We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable with a good buffet breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Stay Package
Ranked #212 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Friendly and comfortable with a good buffet breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here with my family for 6 nights. Some walking to Times Square but taxis are everywhere.Excellent and Attentive Service from Front Desk Staff Kevin Law. He anticipates out needs without us asking. He has made our stay a pleasant one and we would definitely stay here again! Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Travelburger13,

I wanted to thank you for sending in a review of our property. Kevin is one of our all stars on property and always makes sure to take care of all the guests he encounters. Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    533
    258
    99
    49
See reviews for
216
411
110
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, not too big so the service is personable and the public areas are not crowded. Rooms are a good standard although small - which is the norm in manhattan in my experience. Close to subway and tourist spots in midtown. On my list to consider in return trips to New York.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Neil M,

Thank you for reviewing our property and pointing out some of our key features. We do offer a great personable service to our guests and our location is prime for quickly getting around the city. We do have larger rooms that we would love for you to see on your future visits.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

You owe it to yourself to stay at this little gem to meet Pablo each morning at breakfast! I travel weekly throughout the US and beyond, and am well-acquainted with the hotel world. Never have I met an employee anywhere who was a better example of job exceedingly well done and genuine kindness. I always stay here; I would not miss the chance to be greeted by and so graciously cared for by Pablo. He is, for me and my family, "home away from home."

Room Tip: The South Tower is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sarah M,

It was great to read how great of an impact Pablo has made with you during your visits to our hotel. He surely is an amazing asset to our property and we are always pleased with his level of service he provides. Hope to see you with us soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I travel to manhattan for work and have stayed at a few different hotels in the area. Ever since my first stay here it is now where I stay every time. The service is impeccable. All of the staff are courteous and happy to accomodate. They make your stay their priority.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Shannon T,

I want to thank you for taking the time and filling out a great review of our hotel. Your words speak true to the philosophy we are instilling in the team here. We always want to make sure every guest we encounter is thrilled with our level of service. We hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our trip to NYC, The room was super tiny, But Clean, I found that most of the staff not so friendly, They had a nice bar area down stairs where you could grab a drink. Hotel was about 25 min walk to Time Square. Overall I found it not for the price that we paid per night .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Lainey H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. While it is unfortunate you did not feel the price was up to par with the value, we do have many different rooms and bigger rooms as well. We also do offer a lot of different rate prices as well with different promotions. Hopefully in the future you will give us another chance and we can work something out for something that is better for you in terms of price.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I just called this hotel and spoke to Jose Ramirez.

I had a reservation that I had forgotten about and I have been out of the country and did not receive an email notification. I realized it was for tonight about ten minutes ago. I called the hotel and Jose was very helpful and gracious and helped me cancel the entire reservation without penalty.

I have stayed at the hotel before and will be staying there again in a few weeks. It is always a treat to stay there and people like Jose really make the difference.

Thank you Jose, very much.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sporto7,

While it was unfortunate you were not able to stay with us this time around we are happy to see you will remain loyal to the hotel. It is a delight to see that Jose was able to accommodate you and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Best,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Hilton Manhattan East, located just a few blocks from Grand Central Station, while in town on business. The staff was professional and accommodating. I asked for a quiet room, and the room was quiet. No traffic noise or even much noise from other guests. The bed was comfortable--I slept well. The room had plenty of lights and was a decent size for NYC. Overall, it was clean, though there was chewing gum stuck to the side of the headboard.
Though a plaque outside notes this is a historic hotel, inside it just feels tired and outdated. The room had so little décor it's almost depressing. It's furnished with plain brown very scuffed furniture with beige walls and beige and gray striped curtains. the bed spread is plain white, and there isn't even a token painting on the wall. They do have a useful master light switch by the bed and at the door that controls all the lights in the room. You can turn them all on and off with one button. There is an in-room thermostat, but my room was a bit too cool and despite having the heat on, it never seemed to get any warmer.
The rooms do not have refrigerators, but they are available on request for a modest fee. I had requested one a few days before my arrival which was noted on my reservation and it was promptly brought up to my room after I checked in. Though it worked when the hotel employee plugged it in--he checked it to be sure--when I got up the next morning it had stopped running at some point and wasn't cold at all. I had to plug it into another outlet and turn the cold temp to maximum to get it to work.
The shower is so confusing to operate that there is a multi-step diagram with instructions on how to use it. I don't know how someone who isn't an English-speaker would manage it. It seemed quite confusing, and part of the diagram didn't even match the shower head I actually had. Water pressure was a bit low, but temperature was good. The toilet kept running about every half hour--I closed the bathroom door so I wouldn't hear it while I slept.
There is a fee of about $15 per day for internet access. But access for me was constantly flickering on and off. I managed to access it just long enough to pay for it, but not to really use it. There was also a note that the fee was for internet access on only one device. I don't know if they charge more for additional devices--I was never able to get a connection long enough to find out. I called the front desk for help, and a technician arrived quickly. He was polite and apologetic, and advised that I stand in the short hall just inside the door of my room where I might get a better signal or go down to the lobby. When I asked that the fee be refunded at check out due to this problem, the front desk agent was quite apologetic and understanding and did refund it. He said they had been having issues with iPads and iPhones. I was able to get a good signal on my phone on the 3G network in my room.
Room service is offered, but I walked a block down the street to the Pax Deli for breakfast. You can also find a food court on the lower level of Grand Central Station with a lot of counter-service dining options. And of course, New York is full of restaurants.
Overall, this hotel was just okay to me. Nothing overtly wrong with it, and if the price was good I wouldn't object to staying here again (if they can get the internet service working). It seems the staff is doing their best, but the hotel itself would benefit from an update. If you just need a place to sleep and are going to spend most of your time seeing the sites, this hotel is worth considering.
One final note, there is another Hilton that is also on 42nd Street, in Times Square. This hotel is at 42nd and 2nd Avenue, which you'll want to mention if you take a taxi. I had one cab driver take me to the wrong Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear ChrssyHny,

I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed review of our hotel. While you surely brought up valid points where we can improve I am happy to see you were able to recognize the great staff that we have. We have a few projects over the next few months to update the hotel and modernize it a bit more while still keeping that historic value. Around October we are looking to have a lot of work done to our property in which we would for you to come back and see the results.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.