We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in the world for customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Anywhere!
Ranked #7 of 449 hotels in New York City
Onchan, Isle Of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Probably the best hotel in the world for customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend and I have just got home, from a 5 night break in New York. The Hotel Elysee was marvellous. The room was spacious, well appointed and quiet (even though we were between Madison and 5th).

The staff offered the highest level of customer service I have ever come across - and I've been to some of the 'best' hotels. From the bell boy, doorman and reception team, to the ladies in the club room serving breakfast and the housekeeping team: the level of exemplary service did not faulter once in our 5 night stay.

I was going to go back to NY in 2014, but I think I'll go back next year with my daughter and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,580
    392
    56
    25
    7
See reviews for
406
1044
100
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is an oasis in the city. Spent 3 nights here post hurricane Sandy when the hotel( also part of the Library Hotel group) canceled our reservation due to the power outage. It was a busy weekend in NYC with marathon plans for that weekend and many people from NJ. New York, and Lower Manahattan were in the cold and dark. It was our 30th wedding anniversary, my husband called the elysee and they were able to acommadate us. The service was charming, the breakfast (fruit pastries cereals yogurt) was beautifully arraInged and the young women serving both breakfast and weekday wine / cheese were pleasant and helpful. Good coffee with complimentary WSJ and NYT too.
What could have turned out to be a wash out of a weekend instead will become a wonderful memory. This cozy european style hotel will now be the one I reserve when I am back in the city. Thanks to all the staff who made us feel at home.
Loved that they said welcome back each time we returned. Thanks to the front desk staff and the manager who found us a room at the last minute.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

the hotel elysee provides the charm of an old world european style hotel in mid town manhattan.
a perfect location to explore both the museums and broadway- you can walk everywhere from here.
the staff is courteous and helpful but also likes to chat and ask how your day was and if there is anything they can to for you.
the rooms are perfectly appointed and larger than most nyc hotels.
many people we met at the hotel said they would not stay anywhere else in manhattan and we agree,
after five days there we felt like we had a second home and that is rare in nyc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had decided on staying at Hotel Elysee last year, long before the bookings opened in December and we weren't disappointed with our choice. From the moment we arrived at the Hotel until the moment we left, we were looked after just so well from the staff at the Reception Desk to everyone else who work at the hotel. The staff at Reception have a wonderful knowledge of New York and were a great help.

The breakfast each morning in the lounge was lovely and the evening drinks and nibbles each afternoon were delightful. Each day we returned back to "our home" after walking everywhere knowing that we could relax and enjoy a drink before wandering out for dinner.

We had two different rooms as we moved after the second night due to a noisy airconditioner outside our window and both rooms were very comfortable. Our first room was number 44 and our second room was 132. The beds were great as were the pillows.

We had dinner in the Monkey Bar two nights and each meal was memorable. We also ate down the road at Papillion which was an experience.

The hotel is in a great spot, just around the corner from the Subway, close to 5th Avenue, Times Square and within walking distance of most tourist attractions. If we ever return to the Big Apple, we will definitely return to the wonderful Hotel Elysee. It is just the right size for a wonderful stay in that great city. It deserves its high ranking on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high as the noise from the airconditioners next door can keep you awake if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed just two nights at Hotel Élysée. We had a clean and comfortable room on the 12th floor which despite being next to the lift, was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was great in terms of selection. The service from the front desk was friendly and helpful. A great location close to subway, Park and Madison Avenues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Wine and hors'douerves on the house every evening. Nice continental breakfast. Beautiful century hotel. Great staff and good location. Comfortable beds and nicely laid out suite. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We checked in and they said they gave us an upgrade. It was a large room with an area separate that had a closet and then bathroom. The bath room was small but with the little room between it was a great barrier when one used the bath room during the night. The breakfast was continental. Good coffee and great service. The room was a little warm and got crowded at times but it was great to wake up to in the morning and you could get coffee, water (cups from a container) and cookies and fruit during the day.
The hotel is in a great location. Just a couple of blocks from Central Park and walking distance from most everything in the Mid region.
We were there celebrating our anniversary and they brought up some Sparkling wine. It was a very nice gesture. We had to leave a day early due to Hurricane Sandy but we cut our losses since we didn't want to get stuck in NYC. Glad we left. We drove down 48th & 7th street Monday morning at 9:00 am and they weren’t a car in sight. Real weird feeling.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in the back. It was quiet. The elevators were fine but the steps were acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.