. In regards to the room condition I am happy to share that renovation started this week which includes room furniture, wall paper and fixtures in progress. I apologize for the unpleasant experience with the heating and it will be addressed with the Director of Engineering. Please also contact us at mail@hi57.com Subject: Manager, so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely, Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel was in a good location. Staff very helpful. The room was basic but clean and had everything that was needed. They are in the process of updating the rooms. I would recommend it as as very good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Beth52

Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear recognition of the staff being helpful and I have shared your comments with the front desk staff including housekeeping. Thank you for recommending Holiday Inn Midtown. We are in the process of renovation and look forward to your next visit when in NYC.

Sincerely, Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel location is good as it is walking distance from Times Square and Broadway. There are several places to eat around and lots of stores. The hotel is old except for the LCD screen in the rooms. Elevators are really old and a bit slow. The hotel has 2 towers, the south tower and the north tower. I prefer the rooms in the south tower as the bathroom is better. The heating in my room was not so good so am not sure if this is in all the hotel. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The front desk staff are average (some of them are not so friendly) but I couldn't care less for that. The hotel is getting revamped starting October 2013

Room Tip: Try the south tower, better bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Telerian

Thank you for your review and in mentioning how the hotel is in such a good location and the great fact that it is walking distance to Time Square and Broadway. The hotel started the renovation which will include room furniture, wallpaper, fixtures. I appreciate you sharing your comments and will address Engineering Director regarding the heat so that we can ensure comfort level. I will share your comments with the front desk so that the level of service is exceptional, I genuinely apologize for any incovenience. We look forward to your next visit and in making sure its a pleasant stay.

Sincerely, Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz, Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's a deal for the location and comfort . the room is big , wi fi free but a bit slow and the restaurant is no more then a regular diner anywhere nothing too good to say about it.
Altogether good place for the price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You for taking your time to write a comment about our property. We are pleased to hear that our location was great and our rooms are large and comfortable. We sorry to hear that the Wi-Fi was slow during your stay and we are currently scheduled for renovation in all room which includes our Wi-Fi connections. We genuinely, apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay. We hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerley,

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were looking for a clean, central, but most of all, comfortable hotel where we could relax at night after sightseeing during the day, that would not break the bank. Boy did we score with this one! Not inly was our room larger than most standard rooms in NYC, but the bedding was something you'd find in a 4 or 5 star suite. Our son did not want to get up the next morning, and told us he felt like he slept on a cloud! The bathroom was small, but updated, and clean. Everyone from the hotel's store, restaurant, concierge, and front desk were super friendly, especially to our 5 yr old, which was a great welcoming point.  Most of all, the atmosphere in the lobby was fantastic. The bartender even gave us free shots!! All this, snuggled in a 3 star hotel, with a 3 star price? Who knew?!?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or on a high floor. It will have great views, with tons of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our property. We are glad to hear that our hotel was to your standards. Our key goal at the Holiday Inn 57st is to leave our guest with a first class experience and a lasting memory. I express my gratitude again for your comments and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price the hotel is a fair value. I was in the North Tower and the room was definitely dated. They just recently started renovations on the South Tower and the North is due to start January, 2014. I stayed 2 nights at an ARR of $175 so cannot complain about the price!
Service at the restaurant was spotty at best.
Service checking in was pleasant and efficient.
Convenient location in midtown Manhattan.
Agree about the tiny elevators but at least they had three available so never had much of a wait.
I would stay again at the same rate but if it pops over $200 would likely look elsewhere for a nicer place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at our property. You are correct in stating that we are in the process of renovations. I am happy to inform you that our renovation started this week which includes furniture, wallpaper and fixtures. We hope to offer a better product in the near future after our full renovations are completed.

Sincerely,

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn Midtown
Holiday Inn New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Manhattan
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.