We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here last weekend for a girls trip. It is in a very convenient location. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and the free internet and breakfast made the stay even nicer. It is in a good area to run, as well. The park is just a couple of blocks as is the East River. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,014
    491
    73
    27
    7
See reviews for
519
1,314
122
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zachary, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location could not have been better for us. The staff was excellent. The mattress was a bit flat for me, but everything was clean. It was nice to have the restaurant and The Monkey Bar for late night. The breakfast and wine/cheese daily were super. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Absolute gem in the heart of prime Manhattan. The best staff we have come across, so helpful and courteous. The hotel is classic and welcoming and there is the added benefit and charm of the first floor lounge where you can have breakfast, afternoon tea and a happy hour all of which is inclusive. The rooms are very well appointed and the best are extremely spacious. We can't recommend the hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Try higher floors to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

With all the electronic devices people now use when they travel, it would be more convenient to have a charging center within easy reach on the desktop rather than crawling around on the floor looking for an outlet. Also, many of the outlets in the room are so old and worn that plugs would not firmly engage the socket and kept falling out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear G-man-Charlie,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. You are correct, it is inconvenient to have to reach the baseboards to plug in your charger or electronic device. I inspected your room and I agree with you completely. Already, I have contacted our decorator and we are considering a few different options. I did though check every socket in the room and found them all in working order but I offer you my apologies for any difficulty you encountered. We all hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

i decided to visit this hotel based on other guests opinions and I can by myself verify it's excellence. Elysee is a boutique hotel, with character and charm. Classic music in low volume accompanies the complimentary breakfast, classic paintings everywhere, fresh flowers all around in the public areas, friendly and efficient staff. Also complimentary offered variety of refreshments ,wines, cheeses, fruits, fresh vegetables, excellent quality biscuits (every day between 17:00 -20:00) served in the red carpeted room ,equipped with coffee tables, big armchairs and bookshelves all reminding rather a private mansion's drawing room than a hotel's lobby.
As for the bed, there are not enough words to describe the softness of the bed's linen, felt like I was enveloped in whipped cream or a fluffy cloud. The hotel offers also a variety of choices for a superb sleep such as "memory" pillows, "sleephones "(special soft headphones hidden in a head band) permits you hear relaxing music while in bed, and many more. The queen room was pleasant with light blue and cream stripes wallpaper, a comfortable sofa, lots of drawers, and an antique cabinet. The room as well the hotel was spotless clean.
In the same block with Elysee are fine restaurants as well as in the hotel itself.
The only inconvenience is the absence of "flexible -split shower" in the bathroom (fixed on the wall shower is not at all helpful). But the overall experience of the hotel Elysee is grate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for both business and family weekend trips for more than 15 years, Every time I walk in, the staff makes me feel like a celebrity. John Avina, the GM and Chris, the weekend manager, make sure my stay is always perfect. It's a small boutique hotel centrally located and convenient to evrything, I wouldnt stay anywhere else. BGiardina.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I arranged our recent stay with Graig Sammis the Front House Manager, and all we can say is a professional of the highest standard. We had a great stay, service excellent the room (a Junior Suite) was very large the largest I have stayed in in NYC. The staff we top notch through the full spectrum of responsibilities. As ever with the Library Hotel Collection of Hotels the breakfast, evening wine reception and complementary refreshments are an extremely thoughtful addition and well delivered. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,957 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#21 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.