We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs the revamping it is getting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #319 of 446 hotels in New York City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs the revamping it is getting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price the hotel is a fair value. I was in the North Tower and the room was definitely dated. They just recently started renovations on the South Tower and the North is due to start January, 2014. I stayed 2 nights at an ARR of $175 so cannot complain about the price!
Service at the restaurant was spotty at best.
Service checking in was pleasant and efficient.
Convenient location in midtown Manhattan.
Agree about the tiny elevators but at least they had three available so never had much of a wait.
I would stay again at the same rate but if it pops over $200 would likely look elsewhere for a nicer place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at our property. You are correct in stating that we are in the process of renovations. I am happy to inform you that our renovation started this week which includes furniture, wallpaper and fixtures. We hope to offer a better product in the near future after our full renovations are completed.

Sincerely,

Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    1,010
    598
    221
    128
See reviews for
681
482
124
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is great place to stay if you want to save a "little" more money as opposed to staying in Time Square. The hotel could use a little updating and remodeling to rooms. Elevators were VERY small for such a big hotel.Val-lay parking can be a little expensive But really that is being nit picky on my part. Good stay and location is the best thing about this place. Nice view also. I would really give it a 3 1/2 out of 5, but gave the 4 just because..LOL.. This is good and average stay for New York City. Best thing is location, location, location..:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
The Holiday Inn 57st wants to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at our property. We are glad that you found our location and your stay up to your standards. I am pleased to inform you that our renovation started this week which includes furniture, wallpaper and fixtures. We hope to offer a better product in the near future after our full renovations are completed. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez, Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This Hotel was nothing special, it was clean and warm and the only thing that really stands out to me was the little tags on the pillows advising which one was soft and which was firm!

The bathroom was really tiny, with a separate sink area.

Oh and the other thing was the service at the restaurant was pretty bad, we didn't end up eating there because we were ignored for about 15 mins, whilst waiting to be seated, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Kezzwezz,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad to read you like the tags on our pillows. However, we are truly sorry for letting you down on some aspects of your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As many others have written, this is a fairly well located hotel a few blocks from shops, restaurants, the subway and highlights such as MOMA, Time Warner Building & Central Park. The rooms are relatively large for NYC and have free wifi. I liked that you can still open windows (if only a little), they don't gouge you for meals like some hotels, and there is an ATM in the lobby. On the negative side, rooms do not have a fridge, the building & elevators are showing their age, one or two staff let down the otherwise very good standard of service, and there is not much to see or do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. If other guests would learn not to slam their doors shut all night & day, it would be nice, but that is not the hotel's fault. A decent stay at, for NYC, a decent price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear nagoyafrog,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are glad to read you liked your room and the free internet service. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

At about $225 this hotel is a reasonable value considering it's location. The lobby is nice enough & reasonably upscale. The rooms are a nice size for NYC, but on the smaller size of 'standard'. This is an old hotel & it shows in the nooks & crannies. Bath on the tight side & hot water can take a LONG time to draw. Beds OK. Clean enough. (Not so) easy chairs ripped to shreads on arms. All employees I met were foreign, but understood us well enough. Elevators marginally adequate. You're not likely to be disappointed for the price. On occasion you can get the nearby Hilton for around $50 more, which would be well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear cruisedoc1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am sorry that you encountered some issues with the condition of the property. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and was very happy with the hotel. It was ideally located for the Metropolitan Opera House (the reason for my visit) and I was pleasantly surprised by the relative lack of noise in the room. Maybe I was fortunate to have a room at the rear of the hotel, so an a fairly minor street. On previous stays in Ney York City, I've been quite unable to sleep because of all-night police and ambulance sirens and other noise, so this stay was relatibe bliss. The Gotham cafe was fine for a reasonably-priced breakfast and the hotel provided all I needed for a comfortable stay. I was particurly pleased about this as some of the reviews, perhaps dating from a perid when the hotel was undergoing major renovation, talked of long waits for elevators, bedbugs, and unpleasant staff but I encountered none of these problems ands was entirely happy with my stay. Obviously this is not a luxury hotel and doesn't pretend to be so, but was perfectly adequate for my needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Suffolktraveller33,

I want to thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such important information about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and and found our location convenient. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location and is within walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and the theatre district.
The rooms are well appointed, spacious, comfortable and definitely value for money. The room numbering system, however, is bizarre - the North tower contains the evenly numbered rooms and the South tower the odd numbered ones, which doesn't make a lot of sense and is frustrating when you can't find your room after a long flight!
Overall, the location on 57th Street is the main reason to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn Midtown
Holiday Inn New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Manhattan
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.