We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NYC Weekend Getaway!
Ranked #227 of 464 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. Had 2 rooms. Rooms are average size for NYC . Clean and newly redone. Great area to stay close to subways (Grand Central is 2 blocks away). If you want the the tackiness of time square a short 10 min walk. Plenty of wonderful restaurants in the area. Prices are very reasonable for NYC. Remember in NYC always try be in a Hotel that is close to what you wish to do..and avoid times square at all cost!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Douglas B,

It was great to see you stop in and review our property. Our location is great for exactly the reason you mentioned of not being right in the middle of everything but still being close enough. Our staff is well versed in making sure each guest they encounter is enjoying their time with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    596
    291
    112
    48
See reviews for
250
472
116
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel stay was great. Location is perfect, service is impeccable and the room very comfortable. We were lucky to get one of the nicer rooms which are a good size with all the amenities. Staff at breakfast were brilliant...always courteous and never hovering which I have found annoying at other hotels. Hotel can get very busy so it makes sense to book early. Wasn't sure how things would turn out as it's my first stay but I am very pleased with the overall experience. Will stay at hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: Book early to get best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Raj K,

We all thank you for taking the time to stop in and write a review of our property. The breakfast staff was very happy to see you were able to recognize them as they surely do ensure nothing short of a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours In Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilton East. Just blocks from Grand Central so it was very convenient and the price was reasonable for the location. We would definitely stay here again. It was great!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Our location is always a major selling point for our guests as well as our reasonable prices. We hope on any of your future stays you always choose to stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I usually find at least one thing wrong with any hotel I stay in but not this time. I loved the area, plenty of dining nearby, away from those awful crowds in Time Square. Starbucks across the street as well as a convenience store. Our room was great and our balcony was incredible as well as the views of the East River. The staff was great, always friendly and accomodating. I think the subway station was only 4 blocks away, easy walk. Shopping nearby also. Our king bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. Lots of light, plenty of windows with amazing views. Concierge was very helpful which is a plus. Next time I go to NYC I know where I am staying!

Room Tip: 1717 has a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Kakalina10,

We were all thrilled to be able to host your entire party with us during your last stay. It was a pleasure to make sure that your entire stay went well from beginning to end. I do want to thank you for taking the time to review our property as a member with your status is great to show other travelers that we are certainly the place to stay in NYC. Our location is very centrally located to a lot of attractions and our staff prides themselves on being able to always provide the best possible service. On your next visit please be sure to contact us again so we can take care of your reservation.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Enjoyed a truly magical stay here for my anniversary. Tess at the front desk took care of us, she was knowledgable about the city, patiently answered all of our questions -- we knew were in great hands with Hilton Manhattan East.

We wound up upgrading to a balcony room with the most perfect view of Tudor City (that's what we were told it was). My wife was over the moon. Everything was clean, well kept, and more than comfortable. Having never experienced Manhattan before, I can say without a doubt that this hotel, our room, and our service was simply outstanding (and far more satisfying than we were anticipating)! The room was huuuuge. Far bigger than what we were expecting.

Thank you, Hilton, so much for making our New York trip memorable beyond words.

If you stay here try to ask for Tess -- she was lovely and super-helpful. Went above and beyond to make our weekend escape a top-notch experience we won't soon forget. All of the staff were truly helpful beyond measure.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for Tess, she knows the skinny on all the best rooms and fun things to do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Matt D,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. It was amazing to see how much of an impact Tess was able to have on your stay with us. It is a pleasure having her on our team and we are all thrilled she was able to make sure your stay was an amazing one. We hope on any future visits you choose to stay with us again.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

LOVED EVERYTHING about my stay at this hotel. The staff and managers were the friendliest, most accommodating hotel staff that I have ever experienced. This was a much more relaxing atmosphere compared to Times Square- located conveniently down the street. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Chris Y,

Thank you for providing your review of our property. It was great to see your first time with us was a great one and we hope you always choose to stay with us in the future. Our location is nice and away from the bright lights of Times Square but still offers a close proximity to the area. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Hotel was very nice!
The manager knew I was a Diamond Hilton Member and sent a lovely e mail to welcome me. My flight was early and I had to wait 2 hours to check in, but the hotel made sure I was welcomed for breakfast and made sure my bags were in my room.

The staff was very helpful!

Room Tip: I did use the pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Camille J,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always do our best to give all our guests the best service and we especially flag our Diamond members. Here at the Hilton we feel the best way to do this is to target the guest before,during, and after to make sure everything was a flawless stay. We hope on your next visit you decide to stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nat...
#84 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#144 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#131 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#334 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,190 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel
The Lexington New York City - an...
#306 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#180 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.