We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to spend our anniversary. Barbara M.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
'NYC4LESS' 10-20% OFF!
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend our anniversary. Barbara M.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quite a gem of a hotel. We live in a suburb of New York City, but enjoy occasionally spending a romantic night in the city. The Elysee is one of our favorite hotels. The suite was lovely with a balcony that was perfect for an en-suite breakfast. Continental breakfast is served free of charge in the library room. For a small charge of $5.00, the breakfast was delivered to our suite. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese before having a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant, the Monkey Bar. What a lovely way to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbaraM4442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As always, the Elysee doormen, bell staff and front desk staff will greet you as if you lived there. We requested a rear view to be away from the street noise. We were there for a week and the lack of sunlight became an issue. As always, the 2nd floor staff was exemplary and gracious.
My only issue --- As this probably happens in all hotels. Our lovely chambermaid rinsed our drinking glasses in the bathroom sink and dried them with "some" towel. Yikes. So, I told the front desk staff that I would be getting my drinking glasses from the 2nd floor (there is a dishwasher on the 2nd floor),
We will be staying at The Elysee again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

First time visitor based simply off web search. Pull right up to the front of the hotel and they park your car in the garage next door for you. Booked a standard room for a Saturday in June and requested a free upgrade since it was our anniversary and seemed like a slow period. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodated our request to a beautiful suite with a wonderful old brick terrace and king bed. Great décor (old feel but very well maintained), clean, comfortable bed. When we returned to the room the staff had a bottle of champagne waiting in the room with chocolate for us as they knew it was our anniversary. Everything about the hotel and experience was enjoyable, down to the casual and mingling feel (sharing tables) of the wine and cheese hour and the included breakfast the next morning. A great boutique hotel feel in mid town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seems like hotel is busier on weekdays - try for a weekend during off peak and you'll have a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

What you read about Elysee is true: the hotel is a little gem. Plentiful continental breakfast in a wonderful and relaxing library room, where after 5 p.m. you can have a glass of wine with tasty appetizers and delicious waitress. Room big and perfectly old-style decorated, great position between 5th avenue and Park Avenue (not to noisy).
Almost perfect: unfortunately the air conditioning is really noisy and you can't regulate. Put earplugs in your bag!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Once we knew we were off to New York, the planning and researching into our holiday started. After reading all the reviews about Hotel Elysee, we decided to book this hotel. We were not dissapointed, what a lovely hotel from the doorman, to Rob at the front desk who handled our reservation and to the desk staff, to Erica and all the girls in the clubroom and finally to house keeping staff you all made our stay a fantastic one! We asked for a quiet room and Rob made that happen. Could not fault the customer service. Wine & chocolates as a thank you was a nice touch in our room.The Monkey Bar was a delight and meals were afordable. Breakfast was beautiful and fresh and drinks and nibbles in the early evening was just what the body wanted at the end of a busy day of sight seeing and walking your legs off. Would we stay again? A big yes next time. Its well located to everything. Thank you once again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were on the 12th floor and faced onto another building not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie93_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I appreciated the friendly, helpful staff and the clean, quiet room. The clubroom was so convenient for getting together with friends and having a comfortable place to sit not to mention the food/snacks and drinks provided throughout the day. Nice location.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our second stay at the Elysee with members of my family. No disappointments same great breakfast and front desk service. My son used the gym which is four blocks from the hotel and free for guests, apparently excellent. I would still highly recommend the hotel for cost, position, service and a home from home feel. Very practical and a staff that go the extra mile to please.

Room Tip: 12th & 13th floors quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,243 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,497 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing