We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Size Rooms and Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #328 of 451 hotels in New York City
Middletown, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Size Rooms and Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family went to NYC on December 23rd overnight and stayed at the Holiday Inn! The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was little small but it was worth it to have the extra space in the room. We drove in from CT and used the parking at the hotel. It was $27.00 for 24 hours. That is very reasonable in NYC. The hotel is very close to Central Park West. We walked to 5th Avenue and Times Square. We didn't pay much for the hotel so it was a great value for what we got. However if I had to pay $300.00 or more I would probably stay closer to Time Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    1,088
    642
    233
    138
See reviews for
737
515
133
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Once you got past reception the hotel was tired and the room very substandard. The double room was dark, The heating didn't work, the air con didn't work - there wasn't even a dial on the temperature setting - it had obviously gone missing ages before. The double bed had one bedside table and one bedside light - useless if two of you want to read in bed. The wardrobe had just 5 coathangers in total for two people. As there were two of us with 3 cases of clothes we had to live out of the suitcases.

The bathroom fan ran continuosly 24 hrs per day and as it was next to the bed the noise kept us awake.

On checking out we wanted to leave our cases at the hotel for 2 hours before our airport taxi arrived. A member of staff attempted to charge us $5 per case for the priviledge. Instead we just sat in reception with the cases rather than submit to a member of staff trying to operate his own profit making scam ( the charge was not Company policy), although a senior member of staff knew of the practice as we saw him tell the employee to return the cash when another guest complained.

From experience I expected far more from a Holiday Inn - this was the worst by far.

I wrote an e-mail of complaint on returning home but to no great surprise I received no reply.

AVOID

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear barrie o,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret you received service which was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Only 2 blocks from central park, as well as the natural history museam and the pick up point for the open top tour bus, get the red bus not the yellow one, as the red one runs longer. It takes you to all the central stops for the statue of liberty, ellis island etc, wasnt impressed with the empire state building, a long wait just to look over the city. Clean hotel easy to find, restaurant on site and near by. Staff freindly, room service good to. Buy the city pass to see all the sites, you save a lot of money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just read a review by "ruiNruiN" stating there is not subway service nearby to Times Square or Hell's Kitchen. However, there is a subway entrance less than a 2 minute walk up 57th St, for the Columbus Circle/59th Street Station. The entrance is right next to Sur La Table. This station is served by the 1,2,A,B,C and D trains. You can get anywhere in the city from here via subway. IMO, if you are looking for a reasonable hotel and plan on using the subway - this is the place for you. And, if you'd like to walk and explore Central Park, Times Square, Hell's Kitchen, Theater District, Lincoln Center are all within walking distance (depending of course on what you consider to be a 'reasonable' walk). Cold weather, rain, etc, can certainly make walking not much fun.
Our room was on the 8th floor (North Tower A) and I read signs the rooms were going to be renovated, ours appeared to have new carpet, bedding, furnishings and TV. The beds were very comfortable, the room was very large (especially for NYC). We never used the heat or AC so I can't comment on other's complaints about that. The bathroom was clean, fixtures worked well and plenty of water pressure and hot water. Our room was ready early and the front desk was pleasant and quick. Being on the 8th floor, were is some 'city noise' but it was not bothersome. There are so many great places to eat around the hotel, we did not dine there. We would usually get breakfast at Morning Star, Route 66 Cafe or Europan Bakery. For dinner we had excellent meals at Whym, Puttanesca and Kennedy's. All of the food offerings around here are very reasonably priced.
The only reason I didn't rate it 'excellent' is..well, it's still a Holiday Inn - I would say it's an 'excellent' Holiday Inn and a very good++ hotel in general.
We stayed here from 12/22-12/26/12 and had great time in NYC. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our North Tower 8th floor room appeared to have new carpet, furnishings, bedding and TV. A little st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

big room for manhattan at very good price, lobby was nice and clean, good big bar area, rooms were older for sure, bathrooms very bad but oh well it was cheap, could not get the air/heat working only stayed one night but fine if your not planning on being in your room for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent a night here after three excruciating nights in a hostel. Felt like a huge breath of fresh air! The check-in process was quick and efficient. I got there early but they were ready to give me a room right away. The room was clean, spacious and well-maintained. Concierge was helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast in the restaurant was ok. The location, though, is not that great. There's absolutely no subway station nearby with lines that would take you to Times Sq. If you want to go to places in Times Sq or Hell's Kitchen the easiest way to do it is to walk 10 blocks. I'm from Texas so too much walking is incompatible with with life in my book, especially when it's freezing out. Otherwise, this place was great and I would consider staying here again if there's a good deal coming along.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and i have stayed in this hotel for the last couple of years for the weekend. Close to time square and lots of a attractions for fraction of te price. Parking is reasonable for NY. $44 but if you stay in the hotel it's only $27. Highly reccommend for a short stay great for budget. Elevelors are slow that's the only down fall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.