We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to NYC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 459 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our first visit to NYC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved the Hotel Elysee. We were looking for a hotel that was close to Grand Central Station, so we could have easy access to the US Open. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond with customer service. The atmosphere was welcoming, elegant, calm and just overall perfect. Our King Suite had all the amenities we were hoping for. I would highly recommend this beautiful quaint boutique hotel! BTW--we will definitely return to NYC. Very impressed with our entire experience. The US Open is a must see!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    436
    67
    26
    7
See reviews for
447
1,152
109
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is an older hotel and is in need for freshening. It looks great in the web pictures but the reality of the rooms and hallways were just a tired.

On the plus side the staff is very helpful and friendly the second floor breakfast area is wonderful [did a great job with their breakfast] and the Hotel is quiet and ideally located.

They are almost there, just need to update the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was very impressed with the overall physical condition of the hotel and room. However, I was awakened at 5am or so to the deafening sounds of a garbage truck in the street. I would have to take a room in the back of the hotel and higher than the 5th floor in the future.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

e booked our room the day of our stay to come in to the city a day early for a wedding. We had little idea what to expect for our one night stay before changing hotels for the wedding but we were more than pleased with our stay here.
We checked in at 9:20pm and the staff was so friendly and seemed genuinely happy to see us. They have valet parking and a price deal with the garage next door which was a perk we didn't expect.
At check in I asked about food nearby or room service because I had our 3 year old with us and she was requesting cereal after our long drive in. The gentleman offered to bring some up to the room even though room service hadclosed for the night. The bellman brought up 3 little boxes of cereal (not sure which one she would prefer so he brought 3!), a bowl, spoon and cup of milk. That kind of service is unusually thoughtful and we all appreciated it so much.
All of our interactions with the staff were wonderful. The room was lovely and the minibar was very reasonably priced, so our daughter could have some cereal and we could have a cocktail. Everyone was happy. There are plush robes, and fluffy soft towels in the room. The ONLY complaint we could come up with if pressed was that the pillows were small. Everything else more than exceeded our expectations. Wish we could have stayed longer, but we are already looking at booking a room here for our anniversary without the 3 year old. (The hotel is very classically and romantically decorated)
, highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana, Usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I came with a group of friends to watch the Open. We really enjoyed meeting in the second floor lounge before and after our day at Flushing Meadows. Great location and great staff. Will stay here every time I come to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Quaint boutique hotel in Midtown. Excellent staff but the hotel is in serious need of renovation. Only one elevator and very limited continental breakfast. Complimentary wine & Hors D'oeuvres between 5&8 is very pleasant. Great location for visit to MOMA.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location is great a couple of blocks from 5th Avenue. The service was personal and the rooms (for New York) are a decent size, quiet with marble tiled bathrooms. There is a turn down service each evening with fresh towels. We had two adjoining rooms. One was a suite with a sitting room and you could have had a child or teen stay on the sofa bed. We pre-paid to get a less expensive room rate. Now we are getting lots of offers to stay again- hopefully we will!
Breakfast is in the club room. It can get busy at peak times, but the ladies clear tables quickly and are really helpful bringing lattes and toast made to order. Great fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, cereals and pastries. If you miss breakfast, or want a quiet place to sit later in the day, the club room serves free tea and coffee all day. The wine (Prosecco, white wine and red with soft drinks for kids) and snacks are available between 5 and 8p.m.
There were only two slight negatives. The air-conditioning in our room could get noisy when it kicked in and there is only one lift which can be slow- but they are minor gripes.
Overall, it was a lovely place to stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: Pre-pay and upgrade to a small suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.