We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in the Big Apple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #334 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Long weekend in the Big Apple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a long weekend break to escape the dismal weather back home in the UK. Our room was on the 16th floor with far reaching views of the skyscraper scene. The hotel is looking a bit dated but there are information signs about stating that all rooms are to be updated and refurnished starting in early 2013 over a period of 2 years. It should look very good by then. The hotel is within reasonable walking distance of local attractions such as Central Park, 5th Avenue and filming locations for Home Alone2! The subway network is nearby for exploring lower Manhattan which is really too far to walk there and back.
Facilities are pretty good with a restaurant, Gotham Cafe, a bar and lounge area for relaxing after a hard day's walking. Free WiFi for guests is also a bonus considering most UK hotels charge for this. I would not recommend having a hire car in New York as parking charges are eye wateringly expensive. Cabs are plentyfull if you can stand the permanent gridlock on the roads. The subway is much better and cheap at $2.50 each way for the full length of Manhattan Island.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer a good view of the Manhattan skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    1,111
    693
    238
    150
See reviews for
812
565
143
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Overall, a solid B+. Rooms show age but no biggie. Absolutely NO climate control in the room. We called and was told they have a one way system. Either set for ac or heat. We stayed in Nov and our room was about 110 degrees. When we called we were told "sorry".

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We normally stay at a Hilton (for member rewards) when we travel, however, on our recent trip, all available Hilton hotels were priced at $350 and up so we shopped around for a cheaper alternative but still a brand hotel that we have heard of which should avoid any unpleasant surprises. So we ended up at the Holiday Inn Midtown. No question, the location is the best thing about this hotel and the price of less than $250. Like most recent reviewers, we found the rooms essentially clean but in need of redoing, especially the mold in the bathroom needs attending to. However, we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room - for NYC standards it was huge. Another big plus was the free wi-fi, both in rooms and in the lobby. We had no issue with customer service - my husband to be forgot his razor and a replacement was brought up within 5 minutes of calling the front desk. Another plus for the hotel is a very nice hotel bar downstairs - overpriced, as all hotel bars are, but pleasant and handy for a night cap after a long day in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The bedbugs were not as bad as the staff's non-reaction and overall terrible attitudes. We could live with tired old rooms for $250 but seriously EVERY aspect of the staff there was terrible. Yes, we have several of our group get bug bites.
STAY away , what a terrible place.

Room Tip: Run, do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear CWinstin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received and your overall experience at our property. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Overall quite clean and tidy, our room was in dire need of a renovation, same as some other reviews, wall paper has come loose, mouldy walls, fire hazard curtains, and a lousy view, but really in NY it's only a place to catch some Zzz's and for that its very good value for location, wouldn't have stayed so close to Central Park normally but came for marathon (cancelled!) staying for a couple more nights at the end of the month as paid for, but if hadnt paid might not have chosen again. Staff were rude, not sure if that was because they had been affected by hurricane sandy and we were the "inconsiderate" marathon tourists!? (Like the hurricane was our fault!) but overall ok place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I have travelled for 5 weeks in the USA in sept/oct and stayed in 4 other holiday inns varying from 1 night to 12 nights and I must say I was very unimpressed by this hotel. It started on arrival. With 2 kids, 4 suitcases plus carry on luggage, not one staff member offered assistance with getting our bags to our room. Then we arrived in our room to the most awful damp smelling room. We opened windows and ducked down to the pharmacy to purchase air freshner. This did not help. I eventually brought it to the attention of reception staff, who offered me a can of air freshner, and the POSSIBILITY of changing rooms the following day. As you can imagine I did not want the hassle of repacking bags the next day and changing rooms when we had so much to see in New York in the time we were there. Even then there was no possibility of getting another room.

We ate in the restaurant one night and it was like being in a morgue. No smiles from anyone and the staff stood around using their mobile phones or sat at a spare table reading the newspaper.

The day we checked out we had even more luggage than when we arrived and at no stage once we were in the lobby were we offered any assistance with getting our bags outside.

The guy at the concierge desk was the most helpful of anyone in the hotel.

While New York was the best part if my 5 week USA adventure, I will not stay in this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 11/8-11/11/12. Upon arrival, check-in was handled efficiently and in a friendly, hospitable manner by front desk staff. I was on my way to my room within 10 minutes, which included waiting my turn in line. I do not understand the reviews of those who were disappointed in this hotel. It is nice and well-kept. My room was not only pleasant and clean, but it was decorated nicely and even in a contemporary way, in spite of the hotel's information that rooms would be updated in 2013. No complaints! Housekeeping staff was very attentive and good, and I commend them for their work and friendliness. All staff with whom I interacted were professional and have clearly been through excellent training. I met the owner of the hotel in the elevator one evening and we carried on a short, fun conversation. This hotel is actually in a pretty perfect location just four blocks from Columbus Circle and Central Park, an easy 15-minute walk from Times Square and the theater district and, maybe most satisfyingly, in a bit of a quiet neighborhood just blocks from the Hudson River with plenty of local diners, Starbucks and markets within two blocks.

I would return to this hotel easily and, next time I am in NYC, quite likely will. The rating for this hotel is appropriate. It does not present greatly luxurious amenities, but it is also not a low-end hotel by any means. It is very comfortable and will suit most travelers very nicely. I was in town for a conference.

Room Tip: North Tower room on floor 17 offered nice views and quiet nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.