We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to spend our anniversary. Barbara M.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend our anniversary. Barbara M.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quite a gem of a hotel. We live in a suburb of New York City, but enjoy occasionally spending a romantic night in the city. The Elysee is one of our favorite hotels. The suite was lovely with a balcony that was perfect for an en-suite breakfast. Continental breakfast is served free of charge in the library room. For a small charge of $5.00, the breakfast was delivered to our suite. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese before having a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant, the Monkey Bar. What a lovely way to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    436
    67
    26
    7
See reviews for
447
1,152
109
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As always, the Elysee doormen, bell staff and front desk staff will greet you as if you lived there. We requested a rear view to be away from the street noise. We were there for a week and the lack of sunlight became an issue. As always, the 2nd floor staff was exemplary and gracious.
My only issue --- As this probably happens in all hotels. Our lovely chambermaid rinsed our drinking glasses in the bathroom sink and dried them with "some" towel. Yikes. So, I told the front desk staff that I would be getting my drinking glasses from the 2nd floor (there is a dishwasher on the 2nd floor),
We will be staying at The Elysee again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

First time visitor based simply off web search. Pull right up to the front of the hotel and they park your car in the garage next door for you. Booked a standard room for a Saturday in June and requested a free upgrade since it was our anniversary and seemed like a slow period. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodated our request to a beautiful suite with a wonderful old brick terrace and king bed. Great décor (old feel but very well maintained), clean, comfortable bed. When we returned to the room the staff had a bottle of champagne waiting in the room with chocolate for us as they knew it was our anniversary. Everything about the hotel and experience was enjoyable, down to the casual and mingling feel (sharing tables) of the wine and cheese hour and the included breakfast the next morning. A great boutique hotel feel in mid town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seems like hotel is busier on weekdays - try for a weekend during off peak and you'll have a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

What you read about Elysee is true: the hotel is a little gem. Plentiful continental breakfast in a wonderful and relaxing library room, where after 5 p.m. you can have a glass of wine with tasty appetizers and delicious waitress. Room big and perfectly old-style decorated, great position between 5th avenue and Park Avenue (not to noisy).
Almost perfect: unfortunately the air conditioning is really noisy and you can't regulate. Put earplugs in your bag!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Once we knew we were off to New York, the planning and researching into our holiday started. After reading all the reviews about Hotel Elysee, we decided to book this hotel. We were not dissapointed, what a lovely hotel from the doorman, to Rob at the front desk who handled our reservation and to the desk staff, to Erica and all the girls in the clubroom and finally to house keeping staff you all made our stay a fantastic one! We asked for a quiet room and Rob made that happen. Could not fault the customer service. Wine & chocolates as a thank you was a nice touch in our room.The Monkey Bar was a delight and meals were afordable. Breakfast was beautiful and fresh and drinks and nibbles in the early evening was just what the body wanted at the end of a busy day of sight seeing and walking your legs off. Would we stay again? A big yes next time. Its well located to everything. Thank you once again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were on the 12th floor and faced onto another building not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I appreciated the friendly, helpful staff and the clean, quiet room. The clubroom was so convenient for getting together with friends and having a comfortable place to sit not to mention the food/snacks and drinks provided throughout the day. Nice location.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our second stay at the Elysee with members of my family. No disappointments same great breakfast and front desk service. My son used the gym which is four blocks from the hotel and free for guests, apparently excellent. I would still highly recommend the hotel for cost, position, service and a home from home feel. Very practical and a staff that go the extra mile to please.

Room Tip: 12th & 13th floors quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.