We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed and needs an update” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #343 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Poorly managed and needs an update”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I needed a quick, affordable place to stay in the city for a night and this place did fine in that respect. However, more generally I noticed a number of deficiencies that worried me had I been staying more than 6 hours. First, like other reviews the entire hotel had a 1990s Holiday Inn feel. The rooms were surprisingly decent given the tired, grim decor of the hallways and shabby, scuffed woodwork in the lobby. Second, there were a number of poor judgments made by management regarding signage. Not only were there excessive color flyers in public spaces that described credit versus debit authorizations and lose storage charges, but some were downright frightening with a note underneath each plastic flyer frame that reminded guests that such frames were not to be removed from the walls. At the very least, these managerial additions to public spaces were tacky, and at worst belied a certain level of cheapness or insecurity that made a guest like me a bit on edge to be staing there.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear L-ATL,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in many aspects. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    1,329
    815
    266
    168
See reviews for
963
681
167
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is apparently due to be refurbished in the next two year, and really needs it. Rooms are really grim, carpets are old, decor and bathrooms are tired, rooms smell of smoke masked by horrible air freshener.

Wi-fi is slow and intermittent. It's free, but I'd rather pay for something that actually works.

Lobby bar has no atmosphere whatsoever.

Location is OK, but the hotel has little else to recommend it unfortunately.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Gobbledyspook,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. The feedback we receive is crucial to improve the products and services we offer.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A perfect base to explore New York. Ideal location just slightly off the main drag. Lovely comfy beds in a good size room. The rooms could do with a lick of paint, but this didn't detract from the amazing time we had

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A quick cab ride to the Javits makes it very convienent. Rooms nee a little TLC. Lots of great food on the block. Gym is available to hotel guests. Breakfast voucher for continental only was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be a little quieter. 2nd floor was very street noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

nothing special here, but purchased well in advance, the price was right. Hotel alleges to have been renovated but it is not apparent. It is well worn, elevators come to a hard stop, it is a tired but adequate place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There were enough good reviews for us to give it a try. Other than it being an old facility, we were very pleased. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We arrived about 10 am. They held our bags and tried to accommodate us early. We were told to come back at 12. (Check in is 3)Our room had two queen beds, The heat was turned off and the window was cracked which was comfortable for us. (We were concerned about the heat since it had bad reviews) It was quiet on the 12th floor. We were very pleased and definitely will go back. We also met the owner who was very friendly adn chatty as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has nice large rooms. Plenty of space for two. It's a little old-fashioned, but everything is clean and functioning. The hotel is suited in a quiet piece of Manhattan, so we slept just fine. Also important: it's at walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, Broadway. Breakfast at the hotel was not really our cup of tea, but there's a great diner just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#93 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#333 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,588 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#237 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#172 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.