We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Paris Without the Jet Lag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #9 of 457 Hotels in New York City
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Bit of Paris Without the Jet Lag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is a bit of Paris without the jet lag....for those of us in the states at least. However, it would be a worthwhile destination where ever it was. This was my second visit in three months, and it was just as special the second time around. First of all, the guys behind the check in desk were still as attentive and helpful; they were professional but at the same time they had a delightful sense of humor.

The hotel has charm with a casual sophistication. For me, it is a welcome change from the many anonymous chain hotels or ( even worse) the hotels with attitude. The rooms are decent sized and the decor is reminiscent of a Parisian botique hotel. So, too, is the library which serves breakfast and is open all day if you want to have a cup of coffee, read the paper,etc. Thoughtful touches abound.

The M subway train is right around the corner; and another subway line is two or three blocks away. That said, the hotel is within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, museums, and shows.

I love the excitememt of NYC, yet I appreciate the sense of calm the Hotel Eysee offers. NYC wth a touch of Paris.....a pretty great combination.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have less noise. Rooms next to elevators... not a problem.. I never heard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    436
    66
    26
    7
See reviews for
446
1,146
109
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked this hotel for a week to celebrate my wife's birthday. The Elysee felt like a home away from home. The service was amazing and the location was perfect. We really enjoyed the drinks at the Monkey Bar as well. It was a blessing to spend our first romantic NYC week in such a cozy, smart place. We will definitely stay at the Elysee next time we are in NYC.
-Matt J

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a perfect location from which to explore New York. Unlike many New York hotel rooms, our room was spacious, not small. My daughter & I got one of the Double rooms with 2 double beds on the 11th floor (very quiet up there!). We arrived at 7am Nov. 27th & were quickly registered. We had the first of many delicious buffet breakfasts while our room was prepared. The walk to Broadway/ Time Square took approx. 20 minutes & we walked to the theatre every night & always felt safe. The concierge/desk staff were amazing....found some wonderful restaurants for us to try out, gave us directions, & ideas of other places we might like to explore....ex. the new High Line Walk, several Christmas markets etc. Happy Hour occurred Monday through Friday, 5 to 8. Champagne, white & red wine, coffees plus a light buffet of veggies, cheeses, crackers etc. Did I mention that breakfast & Happy Hour are part of your room package as well as hot beverages, fruit & cookies through out the day.?!
This hotel does have a wonderful European atmosphere. Most of the guests appear to range in age from mid-30s to retirees. There were a few children. The hotel was decorated for Christmas
as was most of downtown New York. It was an amazing time of the year to be in New York. Our flight home left JFK at 10pm. Our luggage was stored at the hotel until we were ready to leave. We had one last Happy Hour, dinner at the attached restaurant, the Doorman grabbed us a taxi & we were off. YES I will stay at the Hotel Elysee again! ps the water was always hot for your shower or bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a holiday shopping/sightseeing trip. Staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. room was clean, comfortable, if a bit small. i'd highly recommend this hotel for business or for couples.

Room Tip: Great Location and service. The second floor guest lounge is a nice, civilized touch. Rooms are a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is charming and has a European feel to it. It is a smaller hotel with only 100 rooms, so it feels much more intimate and personal. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful which is wonderful in a city as busy as NYC. The hotel's location couldn't be better, you can walk to shopping, restaurants, and shows. The staff recommemded a restaurant which we could walk to and the meal turned out to be fabulous!! We stayed in a smaller room with an atrium and it made the room feel much larger. The club room was very nice for breakfast, but we missed the wine/cheese as we were there on the weekend and I guess that is only offered on week days. However, I loved stopping by in the evening for cookies and a warm cup of decaf coffee. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to a friend. We were with friends who have stayed here several times and they said that it has been a wonderful experience for them every time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked the Elysee for a long weekend, part business part leisure (shopping). It's a great location, ideal for expeditions to 5th Avenue, Lexington and more - easy to get back to during the day to drop bags and regroup. And with a guest lounge open all day, it couldn't be better as coffee and more is available all day - just help yourself! It really feels like a home from home and, having stayed in many other Manhattan hotels, nothing else comes close. Although there is no cooked breakfast available, the buffet is more than enough - great variety, and always being topped up by the staff, who do a superb job. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family, including 3 adult children and their families, made the Elysee our homebase while in NYC for Thanksgiving. We occupied 4 rooms but met in the club room for breakfast to plan our day, then in the evening for wine/cheese before we went out to dinner---worked out perfectly. Our 5 and 7 year old granddaughters loved stopping by for cookies and hot chocolate after being out. All the staff(front desk, club room, maids) were accommodating and upbeat, a pleasure to deal with. A special treat was finding holiday decorations and poinsettias out after returning from Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. The hotel could not have been more perfect for a family holiday visit to NY.

Room Tip: Rooms on back are a little more buffered from city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.