We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #333 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    1,108
    689
    237
    149
See reviews for
808
561
143
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have to say that I have no negatives to say about this hotel, staff were really helpful and friendly. Rooms were good size and spotless. Location was great,plenty of restaurants roundabout. One of my party left her mobile in a taxi, the taxi driver returned it! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on this, our first visit to NYC. We found the hotel to be in a good position for access to all the city had to offer. The check in was swift and staff seemed nice. Our room was very big and although on the street side, road noise was minimal. Yes ok, rooms and areas could do with updating but on the whole very good. Bar staff especially Ben were good. Lovely night porter called Jimmy very helpful too. Only downside was quality of breakfast. Felt pushed into the buffet which was more than disappointing. We would stay there again though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is a very good value for the location. If you want to be close to things, and be safe at night without spending your entire life savings this is a good choice. This place is walking distance to Times Square, Columbus Circle/Time Warner Center, 5th Avenue Shopping, and The Downtown Boathouse on the Hudson where they have free kayaking. The rooms are enormous for the city, but at little run down. However, they are currently renovating. Everyone there was really friendly, and I left my wallet in the room when we checked out, and I called, and the maid had found it and turned it in. I got it back with everything in it, including the cash. Overall I'd say I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Midtown, got a great price via Priceline NYOP. Room was a bit dated, but large by NY standards, and facing the inner courtyard was very quiet at night. I had minimal interaction with staff but everyone I spoke with was courteous and helpful. I ate breakfast one morning at the Gotham Cafe in the lobby, food, service, and price were acceptable but I really hate the practice of including gratuity on the check. I can see it for a large group, but for a solo check, I would have left more than their figure if I'd done it myself.
I have only two complaints, one minor, would a bit more major. The minor one was having to walk through a cloud of smoke almost everytime I left or entered the hotel. The hotel needs to offer a patio or something for smokers, having them all hanging around the front door was disgusting.
The one thing that would probably keep me from staying there again was proximity to the subway. The nearest entrance was at the SW corner of 7th Avenue and 57th Street, two very long blocks away, and once you went underground, you still had to walk a city block to the turnstiles. Perhaps it was because it was very cold during my stay that it annoyed me, but every other place I've stayed in the city was closer than this. I'm very used to and okay with lots of walking while in NY, I just like my hotel being closer to a station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburn va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has its act together. The staff at the desk, the bellmen, concierge were welcoming and eager to please. The rooms were large by any standard but much, much larger than I have experienced at my previous 3 hotels in New York. They kept our luggage for free so we could enjoy the day before our bus left. Stay here if you can.

Room Tip: avoid ajoining rooms and go for a corner room on the upper floor to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I wish there was a setting between 2 and 3 stars.
The good part of my stay was the hotel location and my room. The room was clean and updated.
But that is about all that the hotel had going for it. The room was pretty loud, not from outside city noise, but from the rooms around me. My business collegaue was not so lucky, all they had left were smoking rooms. His entire wardrobe stunk of smoke for the entire length of the trip. There were many people at the front desk complaining about the smoking rooms.

The worst part of the stay was the really pushy staff. They were incredably rude and demanding. they would grab your hand to help you take a step up and want money. It was very uncomfortable. not only were they pushy and very rude, they were always trying to make deals. For one example; I wanted to take a cab and they said they had a car and for cash they would take me where i wanted, i said I only had credit card and then they started to negociate with me. It was awkard and un professional. And on multiple times you would enter the lobby to find 5 or 6 bellhops standing around like used car sales men, ready to pounce on you for something.

Over all I do not think i would stay here again. The price was expensive (it is NYC after all), but fair for the location. Don't even think of driving or parking as the cost was be so great.

i understand that this is a big city hotel and that some of the expectations are different, but I have stayed in better places that were far more professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear BaronMIke,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.