We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From $199 &up w/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 446 hotels in New York City
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location,location,location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am reluctant to review this great hotel because I know it will become busy and maybe we will be unable to get a reservation.Oh well, I guess I will take that chance.My wife chose it because it was close to shopping.Every day for five days she left in the morning and I didn't see her until after 6 pm laden with packages.I visited museuems,churches and other NYC landmarks.(I took the subway once and that was totally entertaining)Almost everything we wanted to see and do was located within walking distance even Broadway was only a 15 minute walk.in addition to a great location the hotel itself offered many comforts that made our stay very memorable.The staff are warm and very hospitable.(We had a minor problem in our room and it was fixed within 30 minutes).A lounge on the second floor serves a very good continental breakfast with Wi Fi and a selection of daily newspapers.I felt at home.The rooms are retro,maybe the 30''s or 50's style with enough space to move.I prefer a warm maybe dated atmosphre to the ultra modern soulless sterility of most modern hotel rooms.by the way attached to the hotel is the famous Monkey Bar where the characters from SEX in the City went to have their Bellinis.Men bring your love here for a few days, you will love it.

Room Tip: it is quiet throughout ,if you coose a room that isn't suitable ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CuriousGeorgeIV,

Your superb review was greatly appreciated and we thank you for sharing it with the tripadvisor community. We felt that you accurately conveyed what we try to accomplish each and every day. We were pleased the issue you had with your room was resolved swiftly, I make mention of this only to inform anyone who might have any problem to do as you did, which is to let us know immediately and to give us the opportunity to make amends. We only hope it won't be too long before your next visit.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,496
    366
    55
    25
    6
See reviews for
380
990
98
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Persuaded to come here by Trip Advisor ratings...and a good call. Old fashioned careful service: within two days they remembered our name at the front desk. Lovely old fashioned bar and restaurant. Rooms decent, perhaps a bit tired, but a first rate location, very helpful staff, very good pricing, excellent concierge service (we got almost every booking we wanted) and quiet rooms at the back. For a family trip/celebration, this was very decent choice and I would use it for business as well. Negatives...just one elevator and only one PC for public use, plus need for a bit of redecoration sometime . Positives: location, charm, price, super service, atmosphere. The guests socialise with free cocktails and snacks at the Clubroom giving this hotel a special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Suites at the back, higher floors to avoid aircon noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thank you tripadvisor contributors for your suggestion! I reserved a Deluxe King Room and was not disapointed at all. From the moment we, my husband and I, stepped into the hall, we were greeted by efficient and affable personnel. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed everything: breakfast in the lounge, the late afternoon wine & cheese & tea also in the lounge, the Monkey Bar (bar and restaurant). The entire package was worth every not so steep penny! It is often a challenge to find a good hotel at a reasonable price: the Elysee is a good deal.

Very good location, between Park & Madison, who could ask for more?

We will certainly stay at the Elyse again.

Room Tip: We booked a room looking down on 54th street for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paia, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved the Elysee. Warm reception, quiet and intimate and elegantly appointed rooms. The lounge is a plus and the breakfast, and WIFI, which are both included in the room rate, make the Elysee
the best hotel choice in town.

I will be back!

Room Tip: 54th Street is fairly quiet compared to other NY streets as it is one way going east. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel Elysee is a fantastic hotel in NYC. The location is great and within walking distance to all. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is very comfortable. Their Clubroom is a wonderful spot where continental breakfast is served daily with a great selection of beverages and food items. The room was adequately sized and the bathroom was clean. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is an unusual hotel. The location is great, close to central Manhattan. Rooms are fine although the bathroom is somewhat on the small side and renovation work across the street makes a fairly loud noice from very early in the morning. The complimentary breakfast is adequate and taken in the Club rooms with newspapers to read and a stressless environment to start the day. Service all around is faultless. However, the absolutely greatest thing about this hotel is the 5 to 8 p.m. complimentary snacks and wine offered in the lounge and library of the Cloub rooms. With the soft classical music, subdued conversation around separate couches and tables, smooth service from polite waitresses this is the perfect ending of a long day of business meetings or tourist activities. The style and ambience of this hotel is almost European in character!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel Elysee is my go to hotel in NYC. Whenever I bring friends with me they always want to stay at the Elysee again and again. There is something warm and comforting about it. It's in a great Midtown location, tucked away a little, but easily accessible to the theatre, 5th Avenue, etc. You will see the same people working there every time you visit. You will be well taken care of in this small, cozy hotel. I've stayed here at least 20 times over the last 10 years.

I always say that the only negative to the hotel is the one (slow-ish) elevator... but that's all part of the charm.

Room Tip: Generally very quiet, but if you are sensitive to street noise, mention this when you book the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee Hotel New York
Elysee New York City
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#18 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list