We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great parade location–” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #329 of 451 hotels in New York City
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great parade location–”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room 206- bathroom tub was cracked and patched, horribly. Bathroom setup was awful. Cramped vanitly area a little wider than sink. Toilet/ shower we're on top of each other and towel bar approx 4 feet away in unused area of space? Concierge was pushy instead of being helpful- tried to make theater ticket sale was only concern. Parking garage attached was rude and slow. Charged additional $10 for being over 24 hrs.by 20 minutes due to extensive line of people waiting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    1,031
    623
    227
    137
See reviews for
742
517
133
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Midtown for 6 nights in early November for our honeymoon. We arrived about a week after the big storm and after being caught in terrible traffic from Newark, it was nice to arrive to a room that (by New York standards) was quite spacious and very tidy. After a long day of travelling, it was also nice to find a super comfy bed!

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its location. An easy walk to Central Park and Columbus Circle subway station, which makes the city really accessible.

We were a little disappointed with the room temperature - the staff had advised us that because it was winter, they had to put the heating on despite it being quite a warm day/night - didn't really make much sense to us and meant for a relatively sleepless night the night before we were due to fly out. Also, they do offer free WIFI which is a massive bonus, but unfortunately it only worked for about half of our stay and when we had raised this with staff, they weren't all that helpful and just told us it was supposed to be working.

We did have breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was fairly average. Edible but the coffee was cold and the meals were nothing special.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed for a week 9-16 November 2012.

while the room was not as nice as the travel agent promised - the recent refurb meant the huge tv in the room clearly. it was cleaned daily, the bed was comfy, not too soft or too hard.

i cant comment on the restaurant as we didnt eat there - i know my father in law wasnt impressed when he had a look at the breakfast buffet.

the bar staff were lovely - even when we wouldnt leave ( we were celebrating our engagement)

the desk staff were hit and miss - they had an answer for everything sometimes without actually checking

in short - it does what it says on the tin - its standard, it was very clean, and when i emailed before our trip (following Sandy) i received a prompt reply from their in house customer service team

the selling point is the location - 10 - 15 mins walk to times square one way - 10 minutes walk to 5th avenue

2 minutes to central park

overall - not bad at all

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

2 blocks to 59th st Subway, Huge rooms, Bathrooms could be updated. very friendly. Awesome Deli on the Corner (Killer Cheesecake and bagles - and cheap). Easy check in and check out.
No extra charge for third or fourth guest (saved $ - versa other hotels in nyc)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked this hotel a year ago and checked the reviews regularly. I must say I was getting worried about the bad press it was getting. We (me and my son) arrived the first flight after the storms and expected the worst. Got a shuttlebus through endless traffic (2 1/2 hours) which was undrstandable given the weeks chaos the new yorkers had put up with.

We got to the Hotel expecting the poor reviews I read. Not so.

The Hotel was smart on initial appearance (dated but added to the charm..no worse than the Pennsylvania I stayed in before. Check in was swift and easy, then straight up to the room. The North block room overlooked South and onto the back end of times square, not pretty but no issues with a city view.

The room tidy, surface clean and what I considered a great base to get around from. Sure, a deeper clean would have been nice and the faulty sink plug could have been fixed but the bed was comfy, sheets were clean and was very spacious.

The bar was expensive but no one put a gun to our head to drink their. One night it was a blizzard in NY so we decided to stay in the hotel and have food...Average NY prices and food was great..Hot spicey chicken with a large Blue Moon beer about 20 bucks...with a blizzard outside and hot sauce over chicken washed down with a great ale...I wouldn't have been anywhere else.

57th is a great location for Central Park, Times Square, tourist sites, shopping and as most of downtown Manhatten was still recovering from Sandy, it was the perfect location.

A speciel mention to the NY Mayor Bloomberg. He kept one of the worlds biggest cities going while cleaning up the sort of mess that would bring the UK to a stand still.

Would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: North Tower is higher than the south and the higher the room the better the noise restriction...our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 11 & 12 year old sons. The hotel is a bit 'tired' and in need of a spruce up. The room was clean and comfortable (although the bathroom did have a bit of an old damp smell to it) and big enough for the 4 of us and our suitcases. Great value for NY. Good location, handy to subway walking distance to Times Square. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

found coffee machinr pain would have prefered tea kettle..my daughter and i had great time love newyork all staff friendly to us room great to ate breakfast once which was nice enjoyed pancskes....would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.