We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    1,368
    844
    269
    171
See reviews for
1,005
704
170
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the holiday times with family.
Great location and the price was nothing compared to other hotels in the area.
Service was great.
Room was clean and beds comfortable.
Walking distance to everything.
Did not try the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have to say that I have no negatives to say about this hotel, staff were really helpful and friendly. Rooms were good size and spotless. Location was great,plenty of restaurants roundabout. One of my party left her mobile in a taxi, the taxi driver returned it! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on this, our first visit to NYC. We found the hotel to be in a good position for access to all the city had to offer. The check in was swift and staff seemed nice. Our room was very big and although on the street side, road noise was minimal. Yes ok, rooms and areas could do with updating but on the whole very good. Bar staff especially Ben were good. Lovely night porter called Jimmy very helpful too. Only downside was quality of breakfast. Felt pushed into the buffet which was more than disappointing. We would stay there again though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is a very good value for the location. If you want to be close to things, and be safe at night without spending your entire life savings this is a good choice. This place is walking distance to Times Square, Columbus Circle/Time Warner Center, 5th Avenue Shopping, and The Downtown Boathouse on the Hudson where they have free kayaking. The rooms are enormous for the city, but at little run down. However, they are currently renovating. Everyone there was really friendly, and I left my wallet in the room when we checked out, and I called, and the maid had found it and turned it in. I got it back with everything in it, including the cash. Overall I'd say I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Midtown, got a great price via Priceline NYOP. Room was a bit dated, but large by NY standards, and facing the inner courtyard was very quiet at night. I had minimal interaction with staff but everyone I spoke with was courteous and helpful. I ate breakfast one morning at the Gotham Cafe in the lobby, food, service, and price were acceptable but I really hate the practice of including gratuity on the check. I can see it for a large group, but for a solo check, I would have left more than their figure if I'd done it myself.
I have only two complaints, one minor, would a bit more major. The minor one was having to walk through a cloud of smoke almost everytime I left or entered the hotel. The hotel needs to offer a patio or something for smokers, having them all hanging around the front door was disgusting.
The one thing that would probably keep me from staying there again was proximity to the subway. The nearest entrance was at the SW corner of 7th Avenue and 57th Street, two very long blocks away, and once you went underground, you still had to walk a city block to the turnstiles. Perhaps it was because it was very cold during my stay that it annoyed me, but every other place I've stayed in the city was closer than this. I'm very used to and okay with lots of walking while in NY, I just like my hotel being closer to a station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#110 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#223 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#206 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,697 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,936 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#179 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.