We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #7 of 449 hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Gem in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you like giant lobbies with hundreds of people milling around, this hotel is not for you!
Just steps off Madison Avenue, this lovely hotel is homey and elegant at the same time. You are greeted by friendly staff each time you go through the front door. Check in was hassle free. The rooms are comfortable and large by New York standards. The second floor is devoted to the comfort of the guests. It consists of several large rooms decorated with comfortable couches, tables and chairs. The main room looks like a large living room in an upscale New York apartment. To the side is a library with more seating and a computer/printer for the use of the guests. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. The continental breakfast is included as are appies and wine at happy hour and beyond. Coffee, tea and cookies are available throughout the day. The beds are divine with good linens and duvets. The perfect hotel to relax in after the hard work of sightseeing and shopping in Manhattan.
This will be my home away from home when in New York.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,582
    392
    56
    25
    7
See reviews for
407
1045
100
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel Elysee is a gem in NYC! Despite the hustle and bustle of the city, after walking into Hotel Elysee you are surrounded by a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. My husband and I loved the feeling of a smaller boutique hotel instead of one of the many chain hotels. The amenities include a full breakfast, all day espresso and snacks in addition to a lovely wine and cheese reception every night for all of the guests.

We slept very well in the bed and appreciated the free wifi in the rooms for some last minute work we had to get done. We love finding unique hotels during our travels, and this one definitely has character!

Hotel Elysee is very close to Central Park, so we suggest grabbing your morning coffee and starting each day out with a walk through the park - it was so beautiful in the fall as the leaves were changing colors!

We were spoiled at the hotel and would definitely return next time in NYC!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The title says (almost) everything. The French would call it "bon marché". And the staff is courteous and polite. The buffet lounge on the second floor conveys such a charming atmosphere that I almost felt tempted to sit at the piano and play.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just great friendly service and nice comfortable, if not big, rooms. The breakfast is delicious and in a comfortable lounge great for reading the times and hanging out for a while. Room service at night from the Monkey Bar is adequate. Rooms on the back are quietest.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear KathrynSpike,

Thank you very much for your review. We were so pleased to have you return for another visit and I am happy that you again enjoyed our service, especially the efforts of the staff who truly work very hard to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant stay. We just hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We enjoy frequent trips to New York, and since discovering the Hotel Elysee, always stay there. It is impeccably clean, the staff are very nice and friendly. The services are plenty and delivered cheerfully. The ladies who run the breakfast are so kind and seem genuinely happy to provide the service. The hotel is well located for easy access to local attractions, also subway. We are never disappointed, and always sorry to leave

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Elysee for many years. Cannot say enough about the service staff and how they go that extra mile. The convenience of the concierge floor for breakfast,afternoon tea, wine and cheese, and late night beverages and cookies is a welcome convenience.

Room Tip: We think It's time to do a little face lift in the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to stay in Manhattan. You can walk to the theater district, shopping, and museums so the location is perfect. But what I like is the friendly staff. There is tea or wine in the library every afternoon and breakfast in the mornings. I have met so many other travelers just relaxing and talking during these hours. The rooms are clean and nice. Some of the rooms have a balcony so on a beautiful day it's perfect for coffee and the newspaper. I know NYC is all about rushing, but here time can slow down a little bit.

Room Tip: You can ask for a balcony when you book but those rooms are in high demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.