We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #8 of 452 hotels in New York City
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel Elysee is a fantastic place to stay in NYC. Great location, great staff, great amenities. The hotel has a warm family style atmosphere with a second floor lounge available all hours. Toasted bagels for breakfast and a glass of red with cheese and biscuits after a busy day. Close to Central Park, close to Bloomingdales, Saks, Tiffany, subway around the corner and a cute little piano bar across the road called Bills where you can have a nightcap and singalong.
Highly recommend and that will be the hotel I stay at when I return to NYC.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher than level 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,638
    403
    57
    26
    7
See reviews for
425
1074
103
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My Wife planned our first trip to New York for my birthday. She chose the Hotel Elysee for our accommodations. We've travelled world wide and this was definitely a boutique hotel we would return to in the future. Located between Park Ave. & Madison it is a calm oasis away from the hectic pace, lights & crowds. Reviews on Trip-advisor mention the excellent breakfasts, evening "social" and attentive staff. We are in total agreement and extend our kudos & appreciation to all the staff behind the scenes.

When my wife booked our trip, she asked for a room with a balcony or in door patio as an extra special treat. The Hotel was happy to make every effort to accommodate her request and we were not disappointed...we had a beautiful enclosed patio where we could read, drink wine and recharge before setting off for the evening.

Exceptional hotel and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Last stay in this hotel was in 2011 when we had a few issues. What a difference this time around.

Room was HUGE, with no traffic noise at any time of the day or night and staff could not have been more helpful - booking show tickets, advising us on places to visit that were out of the ordinary. Just loved the breakfast feast and the evening cheese and wine reception, and how nice was it to be able to make a cup of tea after being out all day!

We did the evening tour of the Rock, which despite being very very busy we really enjoyed, and I would highly recommend the Highline Park - it was totally unexpected and so relaxing you forgot you were still in New York. Took an hour long carriage ride in Central Park, (have been to New York several times over the years, but never did this before). Had a wonderful meal at The Boathouse and saw a concert in the park.

Will definitely be back to Hotel Elysee - can we have the same room please?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Donington, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Elysee for 3 nights at the end of September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast is excellent - just what we needed after an early morning walk in Central Park and the evening wine and cheese reception was most welcome after a day at the shops! The rooms are very comfortable although our bathroom was rather small - often a problem with 2 women travelling together. we had a couple of problems initially and the staff could not have been more helpful or responded any faster, they really do make the place. The location is perfect, 3 blocks from Central Park and right in the heart of the shopping and museum district. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Elysee.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors can be affected by noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 days celebrating her birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great--we walked to most museums and dinners. Staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast and evening social hour were most enjoyable and a great chance to visit with fellow guests from around the world. Rooms are nice sized for NYC and very comfortable although the bathroom is small. We had a room on the back and it was very quiet and easy to sleep a bit late if desired. We'll return

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Elysee several times while on business trips in NYC. It is a small boutique hotel, and the team provides a very high level of service in a friendly informal style. It makes for a lovely personal experience while visiting an intense busy city like NYC. Also, the late afternoon wine/cheese offering makes for a nice break after a demanding day of work. The Elysee helps make my visits to NYC comfortable and less stressful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The most beautiful rooms and the ultimate in service. We love this hotel and would not consider staying anywhere else. They know your name when you walk in from a day of shopping, are great a recommendations and the evening wine/appetizers are wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#10 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.