We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 459 Hotels in New York City
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A wonderful place in the heart of NY eastside-Service is so friendly and competent. We have already rebooked for our next trip in August. The breakfast included offer seemed a bit skeptical. GLORIOUS!

Room Tip: High floors are quiet and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    436
    67
    26
    7
See reviews for
447
1,152
109
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just back from NYC, took my 14 year old granddaughter and her mom to see it for the first time. Stayed at Elysee and it was a great choice. Good location, nice to have a continental breakfast included, and a wonderful staff. Very clean and nice toiletries. Everyone we met at the hotel was very impressed and glad that they had also chosen the Elysee. Will definitely return here. Also great meals at, Bar Americain, Butter and Fig&Olive. My granddaughter loved the donut/croissant combo at Paris Baguette.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Marvelous experience. The staff is friendly, helpful, quite willing to give recommendations, and occasionally appropriately funny. Our room on the 11th floor was perfect, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts, all day tea, cookies and fruit are generous and well done. The 5-8 PM wine reception is exceptional with decent wines plus champagne, nice cheeses, a variety of crackers, fruits, cookies and fresh veggies with dip. The sitting rooms have many cozy sitting areas, and a library, with a selection of daily newspapers and beautiful fresh flowers in every table. Quite nicely done, all included. I loved the marble bathroom - great shower head.

Room Tip: All the restaurants within the same block as the hotel are excellent and well reviewed, many price r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

stayed here at start of our holidays end of april,it is a very nice hotel and the breakfast and complimentry evening cheese and wine a lovely idea,staff very polite,good base for walking around new york,only one hiccup was that when the chap swiped our card on arrival he actually took $1100 off of it,we didnt find out till next day when trying to do some shopping and and our card didnt have as much credit as we knew it should have,this was immediately rectified when we informed reception as our stay was all prebooked and prepaid,but still something for people to be aware of!! it did cause alot of hassle for us and we missed out on some of the sightseeing we wanted to do because we were trying to sort things with the bank.!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Diane L.,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the exorbitant hold place on your credit card upon check-in. My Guest Service Agent, although he is my most recent hire, should have been more careful with the hold placed on your card. You chose our prepay rate plan, offering a nice discount for travelers with firm plans and he should have taken only a small amount to cover your incidental charges. I am sorry the impact on your spending hindered you from fully enjoying our city. Although you mention the error was rectified immediately, still it was our fault. I would very much like the opportunity to speak with you and offer you my direct apologies. You may reach me at john@elyseehotel.com I do hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was our first visit to New York and the hotel was superb. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was really nice and we really appreciated the drinks and snacks each evening, as well as the breakfast. We would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel warmly.

Room Tip: Number 70 had a nice little conservatory which was a surprise and delightful. Don't know if othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Elysee twice before and this most recent trip was excellent as always. The Hotel was a short walk to my business conference but miles above staying at the conference location. It feel like walking home each day. The staff is excellent, never pushy or too busy to answer a question. I took my book and laptop down to the common room on the second floor and was able to work very comfortably before going upstairs to sleep. The complimentary breakfast and evening wine are wonderful touches for this weary business traveler!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Have been to New York on numerous occasions have alway wanted to stay at this hotel and glad we eventually did. It was our 25th wedding anniversary on arriving our room had a lovely bottle of prosecco and a box of chocolates room was nice bed very comfy we had a balcony room which was a really good size and fab to sit out on. The staff were very welcoming polite and helpful. Would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.