We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #8 of 451 hotels in New York City
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York. It is a lovely boutique hotel in a very convenient location. The staff were all very attentive and the room extremely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great but it was the complimentary tea/coffee and cookies at anytime of the day and the complimentary wine with hors d'oeuvre in the evening which really impressed us - a really lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,599
    392
    57
    25
    7
See reviews for
413
1055
100
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We prefer smaller hotels, and this fit the bill. Great location and a welcome oasis at the end of the day. When making the reservation we had asked for a quiet room in the back and were given a room on the 14th floor. Once we saw it, we asked to change to a room in front, as we prefer more light. Ruby accommodated us immediately and we were given a room on the 5th floor. We were warned about noise in the morning, but didn't find this to be a problem.

Breakfast in the club room was a great way to start the day, especially with the classical music playing in the background. What was even better was that coffee was available early. My husband got coffee every morning at 6 and brought it back to the room. We hope to return to New York and to the Hotel Elysee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel Elysee is a brilliant location for exploring New York, central but on a quiet road. The staff were attentive and couldn't have offered better service. A very comfortable room. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at Hotel Elysee this year, once for 3 days and again for 5 days. Most centrally located property on 54th just off Madison Ave. at the north end of Mid-town Manhattan. You cannot be close to everything in NYC, but this is right in the middle and without being in disgusting areas like around Times Square and the Theatre District. From the Elysee you can walk to a play, take a subway anywhere, and take a bus uptown on Madison Ave to the chic stores. On the downside are small old bathrooms, one elevator. The second floor is like a concierge floor with a great breakfast in the morning, tea or wine in the afternoon and evening, and just a nice place to hang out and rest your weary feet. You can feel at home here, which is different than at larger Manhattan hotels, and perhaps the old creaky building has a charm of its own. Helpful staff but I would not take their restaurant suggestions, and would find your own places to have dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having stayed in NYC on a few occasions, the City is known for expensive hotels with small rooms. The Elysee is at the expensive end, but worth every penny. My daughter (16) and I had a 2 queen bed room, lots of space, linen changed every day, great service. The hotel is between Madison and Park Avenue so a really central location. A great touch is the Clubroom where breakfast (included) is served every day, complimentary coffee and tea is on tap all day and in the evenings, complimentary wine, soft drinks and pre dinner nibbles are laid on for guests. You therefore don't rack up an extras bill - its really a great idea and very nicely done. The hotel is traditional in style and service. We found the concierge service excellent - they booked everything from restaurants to helicopter trips for us with no commissions. Thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel if you want traditional style and comfort. Beds are great by the way!

Room Tip: I think the higher floors may be a good choice - we were on the 8th which was very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The free "petit dejeneur" as well as wine and cheeses at the 2nd floor parlor are delicious and delightful.
The elegant and intimate ambiance of the hotel make it very attractive to relax. The location of the hotel is ideal for people seeking hotels of the type of Elysée's.




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Elysee for 6 nights in late September, 2013. The Elysee turned out to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Everything was perfect. The staff was always available and helpful, the room was large, and everything worked just right. In addition, the hotel serves a very nice breakfast, and has a wine and cheese buffet every evening for 3 hours. There’s coffee and light refreshment available all day and to top it all off, the location is fantastic with 3 different subway stations just a few minutes’ walk away.

With New York City hotels so expensive, the cheap but decent ones cost $250 per night. For $400+ per night you can get a great hotel like the Elysee. We will happily return here on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.