We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING FLING PACKAGE
Ranked #213 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Columbus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice stay at the Hilton Manhattan East. Rooms a little small, but that is the city and most rooms are. Hotel was hospitable and comfortable. Easy to get around the city. Breakfast was great. Follow up by the Operations Manager, Robert Ibanez was a plus. Hilton's never cease to amaze me.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    566
    282
    105
    48
See reviews for
235
451
115
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Qc, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was on a short vacation trip to New York for four nights at this hotel close to Times Square and Grand Central Terminal during the Memorial weekend. The room was extremely small - there was not even room for a single chair or a sofa. No view from the room (or in fact I should say view on the appartement of people living in the next building). The carpet of the room was dusty. Fortunately, the bed was very confortable and the bathroom (very basic and small) had everything we normally expect. Staff was OK, but nothing exceptional. They've tried to charge me Internet for 4 days as I've only used it for the first morning (15$ per day). Valet was offered for parking at 55$ per day, but I found a parking on the 39th Street at 39$ per day (hey ... this is New York!). For the same price, I've had the opportunity to stay at better Hôtels in New York in the past.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear SicilyLover,

Thank you for the feedback of our property and sharing your review with TripAdvisor. It seems as if the room you received was not to your liking and I know that if you were to stay with us in the future we can be sure to get you one that you would love. I am shocked to read our staff was just OK, as you can read in many other comments we may be an older property however we have an amazing staff that always goes the extra mile to take care of every guest that walks through our lobby. We would love another chance at showing you we are worthy of a 5 star review.

Sincerely,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am spending more and more time in NYC for work. I am trying to find the hotel that will be my regular. This was a nice hotel. My husband met me for our anniversary and we had a great Suite. (one piece of advice - you could directly into the apartment next door so be sure to close the blinds). This is a historic hotel but they have kept it very modern. The staff was very accommodating and went out of their way for us.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Amy5460,

I want to thank you for the great review of our property. You certainly understand our property very well as being an historic hotel with a modern touch to it. We love to take care of our guests for special occasions and making the trip extra special. We would love to have you stay with us regularly and if you are interested in any bookings please contact our Director of Operations Robert Ibanez at Robert.Ibanez@hilton.com

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Quite disapointed with this Hotel. Room was very small, not even a couple of bottles of Water in the room. Extremley Basic.
TV did not work, although I do appreciate had I of reported that, I am sure it would have been sorted. But, we were only there two nights and I didn't really need to use it.

Bed, comfortable but very small. NO WAY a Queen. Slept fine, other than the wife trying to take the whole of what little of the bed there was.

Reception area etc all looked nice, was very clean and staff were good.

The room let this Hotel down.

Location good for Times Square etc, about 10-15 minute stroll.

Personally, would not stay there again because of the quality of the rooms. Premier Inn would have been better.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Awopbamboo,

We all appreciate your feedback of our property as it is essential in order for us to correct any issues on property to make our hotel a great destination for any traveler. I am happy to see that the staff on property were able to take care of you during the stay however I do wish you would have alerted us to your disliking of the room. When we are not sold out we are happy to move our guests to a room of their liking to ensure they enjoy their time with us. I'm sure if you were to stay with us again we could find a room that is much better suited for you.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madhya Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a typical staying place for a cramped city like New York . The room 814 that I am in at present is a clean & comfortable room but a small one... cramped for space.
Do not raise the window blinds ! You will be greeted by the smiling drain pipes . No view from the room ! Small bathroom and a nothing to do with a single seater sofa give you a feel of the fillers.
The staff is courteous and eager to help kinds ; a big plus . Breakfast is very good and the service is excellent ; another plus ; Herbs & kitchen at lobby is very friendly and a must stop ; a big tick !!
Overall ... A nice destination to rest in the never tiring city of New York... Can't comment on rates as I am traveling on a tour package.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ashish68,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review of our property. We take all guest feedback very seriously and use it to better our service and product. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our service and the amenities we offer on property. As for the room I can say that we do have many different room types however when traveling with a group they do book you in a standard room. If you were to travel on your own I would love to show you the bigger rooms that we have with breathtaking views. Hope to see you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was very accessible to Times Square and Rockefeller Center areas as it sits almost due East mid-way between them. About a 15-20 Minute walk puts you there. Good value for a New York City stay. Other areas would cost you at least $100-$200 more. This is a relatively small Hotel which is an older renovated building, but the rooms were very clean and the bed was of Hilton quality. As a business traveler I recommend this location if you don’t have to be near the tourist areas and are looking for a good value. I also receive Hilton points for the stay, so all the better!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear David C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share it with the TripAdvisor Community. We are considered an Historic Hotel of America which is what gives us that older feel yet we still manage to keep the property and its services very modern to the times. Our location is very quiet on the east side of Manhattan however still very close to major attractions in NYC such as Grand Central Station and Times Square. We would love to have you back again soon.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited for Memorial Day weekend with my husband. Location was perfect- quieter area, close proximity to action, etc. Rooms are clean and a decent size. Great value. Service was attentive and Jose the Doorman was very helpful from the moment I checked in! Will definitely be back!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Danielle Z,

We were all very happy to have you with us over the holiday and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Jose is a major asset to our team and I am happy to see that he was able to take care of you. We hope that you will be returning to us in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.