We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mid-town location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Mid-town location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The staff were a credit to the hotel, both the front of house and the team running breakfast. Always helpful and friendly without being over familiar the staff were good. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice.
If I'm honest the room was a little tired but I had taken a special offer from tripadvisor that meant it was $200 per night. At that level, the hotel was excellent value in a great location. The gym system works well through vouchers for NY Sports Clubs. A minor grumble was the wifi in room 74 which was intermittent.
Other than that, a great team, great location, good value and good hotel. Certainly better than the Waldorf.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    465
    69
    27
    7
See reviews for
489
1,237
116
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We returned to the Hotel Elysee 20 years afar our first visit. It is a delightful boutique hotel. My only suggestion - and it is minor - would be to add some furniture and dressing to the lobby. The room is spacious and very nice. Location is easy and close to most tourist interests. Only the Hotel Kepler is Paris exceeds the Elysee.

Room Tip: Evening wine and cheese is a wonderful part of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at Hotel Elysee. Everyone at the hotel could not have been more hospitable, gracious and kind. From the moment we arrived it was a magical experience. The room upgrade was a stunning surprise and contributed greatly to make our honeymoon truly memorable. The continental breakfast and afternoon wine and hor d'oeuvres were much enjoyed as was our dinners at the Monkey Bar. We will definitely be back for another stay very soon.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on an upper floor it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wonderful smaller hotel with a friendly staff. We loved the location, away from the madness of mid-town, but close to everything. Great shops, walking distance to MOMA, and many other places. The room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom a bit small but had all the amenities we needed. Our rate included cocktails and snacks in the evening, a nice breakfast in the morning, free WIFI, and affordable parking. Not many places in NYC like this!
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a less expensive rate, because we opted to stay on the 6th floor, street front. I put on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Superb location, staff and accommodation. What else can you ask for?The fact that the breakfast and afternoon snacks and wine are included in the price make this hotel evenmore intereseting. We plan to return there again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Élysée many times and have always enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, the rooms are comfortable and having breakfast and HH included is a huge plus! We also enjoy having a drink(s) and/or lunch/dinner at The Monkey Bar.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I absolutely loved my stay from the phone call I received the day before my arrival, confirming my stay and offering advance assistance with anything. I arrived in the morning, and since my room wasn't ready, I enjoyed the club lounge, a comfortable, welcoming oasis with fresh coffee and pastries. Once my room was ready, I was thrilled to find that I was upgraded to a larger, upper floor king room with a spacious balcony! A balcony! In New York! The weather wasn't cooperative with alfresco living but I loved it anyway. The room was great with a small fridge in addition to a minibar, a loveseat sofa and desk for work. Free wi-fi was fast and efficient throughout the hotel. The bath was very nice with marble and gold fixtures. The complimentary breakfast was very well supplied and the service was friendly and gracious. I only had time to look in on the evening wine and cheese session, but it seemed like a great place to relax after a day in meetings, sightseeing or shopping. I enjoyed drinks in the fun and friendly Monkey Bar later one evening. Every request from housekeeping or the front desk was filled quickly and happily...you really get the sense that each person here is empowered to do whatever to make the guest happy. Between the amenities, the complimentary breakfast and wine, the free wi-fi, location and staff, I think the Elysee is a remarkable value for NYC. I can't wait to return to this wonderful refuge in the city.

Room Tip: Room 145, a roomy deluxe king, had an incredible balcony. It was located right next to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#24 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.