We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European feel in more intimate hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #8 of 451 hotels in New York City
long beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A European feel in more intimate hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Loved our 5 night stay. Staff were all helpful n very nice from front desk to breakfast room staff. Excellent continental breakfast. Club room is key to uniqueness n quality of stay. Bedding very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,600
    393
    57
    26
    7
See reviews for
413
1056
100
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Elysee this past weekend. It was our first time in New York, and we hit a home run with this hotel! The location is excellent--it is on a relatively quiet street, and is within walking distance of what we wanted to see (Central Park, the Met, AMNH, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, New York Public Library, 5th Avenue). If you need to go farther, a subway station is about a block over, and taxis are easy to catch as well. It is in a lovely old building with lots of character, and a cozy feeling to the rooms. We stayed in a king suite on the 11th floor, which was a bit like having our own apartment in the city. The living room and bedroom were quite large, and we had no issues with being crowded or noise.

From the moment we arrived, the staff was professional, friendly and ready to help with any request. There was always at least two people working at the front desk, as well as someone working the door at all times. A light breakfast is included (pastries, fruit, cereal, bagels, toast), and was a pleasant way to start our day. The afternoon happy hour (appetizers and wine) was the perfect respite from a day spent walking and sight seeing, and offered the chance to refuel for the evening. We did not have an opportunity to visit the Monkey Bar next door, but heard great things about it from other guests.

We will absolutely stay at the Hotel Elysee on our next trip to NYC. It's an excellent value for the price, and the location and staff are unbeatable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor--no issues with street noise or other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I keep coming back here again and again because every stay has been so wonderful. Excellent location on quiet street but close to everything. Super staff. Beautiful property with comfortable and well-appointed room. Love the library and breakfast there to start my day as well as wine and cheese in the later afternoon. i don't think I would ever stay at a different hotel in NYC again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the property if you value quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I grew up in the NY area. Now that our son is living there we love to visit, and do so as often as possible. We always try to book the Hotel Elysee. It feels like we're staying at a grand old established home in NYC, complete with courteous help and all amenities. Hotel Elysee may have small rooms but it's a small hotel with a wonderful feeling to it - from the line-up of adorable young men greeting us at the front desk who are more than knowledgable and willing to help with anything from cabs to restaurants to umbrellas and weather forecasts, to the wonderful second floor lounge where we can relax over a leisurely breakfast before we venture out... or tea/coffee and cookies to soothe tired NYC legs upon our return... and wine and cheese/crudites before dinner. The staff is ever ready to help, the rooms are clean and well appointed. We also love the Monkey Bar, which is attached to the ground floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Another great stay at the Elysée. I was surprised the Hotel could be even better than one year ago during my last visit.
The service was perfect since the on line reservation until the check out. Impeccable housekeeping, great breakfast and a relaxing complimentary cheese and wine at the end of the day.
Will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just returned from a short, pleasant vacation in NYC, and our choice of Hotel Elysee added a lot to our enjoyment. The location is superb - easy walking distance to Central Park and Rockefeller Center, with access to all the shops and restaurants on Park & Madison Avenue.

Our room was a bit small, but meticulously clean, quiet and comfortable - and we slept very well in a very comfortable bed. From our window, we had a view of a lovely urban garden space, with a large mouse sculpture in the center - a pleasant room location. I was concerned that our room was adjacent to the elevator, but we were never bothered by noise from the elevator, so it wasn't an issue.

But what made the Hotel Elysee most special was the second floor lounge, where breakfast and evening wine and snacks were served. It's a lovely room overlooking 54th Street, with sofas and tables and stacks of daily newspapers on hand. The hostesses are very welcoming and the atmosphere facilitates conversation with other guests. There is a wide variety of breakfast choices - cereal, bread, pastries, bagels, yogurt and lots of fresh fruit. The coffee is great too! In the evening, the hostesses serve wine and prosecco, and there is an assortment of cheese/crackers/cookies as well. It's a great way to relax and unwind with other guests at the end of the work or touring day!

The front desk staff was also unfailingly pleasant and helpful. And a compliment to Trip Advisor too - when booking I was offered the option of using American Express and paying with Membership Rewards points was very easy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were in New York apartment hunting for four days. It was wonderful starting our day with the breakfast and returning to the amazing wine and cheese spread available from 5 until 8 after a full day of walking and looking.
The staff is amazing and our Junior suite was spacious and perfect for three of us. I originally wanted to stay at the sister property "The Library" but it was booked. That may have been a good thing. This is a wonderful hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.