We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #329 of 451 hotels in New York City
CH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just stayed for five days over the Memorial Day Weekend. It is just a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of times square; but the area it is in actually feels like a neighborhood with great coffee shops, restaurants, and convenience stores. We actually liked staying there better than staying at a Times Square Hotel.

We did not have a renovated room, although they are in the process of renovating. It was a bit dated but very comfortable and kept quite clean. Also our room was surprisingly big for NYC.

Not luxury, but very convenient and quite a deal given we got an amazing rate for a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    1,031
    623
    227
    137
See reviews for
742
517
133
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very good location for Central park and Carnegie Hall. Service as you would expect in New York and the rooms were clean and a well stocked and welcoming bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Publick armas ok, but the room totally run down. Wall paper loose with mold behind. Awoid.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was a bit concerned as I read the reviews after I booked the hotel. I am happy to say that we had no mice, no bed bugs or any other 'unwelcome' room mates. The room was a good size, very clean and the maid service was excellent. The location is ideal for Central Park and only 15 minutes stroll to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants, bars etc in the area and a very good diner just across the road. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The best bit - the rooftop pool. The pool was a decent size, very clean and with very comfortable sun loungers. Just the thing to relax and cool off after a hard days sight seeing. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would certainly recommend it to friends. Yes, its a bit dated, but if you want luxury you have to pay for it and this hotel was great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main block, which is being renovated, but there was no building noise or street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel had large rooms, a great location, and a reasonable price for NYC. Our main criteria for hotels are safety and cleanliness and the Holiday Inn met both. There was a subway stop nearby but the location was within walking distance to many of the attractions we wanted to see (Central Park, Times Square, Broadway play, Lincoln Center). It was also close to the major network stations if one wanted to visit a morning news show or take a tour. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the twelth floor, North tower and were very pleased...quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

All hotels in NYC are expensive, but this hotel never disappoints. It is in walking distance to Central Park, Columbus Circle and only about 14 blocks to Times Square. The hotel is very safe and clean although a bit dated. The guest service is exceptional. The bar is nice and well stocked and my daughter says the pancakes there are the best pancakes ever. If you get the chance to stay during the summer, make sure you use the pool. It is on the 9th floor and overlooks the city (which is a neat experience). They have comfortable lounge chairs and bar and food service. It is a relaxing way to spend an afternoon after having a late night out in the city. The rooms are well sized and despite the fact the bathrooms are small they are in fact clean. The hotel has been under renovation off and on for years and continually improves. The manager is great and always ensures his guests are enjoying their stay. I stay here everytime I go to the city (which is usually 2 or 3 times a year).

Room Tip: A few of the rooms have balconies which is a nice break from the typical new york city hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights rooms were of a good size but very dated we were told they were to be updated over the next 6 months. breakfast was good and not all that pricey as others have said we look at prices out side near the hotel and some were same price. found some staff on the desk were not all that helpfull and could be a bit short with you. all the staff who served us at breakfast were very nice and polite and very helpful. they have a shop on the ground floor one girl was very nasty she snaped at you when you asked for help that stoped us using the shop whe she was on the other woman was a compleaty differerant so helpful and nice to talk to told us if we need any help just ask. prices in there own bar were very expensive so did not drink there. all in all I would stay there again once its been upgraded

Room Tip: ask for the other wing belive it has been up graded and ask for high floors better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.