We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always a good experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

As with our previous stays here, this hotel was just great! The location can't be beat, and each and every staff member we encountered was efficient, professional, pleasant and eager to help. We appreciate that there are always very nice people working here.Our junior suite on the14th floor was clean, quiet, and very spacious for my husband, myself, and our two teenage daughters. The morning breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious, in a relaxing room on the second floor. This was a perfect location to walk to a play at the Park Avenue Armory, but we've stayed before and walked to things in other directions....it always seems conveniently located! You can't go wrong here; I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    424
    63
    26
    7
See reviews for
442
1,133
102
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We love historic hotels and Élysée did not disappoint. Built in 1926, once the stomping ground of Tennessee Williams, who dubbed it "The Easy Lay." Home to the iconic Monkey Bar, which we took advantage of more than once; this is a charming, though tiny hotel. Small rooms, beautifully decorated in heavy curtains, mahogany, and Gallic furniture. We celebrated our anniversary and the desk cheerfully gave us a room with a balcony and a bottle of champagne upon arrival. Every room is different and if you want a sitting area, larger bathroom, or balcony just ask. You just might get it. The service is impeccable, friendly, and helpful. Pricey, we paid nearly $500 (including all taxes) a night during a Busy week (Tony's and Belmont Stakes) but a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, juices, delicious NY bagels (toasted) yogurts, and made to order cappuccinos probably saves 30-50 bucks a day for breakfast. In fact, our entire group loved the second floor sitting area. We tended to regroup there with breakfast in am, tea and cookies in afternoon, and complimentary wine in early evening. Great location, near Central Park, Broadway, and Fifth Avenue window shopping. A quiet, friendly, oasis in a busy, concrete jumble.

Room Tip: We liked the balcony. Only four in the hotel. We got one by simply asking nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unicoi, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a place. We arrived early & enjoyed a juicy burger & cold beer at the Monkey Bar while waiting for our room to be prepared. Our 14th floor room included a terrace with unforgettable views of midtown Manhattan, which added a whole new dimension to our experience of New York City. The staff could not have been more accomodating, truly making us feel like honored guests, even acknowledging our special occasion with a nice gift. One wonderful amenity was the chocolate bar from Leonidas, very delicious. The many amenities offered were part of our decision to choose Hotel Elysee & we were not disappointed; the continental breakfast selections were varied & abundant and we especially enjoyed the coffee. The location was perfect for our planned activities and the small size made it feel cozy, warm & welcoming. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a terrace, what an amazing way to see NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlenbach, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A great stay in a beautiful historic Hotel. Very kind staff. Very nice furniture. For NYC, we felt the room was pretty large with comfortable beds and high class bed linen. Good Continental breakfast which was included in the room price. Great "Apero" in the later afternoon in the Club room with wine and snacks. I informed Reservation about the upcoming birthday of my wife and the Hotel gave us some small extras which was much appreciated. This also showed that the individual comments written at the day of the booking are actually getting noticed by the Hotel reservation team which is very positive.
A bit of a downside is the fact that - just as in so many other (historic) US Hotel - the quality of the windows is pretty poor. Overlooking a courtyard and Park Av. it sometimes felt as if a police car would drive across the bed. What is so difficult about installing soundproof windows? However I admit this is NYC and you get used to it - and so did we - but this in my mind no excuse for not investing money in something as important as decent windows.
However and overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go to the "Elysée" again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having researched New York hotels on TA prior to booking, and having been recommended the Library hotel group by friends, we decided on the Elysee because the standard rooms were larger than other hotels in the group. We were not disappointed. From arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well appointed, spotless and very comfortable. The hotel has a great atmosphere, it has history and charm and the interior is beautifully presented. The buffet breakfasts and wine evenings were a real treat and the staff serving both could not do enough to help. The Elysee exceeded our expectations and we would certainly return, and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I just returned from my first trip to New York and stayed at the Hotel Elysee. I just loved that place. It was so quaint and cozy and you felt like it was home away from home. I loved everything about it, the staff, room, and my favorite, the club room. I will definitely be going back there on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

it is nice to find a hotel in New York that is at a human scale and nice & central to the Shopping and Central part of Manhattan. We stayed for 3 nights and liked the 2nd floor club room/lounge it was a nice place to pause & have a coffee & Biscuit before moving on to the next activity.
Rooms are not huge but certainly comfy The noise of the A/C unit and poor TV reception are why I stuck to 4* rather than 5. Would certainly stay again, this is not a modern feel hotel, the elevator has a chandelier! but an individual place we really enjoyed

Room Tip: try to be as high as poss the street (it is New York!!) can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.