We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit old, good loocation. You choose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #334 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit old, good loocation. You choose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel location is good as it is walking distance from Times Square and Broadway. There are several places to eat around and lots of stores. The hotel is old except for the LCD screen in the rooms. Elevators are really old and a bit slow. The hotel has 2 towers, the south tower and the north tower. I prefer the rooms in the south tower as the bathroom is better. The heating in my room was not so good so am not sure if this is in all the hotel. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The front desk staff are average (some of them are not so friendly) but I couldn't care less for that. The hotel is getting revamped starting October 2013

Room Tip: Try the south tower, better bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Telerian

Thank you for your review and in mentioning how the hotel is in such a good location and the great fact that it is walking distance to Time Square and Broadway. The hotel started the renovation which will include room furniture, wallpaper, fixtures. I appreciate you sharing your comments and will address Engineering Director regarding the heat so that we can ensure comfort level. I will share your comments with the front desk so that the level of service is exceptional, I genuinely apologize for any incovenience. We look forward to your next visit and in making sure its a pleasant stay.

Sincerely, Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz, Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    1,142
    711
    244
    152
See reviews for
834
577
149
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's a deal for the location and comfort . the room is big , wi fi free but a bit slow and the restaurant is no more then a regular diner anywhere nothing too good to say about it.
Altogether good place for the price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You for taking your time to write a comment about our property. We are pleased to hear that our location was great and our rooms are large and comfortable. We sorry to hear that the Wi-Fi was slow during your stay and we are currently scheduled for renovation in all room which includes our Wi-Fi connections. We genuinely, apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay. We hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerley,

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were looking for a clean, central, but most of all, comfortable hotel where we could relax at night after sightseeing during the day, that would not break the bank. Boy did we score with this one! Not inly was our room larger than most standard rooms in NYC, but the bedding was something you'd find in a 4 or 5 star suite. Our son did not want to get up the next morning, and told us he felt like he slept on a cloud! The bathroom was small, but updated, and clean. Everyone from the hotel's store, restaurant, concierge, and front desk were super friendly, especially to our 5 yr old, which was a great welcoming point.  Most of all, the atmosphere in the lobby was fantastic. The bartender even gave us free shots!! All this, snuggled in a 3 star hotel, with a 3 star price? Who knew?!?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or on a high floor. It will have great views, with tons of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our property. We are glad to hear that our hotel was to your standards. Our key goal at the Holiday Inn 57st is to leave our guest with a first class experience and a lasting memory. I express my gratitude again for your comments and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price the hotel is a fair value. I was in the North Tower and the room was definitely dated. They just recently started renovations on the South Tower and the North is due to start January, 2014. I stayed 2 nights at an ARR of $175 so cannot complain about the price!
Service at the restaurant was spotty at best.
Service checking in was pleasant and efficient.
Convenient location in midtown Manhattan.
Agree about the tiny elevators but at least they had three available so never had much of a wait.
I would stay again at the same rate but if it pops over $200 would likely look elsewhere for a nicer place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at our property. You are correct in stating that we are in the process of renovations. I am happy to inform you that our renovation started this week which includes furniture, wallpaper and fixtures. We hope to offer a better product in the near future after our full renovations are completed.

Sincerely,

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is great place to stay if you want to save a "little" more money as opposed to staying in Time Square. The hotel could use a little updating and remodeling to rooms. Elevators were VERY small for such a big hotel.Val-lay parking can be a little expensive But really that is being nit picky on my part. Good stay and location is the best thing about this place. Nice view also. I would really give it a 3 1/2 out of 5, but gave the 4 just because..LOL.. This is good and average stay for New York City. Best thing is location, location, location..:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
The Holiday Inn 57st wants to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at our property. We are glad that you found our location and your stay up to your standards. I am pleased to inform you that our renovation started this week which includes furniture, wallpaper and fixtures. We hope to offer a better product in the near future after our full renovations are completed. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This Hotel was nothing special, it was clean and warm and the only thing that really stands out to me was the little tags on the pillows advising which one was soft and which was firm!

The bathroom was really tiny, with a separate sink area.

Oh and the other thing was the service at the restaurant was pretty bad, we didn't end up eating there because we were ignored for about 15 mins, whilst waiting to be seated, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Kezzwezz,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad to read you like the tags on our pillows. However, we are truly sorry for letting you down on some aspects of your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As many others have written, this is a fairly well located hotel a few blocks from shops, restaurants, the subway and highlights such as MOMA, Time Warner Building & Central Park. The rooms are relatively large for NYC and have free wifi. I liked that you can still open windows (if only a little), they don't gouge you for meals like some hotels, and there is an ATM in the lobby. On the negative side, rooms do not have a fridge, the building & elevators are showing their age, one or two staff let down the otherwise very good standard of service, and there is not much to see or do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. If other guests would learn not to slam their doors shut all night & day, it would be nice, but that is not the hotel's fault. A decent stay at, for NYC, a decent price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear nagoyafrog,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are glad to read you liked your room and the free internet service. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.