We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for an average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location for an average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Elysee in early Oct for 3 nights for our 10th Anniversary. Having travelled to NYC on many occassions we decided to move away from the bigger hotels and try a smaller boutique hotel, and chose Hotel Elysee.

When we arrived we were greeted and helped immediately by the doorman and the front desk staff. We were given a corner room with king bed on the 4th floor. The room had a bit of a bizarre layout and the bathroom was an accident waiting to happen. The threshold of the bathroom was raised 2 inches above the other flooring, which resulted in a whole lot of stubbed toes and tripping. The room really needs refurbishing. The furniture has knicks out of it all over the place, the colours are just drab and the lighting is not all that great. The room was adequate for our needs, but certainly not worth the average of $450 a night we paid for it.

As other reviewers have mentioned the noise is horrible. We are used to city noises. The city noises were not the problem. The problem was the grease trap truck that showed up at 3 am on Saturday morning and sat outside out room for about 2 hours sucking up grease from somewhere. OMG the noise this truck made was unbelievable and made for a really horrible nights sleep.

The one other really big disappointment with the hotel was the lack of a professional concierge. The front desk staff tried to be helpful but were no where near as helpful as a fulltime concierge would have been. They told us they could not get us tickets to certain attractions (didn't even try actually) didn't really have good restaurant recommendations etc. They needed a "Yes" man/woman who would have worked their hardest to make sure the guests had a fantastic time in NYC. The cost of this hotel is the same as some very well know high end hotels in NYC that have fantastic concierge services for their guests. So its disappointing that you pay this much and don't get this service.

The hotel is in a great location. Fantastic for getting around anywhere in the city whether you are walking, taking the subway or a cab.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lexy P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were indeed disappointed to read your review and we are sorry, for we seemed to have failed to meet your expectations. You are correct; our rooms facing the street on the third and fourth floor can be noisy. Regretfully, we cannot control or even predict any adverse noise outside the hotel; however, we are prepared to assist guests whenever possible. Last year we introduced our Escape to Serenity Sleep Program, designed to enhance your sleep experience. We provide items like Sound Spas, Sleep Phones and earplugs for those having difficulty adjusting to the hum of the city, or as in your case, an unusual and unwelcome intrusion of noise. To create awareness, we have placed a card on each bed detailing the program. Additionally, this information is listed on our website as well as our booking engine. Although one might not want to interrupt their stay or evening with a call to the manager, we do encourage our guests who find themselves dissatisfied or disappointed with any aspect of their stay, to allow us the opportunity to address their concerns. By alerting either me or any member of my staff while you are here, we have a better chance of fulfilling our goal to provide each guest with the best experience possible. In your case, I would have offered you a change of rooms, although inconvenient, I believe this solution would have resolved the matter.

I am most concerned that you felt the Front Desk did not satisfy your Concierge needs. If you would be so kind as to share with us what you were expecting or hoping for and how it differed from the responses you received, it would help me enhance our training or to at least prevent a similar occurrence from happening to future guests.

Lastly, I have inspected the room you stayed in with our master carpenter and thanks to your feedback; we have identified some work that can be added to our continual maintenance program. It is important to understand that we are a European style boutique hotel and while our traditional décor is part of our charm for many, it may not be the right choice for everyone. At the Library Hotel Collection we have three other hotels that each has their own distinct style, although our service and amenities are similar. I wonder in your case, if a more contemporary hotel, like our Hotel Giraffe might have suited you better. Again it would be my pleasure to discuss with you further, as we hope you might consider giving us a second chance. Please feel free to contact me personally at john@elyseehotel.com and it would be my pleasure to personally arrange a future visit at either hotel, as we truly want you to have the experience you had hoped for.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    436
    66
    26
    7
See reviews for
446
1,148
109
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel just a few blocks from Central Park. The rooms are small but nicely set up, bed very comfortable, robes provided in a large closet, everything clean and attractive. But- it is the extras that really make this place nice. The large second floor lounge always has ice water, good coffee, and lovely cookies available. The complimentary breakfast features lots of fresh fruit and many kinds of breads and pastries in addition to yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and several types of cereal. The staff will toast your breads and can make espresso drinks for you. The seating is diverse and casual. The cocktail hour in early evening features free drinks in addition to cheese and crackers and more- it makes for a substantial pre-theater meal!
The front desk staff acted in unison as concierge and were very helpful with restaurant ideas and reservation, umbrellas, luggage-and they were friendly and nice as well.
It was my first trip to NYC and I had been appalled at the price of this hotel, but the cost was pretty typical for the area and it was such a great place, i would stay there again!

Room Tip: It is nice to be up a few floors and on the street side so you can have a bit of a view. There is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our first time at your hotel and it was nice. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our trip was only for one night, so we did not get to enjoy the hotel a lot, but it was convenient to shopping and dining. We will definitely be back in the future.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our stay was great. Especially after a busy day visiting all important touristic spots along with all the NCY hectic (rate race) it was like paradise coming back to Elysee Hotel to calm down. We loved the classic music during breakfast, the cosy wine with cheese reception at five and the excellent reception in general.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We could not have been treated better than we were by the entire staff at The Hotel Elysee. On top of that, our room was perfectly lovely. Having a charming hospitality area with breakfast in the morning and a wine and cheese bar to greet us in the late afternoon was simply divine. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in NYC. Anne Lyman

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in September. We experienced a few issues with the housekeeping / service staff. First, we checked in late at around 7:30 pm with 3 kids, aged 5,5 and 10. They had to make a sleeper sofa for us for one of the little ones to sleep in. We got to the room and they rang the door bell about 2 hours later to ask about the sleeper sofa. That was a bit ridiculous to have to wait 2 hours and honestly I figured it out and my daughter was already sound asleep. The next few days they would close the sleeper sofa in the morning and when they would perform turn down service at night they never opened it. Obviously not a huge issue but annoying that we had to move the table to make room and open the sofa bed, find the pillows, etc. On the day we checked out we pulled back the curtains and noticed some garbage sitting on the window sill that was not ours - an empty milk carton (thank god) and a few other items. So clearly the cleaning people were not doing a thorough job at all. Also, our tissue box was left empty for 2 days. The hotel itself was beautiful but the cleaning staff needs some work!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Lori L,

We were all saddened to read your review and we offer you our heartfelt apologies for the trouble you and your family encountered with Housekeeping during your recent stay. I have reached out to you to speak with you in person about your experiences and I do hope you will contact me. Indeed, with your particular case there was a breakdown in communication between the Front Desk and Housekeeping with regard to the proper daily preparation of your sleeper sofa for your children and especially of the urgency of your request on that first night. My Front Desk Staff should have been more diligent in ensuring that your request was fulfilled in a timely fashion. After reading your review, I met with my Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager and we have now implemented new procedures to prevent a similar occurrence from happening again. No guest should ever have to be inconvenienced as you were, with moving furniture around, locating pillows or opening and closing the sleeper sofa. Your comment regarding the milk carton and other items you discovered behind the window curtain has us baffled. Again, I do hope to have the opportunity to speak with you in person. I only hope that you would consider giving us a second chance so that we may demonstrate the proper care and service that you and your family should have received and during your first visit.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Elysee numerous times over the years and we will continue to do so. The staff is friendly and when you need something it is always done with such a pleasant demeanor. We really appreciate the complementary breakfast and refreshment in the afternoon. We would not stay anywhere else. In fact, when we already have our reservations for December.

Room Tip: we like the upper floors facing 54th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.