We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #7 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were in New York apartment hunting for four days. It was wonderful starting our day with the breakfast and returning to the amazing wine and cheese spread available from 5 until 8 after a full day of walking and looking.
The staff is amazing and our Junior suite was spacious and perfect for three of us. I originally wanted to stay at the sister property "The Library" but it was booked. That may have been a good thing. This is a wonderful hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    408
    57
    26
    7
See reviews for
430
1097
103
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is such a wonderful hotel. It feels more like a club with its intimate scale and personal service. As my husband commented, it was one of the few NYC hotels where he's actually been greeted with a "welcome back, Mr. ___"

The property is old-school for sure. Brocade draperies, antique reproductions, and carpets make it feel certainly established. Housekeeping is impeccable and no concern is too petty for the staff to address.

We loved the lounge, with the breakfast and cocktail hour services. The girls who worked the lounge were always so friendly and accommodating, even helping me make a tray to take up to our room when the kids were too jet-lagged to come down.

Love love love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Hotel Elysee is a gem of a hotel. It has old world charm and is situated right in the heart of the city. I would definitely stay there again, except next time skip the wi-fi as it doesn't work and ask for their Verizon mi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A wonderful place in the heart of NY eastside-Service is so friendly and competent. We have already rebooked for our next trip in August. The breakfast included offer seemed a bit skeptical. GLORIOUS!

Room Tip: High floors are quiet and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just back from NYC, took my 14 year old granddaughter and her mom to see it for the first time. Stayed at Elysee and it was a great choice. Good location, nice to have a continental breakfast included, and a wonderful staff. Very clean and nice toiletries. Everyone we met at the hotel was very impressed and glad that they had also chosen the Elysee. Will definitely return here. Also great meals at, Bar Americain, Butter and Fig&Olive. My granddaughter loved the donut/croissant combo at Paris Baguette.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Marvelous experience. The staff is friendly, helpful, quite willing to give recommendations, and occasionally appropriately funny. Our room on the 11th floor was perfect, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts, all day tea, cookies and fruit are generous and well done. The 5-8 PM wine reception is exceptional with decent wines plus champagne, nice cheeses, a variety of crackers, fruits, cookies and fresh veggies with dip. The sitting rooms have many cozy sitting areas, and a library, with a selection of daily newspapers and beautiful fresh flowers in every table. Quite nicely done, all included. I loved the marble bathroom - great shower head.

Room Tip: All the restaurants within the same block as the hotel are excellent and well reviewed, many price r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

stayed here at start of our holidays end of april,it is a very nice hotel and the breakfast and complimentry evening cheese and wine a lovely idea,staff very polite,good base for walking around new york,only one hiccup was that when the chap swiped our card on arrival he actually took $1100 off of it,we didnt find out till next day when trying to do some shopping and and our card didnt have as much credit as we knew it should have,this was immediately rectified when we informed reception as our stay was all prebooked and prepaid,but still something for people to be aware of!! it did cause alot of hassle for us and we missed out on some of the sightseeing we wanted to do because we were trying to sort things with the bank.!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Diane L.,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the exorbitant hold place on your credit card upon check-in. My Guest Service Agent, although he is my most recent hire, should have been more careful with the hold placed on your card. You chose our prepay rate plan, offering a nice discount for travelers with firm plans and he should have taken only a small amount to cover your incidental charges. I am sorry the impact on your spending hindered you from fully enjoying our city. Although you mention the error was rectified immediately, still it was our fault. I would very much like the opportunity to speak with you and offer you my direct apologies. You may reach me at john@elyseehotel.com I do hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#10 Family Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.